WD National Bash 2012: Snow Valley general ride report

Just got home safely via Lesotho. Shall post RR later. Now just want to thank the "HARDE MANNE" (gerHARD & reynHARDt) for a brilliantly organised Bash!

flatmo said:
Somewhere on the way to the bash 1

Somewhere on the way to the bash 2

Somewhere on the way to the bash 3. Riding with Dirt Yarpie, dirtyXT, and Jupiter

Somewhere amazing

Somewhere ready to get wet

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 1

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 2

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 3. Look at that sky...

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 4

At least you got somewhere! :biggrin:

Lekker foto's! :thumleft:

Not many foto's from my side. Lekker to see old faces again and meet new ones.

Once again. Not enough time to properly chat and even greet everyone. :(

But, I doubt my liver could have survived more time. :biggrin:

Sleepover near Kroonstad.

Kilroy not sure...

• IMG_4163.JPG
    IMG_4163.JPG
    289.6 KB
But eyes lighting up when he realised the possibilities.... :biggrin:

• IMG_4164.JPG
    IMG_4164.JPG
    258.7 KB
And Kilroy insisting we must get veggies in. Even Funacide had some.

Not too bad considering it should have been cream instead of milk in the mix. ::) :biggrin:

• IMG_4165.JPG
    IMG_4165.JPG
    343 KB
Venue was awesome.

Only a few dogs played on the vast field available though. Pity only a few dogs doesn't know when to stop.... :pot:

Not talking partying here. That went full blast! :biggrin:

"Hou my dop and check die move..." didn't happen much. :patch: Farking responsible Wild Dogs! :mad: :biggrin:

• IMG_4190.JPG
    IMG_4190.JPG
    345.6 KB
The GSV was also there. The Welshman doing well inbetween all the Afrikaans.  :biggrin:

• IMG_4182.JPG
    IMG_4182.JPG
    262.3 KB
Friday night late's braai pit. After the rain.

• IMG_4174.JPG
    IMG_4174.JPG
    221.3 KB
Laurika & I just arrived in Jhb about an hour ago.

Tweets had to slab it back to Centurion earlier on today to get a trailer to assist Jypsy-Jay who was stranded in Memel this morning. I take my hat off to Tweets for this open-hearted gesture...

(Tweets and Jypsy-Jay have just pulled in at Adventure a few minutes ago to get the bike sorted.)

Thanks Tweets( & Moondog) for all the support during the trip !  :thumleft:

I just arrived back in cape town. What an epic trip!
What a bash!
Didnt know what to expect as it as my first one.

Will do a ride report in the next couple of days.

Just wanna thank IDR journeyman, Kilroy and others for putting on the event.  :thumleft:
Wish I could have spen more time chatting to each of ya, but there just didn't seem the time. Weekend went past in a blur.

Will definitely do it again next year.

JourneyMan said:
The GSV was also there. The Welshman doing well inbetween all the Afrikaans.  :biggrin:
Chirp of the weekend must go to Welsh.

Early Saterday morning he comes down the hill with a full case of beer.
I ask "Welsh isint that too much"?!!

He said " you can't be drinking the whole day if you do not start early in the morning"!!!!
Great funny guy although I only understand about half he says!!! :eek7:

Thanks to the organisers, this bash blasted away all my reservations. The facilities were top class, the company was awesome and I think it was easily the best bash I have attented. You guys have set a high standard here.
Thanks to one and all for the great company, see you at the next bash!

Hi Leon,

It was good meeting you and Cave Girl at the bash - (don't let her drive you 'batty' - OK?)

As Robert Redford gives class to a movie, Welsh gives class to a bash.

Welsh, the Robert Redford of WD bashes. :biggrin:

I HAVE PICTURES  :3some: :3some:

Anyway here goes.....

It was great to see so many “old dogs” at the bash Chrisl, no offense to everybody else we like to have our annual reunion
Not too many photos we had a couple of good long days with very few “photo stops” but a great ride, I was too tired to Party on Friday and too cold on Saturday!!!!!
Thursday morning a 06:00 start to clear the traffic first fuel stop before Heidelberg, packed for Bear!

tools146_zps1423d47c.jpg

tools147_zps4fef8b30.jpg

tools148_zps406895b8.jpg

Stopped just outside Lesotho , Monantsa Pass, Debonair’s Pizza was a great move for Brunch, that was it until evening…
tools149_zps4f993c5d.jpg

Waiting, the troop were looking for the man to stamp passports, I had time to take photo’s
tools150_zpsf52db497.jpg

tools151_zps64ff2ca1.jpg

tools152_zps229551ac.jpg

Sharkie
tools153_zps3a79f02e.jpg

Raka
tools154_zps1988b196.jpg

Heading off again after Monantsa Pass
tools155_zpsb5565f50.jpg

A short water break
tools157_zps2186e69a.jpg

A proper break
tools159.jpg

A quick stop in the shade a great spot
tools160.jpg

Ramabata, great friendly spot good backpackers
tools168.jpg

Porra this pic does not do it justice and in the rain
tools169.jpg

tools170.jpg

tools171.jpg

And the shark, uhummm he fell over around there
tools173.jpg

And JJ playing on the R650R
tools174.jpg

The “road” ford we had just come down
tools175.jpg

and the road forward
And the u
tools176.jpg

tools177.jpg

Ugly happy Porra
tools179.jpg

We cleared the tough stuff and headed onto some highway
tools101.jpg

A stop off at the waterfall and a focus time
tools103.jpg

tools104.jpg

Eissshhh does this outfit make me look fat
tools105.jpg

Pace was spot on, steady not fast not slow, just ground swallowing then kark, holed a casing, time to fix, all successful and stayed tight, we pushed through and made site at about 18:20 it had been a long day…
tools112.jpg

tools114.jpg

We made camp somehow in a howling wind, it poured that night…. Kilroy’s tent / water butt
tools118.jpg

Porra and Funacide bright and chirpy
tools117.jpg

The damp Saturday morning
tools119.jpg

tools120.jpg

An unhappy family Groenie’s abode
tools121.jpg

The GSV happy taking a rest, had zero issues (but needs a front shock it topped out all the way) used no oil and did 6 litres / 100km
tools127.jpg

Awesome site, still snow on top
tools129.jpg

The old team Mich and Wifey, Shark and Funacide
tools130.jpg

Ollie Porra etc
tools132.jpg

The Porra in his best Thermal Underwear
tools134.jpg

It was cold on Saterday night!!!! No fridge needed  
tools137.jpg

tools139.jpg