Tankwa Bike Burn 23-25May 2014

Pic of me taken by Adrian, the photographer . Me arriving late Friday

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    89.7 KB
Andy660 said:

Many Thanks to Henk , Sox , JP and all their  competent staff  for an amazing weekend.
Awesome routes  and good company made for a very enjoyable weekend,

Dual Sport drag racing and a hectic wing , 6 bikes abreast , well lets say the Tankwa is still under a dust cloud.

Lets see some of the pics on this thread.

Strongs to Pistonpete who cooked a corner on the way to Ganaga Pass , narrowly falling short of hitting the Cattle Crossing gate.
As far as we know , he broke his collarbone and a bone in his foot.

Whitedelight will keep us up to speed with Pete

Mapsource , email me your pics ?

Sorry , no pics , I was trying not to get blown off my bike going up Oubergpas.

On the Orange Route that I was leading , 14 Bikes fell going up the pass,

And thats excluding the guys that fell before we got out on the Tankwa Reserve "In the sand"

At one stage , there were 3 BMW 1200 lying on the ground all together.

The pass is very slippery and those huge speed bumps are a nightmare.

Oh , and dont try ramping over them , there is a huge drop on the other side , and thats when u are going up.
The switch backs were especially slippery

Alfie Cox

You okes not have matches..? Is that rubber? Or wood smoke..?

Lord Knormoer said:
Andy660 said:
Kuifie said:
Adriaan se fotos is nogal moer duur as jy wil koop  :eek: :eek:
Dit lyk so , maar daar is moer min foto`s as jy my vra ?

Less than I imagine he took, you only sell the good ones.

He was also playing sweeper so difficult to take cool pics if you behind the action all the time.

Would just like to thank everybody who came to our event. We managed to have just over 150 bike entries at the end (totally surprised). Also thanks to the following, Andy route mapping and guiding,Alex also for guiding,Adriaan and Du Toit for sweeping. We are definitely going to do this again next year, date will be released soon. If you guys have any comments, positive and negative please do so here or mail me at [email protected]. You can also have a look on facebook at Tankwa Tented Camp.

White Rhino said:
Looks damned awesome. Enjoyed Adriaan's pitcures. Alfie makes that 1190 look like a dirt bike. :thumleft:

The red and orange route was the same in the beginning ,or at least some of the guys were on our route. A life came past me me and I thought oh ok. But then Tau came past me and I thought fook me that is quick.

Where did the red route go? I was not part of the Bike Burn but I heard that they were going to do the Ou Pos trail. Two mates and I did it in the other direction and never saw another bike.
Here are some pics of our trip

• Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 011.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 011.jpg
    255.7 KB
  • Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 006.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 006.jpg
    288.7 KB
  • Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 009.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 009.jpg
    281.2 KB
  • Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 021.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 021.jpg
    248 KB
A few more

• Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 028.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 028.jpg
    281 KB
  • Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 031.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 031.jpg
    270.2 KB
  • Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 039.jpg
    Dave & Bobby bike trip May 2014 039.jpg
    284.5 KB
Andy660 said:
whitedelight said:
Ha ha those speed umps,fook I got some serious airtime over the first one. I also changed down from second gear to first around the one switchback and hit neutral instead . I did what Cocky calls a graceful step off the bike,so technically it is not a fall.
Man the wind on top of Ouberg was seriously hectic. But boy what a lekker days riding.

Andy what was the total loop in km?

248 km and 2 Passes , a Cattle Grid and a Quick  Tyre Change

[size=10pt]ROUTE ATTACHED BELOW[/size]
Hey Andy it was lekker to meet you and thanks a moerse lot for that tyre change.  It was pretty quick! I'll be getting myself one of your bead breakers asap!

The Red Route was changed on the day due to the high level of the Doornrivier.

Instead, we went up the Amageza 2 route next to the Ouberg pass, and came down Ouberg pass.

On the way back GJ and Camelman took us into a dam/dry swamp (or something) with lots of sand tracks, thorn trees, ruts, etc. - just to make sure we do not reach the Camp well rested.  ;)

It was the nicest riding day for me in  a long time.

We encountered a huge, "angry" black Cobra snake on the mountain track. It was spitting at anything that was moving. We manage to get it out of the road without hurting it. Someone did take a photo...