WD Annual bash 2009

Plothond said:
After a lot more sports and drinks we went to bed only for some savages to start a bike revving competition!

You calling me a savage

As I recall, you got no where near the rev limiter....
:deal: :deal: :deal: :deal:

Awesome.  You see what makes this click are the pictures.  Without them, its like food without salt. ;D

funacide said:
Plothond said:
After a lot more sports and drinks we went to bed only for some savages to start a bike revving competition!

You calling me a savage

Aaah, so it's someone else's chance to get karked out for behaving like you're at a rally... :biggrin: :biggrin:Myself, Hentie and JohnSt are innocent this time... :deal: :peepwall: :biggrin:

Did talk to Wooly Bugger now, he is cooped up in an B&B near Sterkfontein dam/Little Switserland, his bike did give him some trouble and the weather is very bad, gale force winds and mist, his bike was blown over a few times he said due to the wind when he stopped to stretch is legs a bit, he decided to rather wait the storm out in the B&B, and as luck would have it a bus load of Spanish chicks stopped there to stay over in the same B&B, Woolly friend enjoy the redwine and ride safely tomorow :thumleft:

Do you have to drag Kilroy into this

Calling me a spoil sport - I kakked no one out :biggrin:  I'm a man for boersports too :biggrin:  Got a skrik when the crackers went ioff - thought Shark finally had it for the christian :biggrin:  - send the Dominee to investigate --- he said 'no ways' :biggrin:

CHorse and I both arrived safe at home, after a two-day return ride which was predominantly tar. Slept at a neat little place last night, on the banks of the Vaal river at Bloemhof; a place by the name of "Plekkie in die Son"  (S27 39.525 E25 36.317) at a price of only R70 p/p. neat, clean ablution blocks, and they also have log cabins available at about R85 p/p.

This morning while standing outside the local shop in Leeudoringstad, we were "accosted" by a very friendly gent called Koos Rossouw, who showed interest in our bikes, and started chatting about where we'd been, and where we here headed. He invited us to come and view his private museum of vintage bike,s and cars, and other assorted bric-a-brac that he and his wife have been collecting over the past decades. Very interesting! He also extended an invite to any and all Dogs who may be interested in visiting, to contact him. Myself and CHorse have the details.

Thanlks to all the Dogs who made this weekend possible.

;D ;D ;D Whats all this about savages and bikes on the limit?

I thought it was a bash, not a boy scout camp.  >:D

Anyway, I was most upset with that car reving on the the limit after all the dawgs were asleep. Disgusting! ;D

Seriously it was a great time, thanks everyone who participated, it was an pleasure to meet you all! My Pics & Report coming soon.

KiLRoy said:
Do you have to drag Kilroy into this

Calling me a spoil sport - I kakked no one out :biggrin:  I'm a man for boersports too :biggrin:  Got a skrik when the crackers went ioff - thought Shark finally had it for the christian :biggrin:  - send the Dominee to investigate --- he said 'no ways' :biggrin:

;D ;D ;D

Thanks for all the pics Jules! :thumleft:

That mate of yours AdventureMX has a mean looking KLE!  >:D

Adventurer said:
funacide said:
Plothond said:

You calling me a savage

Aaah, so it's someone else's chance to get karked out for behaving like you're at a rally... :biggrin: :biggrin:Myself, Hentie and JohnSt are innocent this time... :deal: :peepwall: :biggrin:
:thumleft:  :ricky:  :biggrin:

BlueBull2007 said:
Anyway, I was most upset with that car reving on the the limit after all the dawgs were asleep.

BTW that guy was not a WD... He was some local dwis who came looking for his chick... Said he had lost her there somewhere... Now this oke's eyes were seriously glazed over and he wasnt making much sense.  ???
Kamanya and I went over to chat and try get rid of the ou. I was very lus to PK the oke, but he looked rather unstable.  :-\
And with that being the Wild West I didnt want to risk the oke pulling out a rollie or something. So I went out of character and tried to be diplomatic and helpful...
Anyways, after a couple of laps through the camp, (and rev limiting his diesel Isuzu shitbox), we paid him another visit and made it clear that he would be better off if he left. Which he did.

What a tietkop...  ::)

Thanks to all for a fantastic bash...

firstly all the ouens who make this site possible with financial/technical expertise and the okes who spend the time modding. As a group WD is a fantastic and unique experience.

Then to the 110 other okes and lasses that were there making it oh so sweet.

To the okes i rode with there and the okes i rode back with  :thumleft:

Finally to Mr Yamaha for making a very lekker lil bike that carried me there an back.

There WAS a fairly sexy female that came in from town and who disappeared with one of the dawgs :mwink:

Wonder if it was her that was the "lost" girlfriend >:D

Thank you to all who contributed with photies - I somehow neglected to take some :peepwall:

The common denominator at this rally was kakpraat, LOADS of it!!!!  :confused2:

Some pics from me…

I will try put names to the pics, but pls correct me where I am wrong.

Brink se Brandwurm… This shit could kill a small village… :eek:
IMGP3488.jpg

Antonw & Drazil
IMGP3489.jpg

Laatnag kakpraat
IMGP3492.jpg

Jules & Ganjora. Groenie, Michnus & Metaljockey at the back
IMGP3494.jpg

SatanBM & Kilroy
IMGP3495.jpg

Bud500 with blue cap, (clockwise) Wino, Luckystriker, Excalibur, Kilroy, Sot
IMGP3496.jpg

Sot
IMGP3497.jpg

Wino & Jacko. Bud500 behind
IMGP3498.jpg

Luckystriker
IMGP3499.jpg

Snafu
IMGP3503.jpg

BlackBitch, Ball&Chain, Snafu, Louwtjie, Eisbein at the back
IMGP3505.jpg

Bakkie  :binkybaby:
IMGP3509.jpg

I have more pics of the ride up & down, but will add that to the official WC report.

But these are all I took at the bash site.

I am slightly concerned though about some pics where I was on the other side of the camera…  :confused3:

I packed the previous night, miraculously fitting a whole bunch of crap I never used. My wife was commissioned to finding me a tent the previous day, as well as some Tire levers (I think they are for a truck) but they fitted nicely into my tent bag.
boegoe001.jpg

I met IceCreamMan, Il Duce, Stu (don’t know your forum name) and Bluebull2007 at the engen 1stop near Grasmere. Had some coffee and then headed towards Parys, we skieted the tollgate (the only one for the whole trip) and the trip started.

Hit tar till warrenton, this is a stop just after Christiana, Il Duce doing a little jig for us.
boegoe003.jpg

My trip mates, there was a swarm of gnats, that seemed to try and take us back to their lair to do manual labor, building miniature landing strips for them…they seemed to be everywhere, couldn’t wait to get going again.
boegoe004.jpg

First half of the trip was lots of this:
boegoe005.jpg

Almost fell asleep on my bike a couple of times…

Oh look this is something new…oh no wait.. more tar…
boegoe006.jpg

Stopped for a wee bit, and then back on the bikes
boegoe007.jpg

Then it was brunch time
boegoe008.jpg

We saw some locals, uhhh looking like (cliché warning) they just stepped out of the deliverance movie….
And the Barman giving us a brief ride report of when he went somewhere far on his little 250.

Food was ok, Cold beer was awesome.

On we went to DIRT…yeeeehaaaw

Stu on his 1200, he missed his Dakar for the Dirt bits…
boegoe009.jpg

More dirt fun:
boegoe011.jpg

Il Duce leading the group
boegoe012.jpg

This is what Il Duce looked like Sunday morning through IceCreamMan’s eyes…
boegoe013.jpg

Howzit Stu!!!
boegoe014.jpg

ICM on the best looking bike of the trip…according to him. 

boegoe015.jpg

Bluebull on the Charge
boegoe016.jpg

boegoe017.jpg

boegoe018.jpg

This dude CAN Ride…man alive…there is no way to catch him when In front, and if he’s behind you better hurry up…..

Fauna and Flaura (I’m sure the Fauna is in there somewhere)
boegoe019.jpg

Lovely Dirt Road, for km’s and km’s
Some sections of the limestone gravel are super white, without sunglasses the glare is quite something, a lot like snow is I imagine.

boegoe020.jpg

One of my fav pics.
boegoe021.jpg

Little hills in the background. Bluebull explained some of the geography of the area, very interesting.
boegoe022.jpg

We got to a T-Junction, faced with the choice of more dirt to Griekwastad, or a little dirt stretch and then tar, Bluebull and myself opted for the +/- 130km dirt stretch, and we were not disappointed. Unlike the long straight stretches, there were some corners… ups and downs and awesome scenery…no pics…couldn’t break the rhythm.
I must mention my tires at this stage; I have Maxxis traxer on the back, a true DS tire. (The tar destroyed most of the tread, making it a Dirt Slick) The tires did not fare too badly; I think the extra weight on the back helped…although cornering was really exciting…

We got to some crossroads, stopped to consult the map that got blown out of my pocket along the way…
boegoe023.jpg

Another fav Pic.
boegoe024.jpg

A farmer passed us while we were having some water. I am convinced he though we just landed from mars…

Turning left, our headwind now became a crosswind... made it really interesting.
Dumdum buck crossed my path out of nowhere, and I was really lucky..couldnt even brake…I smelt it crapping as it passed.. or was that me?

From whence we came: (

boegoe025.jpg

Then we came to the bustling metropolis of Griekwasstad.

Tied our horses down and went into the saloon to find some loose women and a cold beer…
boegoe026.jpg

Found these guys there. They were impressed with the time we made on dirt.

On to the bash, from Griekwasstad we klapped tar to groblershoop, missed the bash turnoff, as the GPS was pointing us to the other side of the river. We got the correct directions from the lady at the petrol station and off we went.

Hit the dirt:
boegoe027.jpg

The road was lotsa fun, but had plenty of places a weary adventure rider could be caught out.

boegoe028.jpg

Nice bike!

boegoe029.jpg

Awesome roads…

boegoe030.jpg

The bash was great. Met some nice people, was able to put faces with forum names and avatar’s
Kuiered a shitload. I got caught up with Plothond and Funacide after coffee. Then kuiered a bit here, a bit there etc.

Left Sunday morning not too early, took tar ALL the way to Vryburg.

The road to tar from the bash venue.

This was great…temperature just perfect, not hot, perfect with a pleasant breeze keeping the temperature down.

boegoe040.jpg

boegoe041.jpg

This is a bridge just outside warrenton, we skipped the pub this time.
boegoe046.jpg

On the way to vryburg the road had these beautiful lanes of trees.
boegoe049.jpg

We considered camping in Vryburg for a nanosecond, but first found out what a night in the hotel would set us back…imagine our surprise when it cost just R150 pp. we promptly paid and settled down in our rooms, went for a swim (the water was FAAAARKING cold, but very refreshing)

Had some beers, walked 2km through the town to look for a decent restaurant, but the hotel restaurant was the only thin that was open on a Sunday eve. Had lekker chow and beer and crashed early.

I left at 4:45 the next morning as I had to be home early to take the kiddy to the doc.
I got the pinehaven traffic light, and people were finding I quite strange to see dirty fully loaded bike filtering. It was claustrophobic.

Arrived home at 8:30

Average consumption on the bike was 4.5l/100km
Did just over 1800km roundtrip

Thanx to the organizers of the bash, I think the company, facilities and surroundings far outweighed the mishaps with the food.

My name is Grootseun again... and I looooove my bike!!!!

Strange Archealogical discoveries were recently made on the banks of the Boegoeberg dam. Experts in the field have tried in vain to determine what the Religion and Politics of these earlier primitive peoples were.

IMG_4583B.jpg

After some time it was determined it could possibly have been a bunch of Tietkoppe:

IMG_4638B.jpg

IMG_4641B.jpg

These nomadic tribes dispersed, some of them crossing Verneukpan.
Seeing Wilddogs on the pan is a sight to behold:

IMG_4680B.jpg

The technology they brought with them had never been seen before:

IMG_4691B.jpg

Thanks to all who made the bash possible, we absolutely enjoyed it  :thumleft: