WC Bash - Ride Report

Manny thanks to all who organised rooted and work at the bash all that met terrafirma I hope you mend soon and well.

Great pics, looks like a lot of fun, next year  :thumleft:

..........just a question- Why are the HP'2 and some other bikes on trailers?
did they come from a HD rally? ::)

Eish!!! Looks like a lekker weekend was had by all.
Respect to Jacko.....that safari pak took cajones..... :imaposer:
But....no burnouts? Perhaps myself and Hentie must join next year's event and show y'all how it's done....I'll smoke the tyre, Hentie will smoke the clutch.... :biggrin:

Adventurer said:
But....no burnouts? Perhaps myself and Hentie must join next year's event and show y'all how it's done....I'll smoke the tyre, Hentie will smoke the clutch.... :biggrin:
O they were done but on dirt. There was no sement or tar to do it on!! :thumleft:

chrisL said:
Adventurer said:
O they were done but on dirt. There was no sement or tar to do it on!! :thumleft:

you clearly went to bed too early  :biggrin:

the bar will never be the same again!

chrisL said:
Adventurer said:

If there is a bar counter...who needs cement or tar? :biggrin:

Thanks again Pete,it was really a fantastic venue and organization! :thumleft:
The Greyhounds are all home safe

die Karoo driving range.....kyk en leer :p

• 1 [800x600].jpg
    1 [800x600].jpg
    81.9 KB
  • 2 [800x600].jpg
    2 [800x600].jpg
    81.2 KB
  • 3 [800x600].jpg
    3 [800x600].jpg
    81 KB
edgy said:
Thanks again Pete,it was really a fantastic venue and organization! :thumleft:
The Greyhounds are all home safe
No worries mate. Glad you guys are all ok....
Greyhounds & EC boys are Legend! :thumleft:

Kamanya said:
N[]va, you've got the eye. And, patience. Nice photo's.

Gotta agree with you Kamanya, on that fact,... N[]va,... you really have Super Gr8 Skills with a camera. Big repsect to you for some truly Stunning Photography. :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Thanks for a great event, was my first bash, and will definitely come to the next one.Only next time I will bring at least 6 spare tubes.

superten said:
Thanks for a great event, was my first bash, and will definitely come to the next one.Only next time I will bring at least 6 spare tubes.

We can organize some strippers in rubber suits next time so can stop pinching your tubes!

Etter......maar dit lyk lekker....great pics...veral N[]vA sin.

Ek hoop julle kan beter bike ry as wat julle kan golf speel  :peepwall: :pot: :imaposer:

Anyone took pictures of the nigtly escapades of Stoetbul, Wayne, Pure Orange. Lurker & kie?

Carrots said:
Etter......maar dit lyk lekker....great pics...veral N[]vA sin.

Ek hoop julle kan beter bike ry as wat julle kan golf speel  :peepwall: :pot: :imaposer:

Jy joke....

Ek speel golf soos ek sand ry.

K@K!  :imaposer:

At least het ons lekker Jaggies gedrink.

N[]va, any pictures of a golf ball heading your way at speed?  ;D

:3some:
Sand glorious sand

SAND.
What sand? This was the clever answer from the entrepid recce group led by Leftless, when we arrived back in one piece and remarked how hard we had worked to stay aboard our bikes.
And backing up the statement Henk and Faan our hosts at Stonehenge simply say, that if one survives the small patch of sand just outside the camp then the rest is merely a walk in the park.
The flippant remarks remind one of a sailor who never gets seasick explaining to a raw beginner that the waves are very small and should not upset any stomach .
But apart from the threat of sand and more than most were prepared for the gathering was excellent, the riding and the scenery stunning and the route excellent in any world standard.
Piston Pete had done his homework excellently , squeezed prizes out of many enterprises, Henk and Faan performed at their best and the recce crew who had ridden the routes many times including a day run of close to 900 km had chosen a venue, which could easily challenge if not better some of the best offroad routes in the world.
I met up with a small group at the Engen One stop at about 10am Friday morning and rode through to Ceres for a pit stop and quick fill up before heading up the Gydo Pass to Op Die Berg.
We had along with many other riders decided to go up and over Katbakkies and I wanted to show Donovan the new boy at KTM our great passes.
Katbakkie over we descended onto the R355 and headed to Stonehenge.
And we all made it through the small patch of sand just before the camp, but alas one BMW rider had spun off and was eating sand.
Slowly as the afternoon progressed we met old friends and the camp filled up ready for the Friday night gathering braai and much needed refreshments.
Piston Pete welcomed all and Leftless led us through the route pointing out the technical spots plus the damage to the base of Gannaga Pass and where to take care.
Saturday morning saw the first group take off at about 8.30am followed by our group where Anton and myself were prepared to help out if needed as two of the riders had pillions on board.
And true to fact the first sand patch took its toll with one rider in our group losing it but not seriously.
Then it was back onto the hard with Anton remarking that we had another small patch of sand to negotiate and then it would be a walk in the park.
Well most will never believe him again as we hit a large long stretch of loose sand and to make life that bit harder a left had corner.
Fortunately all our party survived with some paddling and the pillions walking.
After relaxing up on the hard where the well preserved steam tractor and wagon feature and with all getting their breaths back we again hit the gravel and apart from the odd sand patch just placed to catch the unwary we headed out to the base of Ouberg Pass.
Ouberg is something else when it comes to awe inspiring scenery and the pass is a riders dream as it winds its way up to the view point.
Once on top and looking back over the Tankwa and out to the Cederberg mountains one can see why it is called “Big Sky Country”
We left Ouberg and headed across the plateau towards Middlepos our lunch stop but without a bit of drama.
Sand took its toll and one of the riders and pillion took a tumble with the pillion suffering an injured foot.
Middlepos was reached about 2pm and just in time to see the Boerbull dogs, which are bred in the area go through their paces while we all slaked our thirsts and enjoyed well deserved boerewors rolls.
The following ride through to Gannaga pass went without incident and then we over the top and heading down to the badly eroded section.
Here I had been warned about the ruts and drop offs but in true fashion had only listened with half an ear.
At one section I found myself flying over a drop off, the Mitas tyres gripping like the proverbial to a blanket and I am sure I pulled off and Marc Coma move.
But thanks to the sure footedness of my bike we came out smiling.
Then it was onto sand patched all the way back to Stonehenge with one fall  of one of my fellow riders that looked like an elephant blowing dust all over its back.
Fortunately the fall was slow and not harm done.
We arrived back in camp victorious. We had ridden the route in fine style in one of the best offroad riding areas in the Cape.
Later as the sun began to settle and the groups were again refreshed Henk invited us to put on a tie, grab a drink and climb aboard his Landcruiser.
We headed out and up onto a small hill where we must have witnessed one off the finest sunsets. It would take the breath away from the most travelled person.
Back at camp braaing began and then the lucky names were called. Thanks to hard work Piston Pete pulled out a myriad of prizes and many riders went off with a smile on their faces.
Sunday morning dawned clear and bright and most of us hit the R355 headed back to the rat race once again.
I am sure that the majority of participants would agree with me that this was among one of the best weekends and gatherings they have attended in a long time.
May we enjoy many more!
A small video of the days  riding

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHSxycmgVZ8