SAND, SNOT & RUM, AN ADVENTURE THROUGH THE NORTHERN CAPE AND NAMIBIA

Day 6
Koringkorrelbaai

Today we just chilled………
Koringkorrel  baai is an absolutely beautiful campsite, just a note for those that wants to camp here: there is FARK_ALL, no running water, no electricity, no shower, no basin, no flushing toilet (there are two Enviro long drops), so you will need to bring everything with you. It was a pretty dam cool place to camp!
I will just post pics……

How is this for a camping spot…..
10612654_10152808251618352_4736903334068196333_n.jpg

10665284_10152808251663352_1146735090389625420_n.jpg

The view from Marnus’ tent......check the bottle of Rum on the seat  :p
1979404_10152808253953352_8553808441609713726_o.jpg

10570313_10152808253603352_3108841711408112258_n.jpg

Some more of the most beautiful sunsets….
10626651_10152808249193352_8182614076650660058_n.jpg

10622729_10152808250408352_3240718895763951906_n.jpg

995648_10152808250943352_545904665583849688_n.jpg

Sitting, chilling…..
10428426_10152268250591507_6276443267103621750_n.jpg

10660348_10152808251803352_5054845154809861808_n.jpg

Marnus, me and tankgirl, I love this photo, taken by some of the other campers, without us knowing…
10612921_10152826337388352_2864358726205323193_n.jpg

Hahahahaha, meerkat  impressions, I think when the issue of the 7 BMW’s came up…..
10393181_10152808254653352_2049814620991676682_n.jpg

Just some more pics
10625135_10152808252038352_2276267161586229290_n.jpg

10506916_10152808253758352_6055668999851050778_o.jpg

1458613_10152812874168352_1913912923219574196_n.jpg

10626444_10152812874318352_7023599529835890605_o.jpg

10479913_10152812874338352_7103470623718112328_o.jpg

10685595_10152812874853352_9179361337993320564_n.jpg

10678837_10152812875208352_5483795369861192538_n.jpg

10649963_10152812875238352_8087665651190429111_n.jpg

10397977_10152812875423352_7194959580527224439_n.jpg

10313373_10152812875638352_3154740367007467621_n.jpg

10639728_10152812875783352_4631079707662653234_n.jpg

10626592_10152812875838352_758964099057482250_n.jpg

10660380_10152812876148352_4856730527471534868_n.jpg

10517410_10152812876328352_4738462684305844079_o.jpg

:thumleft: :thumleft:

Really great photos!!

That Fodie of the  XT and 990 at Night..... Wow

Day 7
Koringkorrel Baai – Springbok 172km

We were up bright and early after two great nights on the West Coast. I reckon for the West Coast we actually had pretty good weather for the two days we were there. It was cool, but not too cold, and thankfully the rain stayed away….

Today we do the rest of the sand road to Hondeklip baai, then the back roads to Springbok. We made our way through the thick sand without much hassle this morning, no falls at all!  :thumleft:

The sand south of Koringkorrel Baai is much worse than the sand to the north!
10661808_10152813311708352_6577587879874325142_o.jpg

1399787_10152813313738352_6101178767754066958_o.jpg

Where to now??
10646954_10152813305203352_7655540280347035860_n.jpg

That way!
10580215_10152813307178352_5511986186214900531_n.jpg

This is such good riding country as well
10687116_10152813304113352_2363806028393863037_n.jpg

The view from the seat of a bike does not get much better than this……for now…. Up to this point I have not ridden a bike in Namibia yet…..
10422034_10152813304533352_7721051543717885158_n.jpg

We took the turnoff to Wildeperdehoek Pass
10704176_10152813306313352_1821353176541766784_n.jpg

10649527_10152813308518352_2235254912816957333_n.jpg

10658860_10152813309213352_4495889895276225398_o.jpg

10633481_10152813312678352_5941274508033920526_o.jpg

10547888_10152813310963352_5677505174380372296_o.jpg

We arrived in Springbok, and yet again the second stop right after the nearest bar, was the pharmacy…..we were in need of medicine, we both were pretty sick by this point…
After the pharmacy, we went straight to the bar for some other medicine!!
10414525_10152813304818352_1414781906294368141_n.jpg

Lekker vrot van die verkoue!!!  :mad:
10350508_10152813306718352_3912781640631275163_n.jpg

Papa Smurf not looking as vrot as me!!
10614261_10152813304493352_6609228154067880092_n.jpg

After a number of Captain Morgans we each stumbled into our room at the local hotel, very excited as tomorrow we would be riding the Richtersveld!!!

Whahoo! :ricky: :ricky: Great report en julle het baie beter gedoen as ek, het later ophou tel hoeveel keer ek grond gekoop het! :lol8:

Dusty said:
Thanks for sharing your trip with us.  The angles on your photos capture the mood beautifully  :thumleft:

Thanks........... but they are not all my photos, Marnus also took a bunch of them!

;)

Day 8
Springbok to Sendelings Drift – 260km

The next morning, I woke up feeling like I have been hit by a bus! I think the mixture of medicine and Rum actually made me even sicker than what I was, but after a Wimpy breakfast, and a fill up, we were anxious to get going. Today its the Richtersveld baby!!

As we were chomping down our Farmhouse breakfasts we saw two guys on Red and White XT660Z’s parked on the other side of the road, with absolutely no luggage at all, and the bikes were pretty dusty…..Then we saw their buddy arriving in a Landrover. This is the way to do it, let your mate carry all the fuel, tools and luggage while you just have blast on the bikes……. Hmmmmmm

First stop was at the small town of Steinkopf. It was a Sunday morning and the deafening music and screaming/shouting coming from the tented church on the field across from the petrol station reminded me of being back in Zambia, close to some African church…..Jeepers they can kick up a racket!!

Hehehehe, Creamy Games Filling Station in Steinkopf
10665711_10152813636738352_5209869794616334160_n.jpg

As we descended down Anenous Pass, we had the wind in our backs, man it was nice to have the wind from behind, as it was blowing like crazy!!
10671456_10152813638888352_9037928505510589480_n.jpg

10620139_10152813640898352_3194929049235270757_o.jpg

Not long before we reached the turnoff to the next town on our route…… we were stoked to be entering the Richtersveld a little bit later today
10672403_10152813640373352_8628729942000312340_n.jpg

Smoke break with the Richtersveld mountains in the distance….
10670095_10152813638818352_8392622896475516106_n.jpg

Getting ready for some serious sinkplaat!!!
10624624_10152813640353352_4838002369699280715_n.jpg

After an uneventful ride, we arrived in the bustling metropolis of Eksteenfontein. I almost crashed into a bakkie as I took the final turn over a blind rise into the dorpie….we decided to visit the local Arab for some Cokes, he runs the little snoepie out of his garage!!
10376282_10152813643103352_7489412445730101774_n.jpg

10406922_10152813641298352_3138870891312145680_n.jpg

After Eksteenfontein the real riding would start, and this is the part we have been looking forward to. We were very excited!
The terrain got hillier and the track a bit more worn, rocky and twisty, awesome riding!
10647024_10152813642678352_4718415846111274734_n.jpg

Then we arrived in the Richtersveld proper……so stoked to be here!!
10613081_10152813646018352_6304222155890434031_n.jpg

10647001_10152813640448352_1206955210431026350_n.jpg

10648250_10152813645963352_2992377399212632540_o.jpg

10524581_10152813642933352_3220968470741136961_n.jpg

The ride from Eksteenfontein to the Khubus / Alexanderbaai Road was absolutely awesome, man what a ride. The road is heavily corrugated and everything shakes!! I lost four screws from my screen that sheared off with all the rattling! But the views just cannot be beaten……. I love this place….

Marnus was having so much fun that he had to stop and inspect his front rim for smileys as he hit a cement driffie very hard, and very fast. Luckily no (new) damage!
10626870_10152813643238352_3001475124722155388_n.jpg

I will let the pics tell the story of this amazing area…..
10647023_10152813640963352_5282384219139281253_n.jpg

1557141_10152813642088352_4398929923865503838_o.jpg

10600408_10152813643058352_6773028946566567720_n.jpg

10678549_10152813641918352_5316446733451638728_n.jpg

10689980_10152813639668352_1677590761227235965_n.jpg

10360979_10152813637873352_5287840211167946605_n.jpg

10616161_10152813641153352_6674551654798837738_n.jpg

The view from 990 Mission Control....
10571926_10152813642803352_6238253863053363232_o.jpg

10649919_10152813641923352_8205195914296709312_n.jpg

1512437_10152813641003352_4060450895750995554_n.jpg

1525479_10152813641838352_274749888689523550_n.jpg

Happy Chappie!!
10626870_10152813641438352_2854756513811835430_n.jpg

10609555_10152813639788352_1498262287857135554_n.jpg

We rolled into Sendelings Drif late afternoon and luckily got the last San Parks Chalet. We bought all the steaks and all the ice in the shop, and had an awesome braai overlooking the Orange River with Namibia just on the other side………….
10599605_10152813641093352_6222536086749298452_n.jpg

10687858_10152813642733352_4725474837182403149_o.jpg

1540452_10152813646178352_1669905382588737789_o.jpg

10583052_10152813640203352_2086645699517187277_o.jpg

10678625_10152813634993352_5201248224311658322_n.jpg

10624761_10152813634983352_7054371335586740951_n.jpg

As we looked across the river and looked at Namibia, we could not wait for tomorrow……Finally we are going to be riding our bikes in NAM!!!

10646994_10152813634963352_8073199031993522377_n.jpg

Respek met daai gelaaide bikes Ettas  :thumleft:

Sal graag selfde trip wil aanpak (die hele roete soos julle gedoen het)