Going to the Tankwa is very expensive

Kaboef

KTM 950 Adventure S
After the lovely rains the Karoo had over the last couple of weeks, I decided it would be a good head-clearer to go see it for myself.
We got back from Stilbaai on the 26th, I took the 27th to do nothing at all, on the 28th I was to leave on a long ride taking me through Anysberg to Laingsburg and Beaufort West. From there to Loxton, up to Loeriesfontein, and down the Cederberg home. 3 days.

As the planning started spinning around in my head, another thought suddenly crossed my mind: It would be terrible lonely, as it was too short notice for anyone to join.
I prefer riding on my own, but in the evening its nice to sit around a fire with a few people. I am not the world biggest extrovert, and find it hard to praat kak with anyone. So I decided to take along a rent-a-crowd, my middle son Aldo (10).

Taking him as pillion would mean drastically reduced distances, so I settled on a familiar favourite of all Cape-based bikers - the lovely Tankwa.
I made a booking at Tankwa Tented Camp for the 28th, and we set of from Durbanville just after 12 midday.

Entering the Tankwa from Ceres, the area is lovely green, with botterboom sprouting brightly coloured new red growth, and all kinds of flowering bushes fighting for attention like attendees at a gay pride parade.

• IMG_4275.jpg
    IMG_4275.jpg
    90 KB
Pulling up at Tankwa Padstal, I suddenly remembered about Bike Xcape that I have heard many good things of, and I decided to go see for myself if the place is any good. As it was already far past beer-o-clock, the distance to Stonehenge seemed impossibly far.  :biggrin:

Arriving there, we checked into one of the extremely lovely cottages, and took a walk around the place.
I saw the three 990's standing at the tent-area, and thought they looked strangely familiar...

• IMG_4278.jpg
    IMG_4278.jpg
    87.7 KB
  • IMG_4279.jpg
    IMG_4279.jpg
    46.9 KB
  • IMG_4280.jpg
    IMG_4280.jpg
    61.7 KB
Like all bikers, I was drawn to the large workshop, and inside we saw an extremely impressive collection of bikes, owned by Rael and Michelle, the owners of Bike X-cape

We also saw three extremely impressive gentlemen in the form of Cocky, Rommel and Heddles fixing Cocky's flat front tyre, Suddenly I knew there would be enough kakpraat around the fire.  :biggrin:

And lastly Aldo saw an extremely immaculate Honda CRF125F, and at once decided that I should start negotiations without delay.

• IMG_4283.jpg
    IMG_4283.jpg
    66.5 KB
  • IMG_4281.jpg
    IMG_4281.jpg
    73.6 KB
I hope the young man gets his way  :peepwall:

No negotiations can start before the first beer, or the one thereafter, so after we fixed Cocky's bike, we dutifully retired to the bar.

Aldo did the braai-ing, and after dinner Michelle invited him up onto the bar counter for a spot of Coyote- Ugly.

We had a lovely evening and slept like logs.

The next morning Rael fueled up the little Honda and Aldo took it for a spin. Toe het ek geweet my kak is geboek.

• IMG_4286.jpg
    IMG_4286.jpg
    85.8 KB
  • IMG_4289.jpg
    IMG_4289.jpg
    71.2 KB
  • IMG_4292.jpg
    IMG_4292.jpg
    66.2 KB
  • IMG_4294.jpg
    IMG_4294.jpg
    96.4 KB
I wanted to see as much of the Tankwa as possible, taking into account my valuable cargo.
So I took the R356 direction Sutherland, towards Ouberg pass.
At the Ouberg turnoff, we turned west into the Park.

The rivers flowed, the soetdorings bloomed yellow, there were frogs in the water, and it was just lovely beyond words.

• IMG_4298.jpg
    IMG_4298.jpg
    88.1 KB
  • IMG_4301.jpg
    IMG_4301.jpg
    109.3 KB
  • IMG_4297.jpg
    IMG_4297.jpg
    101.9 KB
  • IMG_4295.jpg
    IMG_4295.jpg
    121 KB
Even inside the park, which is normally barren to the point of desperation, the veld is coming alive with green growth everywhere.

I have never seen grass in the Tankwa, and here it was. Large areas covered with green grass waving in the wind.

Judging by the massive wash-aways over the roads, they must have had a LOT of rain.
Just before the Middelpos-junction, the road coming out of the park has been washed away totally for +-150meters.

• IMG_4305.jpg
    IMG_4305.jpg
    103.7 KB
  • IMG_4307.jpg
    IMG_4307.jpg
    71.7 KB
  • IMG_4302.jpg
    IMG_4302.jpg
    79.9 KB
  • IMG_4303.jpg
    IMG_4303.jpg
    87.7 KB
We had lunch at Padstal, then went over Katbakkies and spent the second night at Oasis.
Again, Cocky, Rommel and Heddles were there and we had a lekker afternoon and evening.

They took Aldo under their wing and told him tall biking stories among much else, and he thoroughly enjoyed spending time in the company of the ooms. I think he might have learned a few new words during the course of the two days, but what doesnt kill you, enriches your vocabulary.  :biggrin: 

The next morning, we packed and went home.

• IMG_4309.jpg
    IMG_4309.jpg
    70 KB
  • IMG_4312.jpg
    IMG_4312.jpg
    84.1 KB
  • IMG_4317.jpg
    IMG_4317.jpg
    90.2 KB
  • IMG_4320.jpg
    IMG_4320.jpg
    45.6 KB
But!

No job in finished until the paperwork is done.

So that evening, the negotiations with Rael and Michelle were concluded via Whatsapp and yesterday morning early I again found myself en-route to the Tankwa, but this time with the bakkie.

We loaded the bike, and Rael even provided the owners manual, spare key, original tool kit and purchase invoice. The little Honda is immaculate. Hardly ridden.

And Aldo hasnt climbed off it since.

Most expensive bike trip ever? Definitely.

• IMG_4323.jpg
    IMG_4323.jpg
    119.4 KB
  • IMG_4324.jpg
    IMG_4324.jpg
    106.2 KB
Baie mooi. Dis die soort goed wat 'n man van 'n seun maak.

Dis nou 'n blerrie oulike foto.

Ek het altyd gedink die Kaap bestaan net uit skorriemorries en Camps Bay tipes. Ek sien nou daar is ordentlikes ook daar ;)

Lekker om van daai geweste se goeie reëns te lees.

9d2e9d05f5b1bb3db23de4ff9c1f556a.jpg

Kaboef said:
But!

No job in finished until the paperwork is done.

So that evening, the negotiations with Rael and Michelle were concluded via Whatsapp and yesterday morning early I again found myself en-route to the Tankwa, but this time with the bakkie.

We loaded the bike, and Rael even provided the owners manual, spare key, original tool kit and purchase invoice. The little Honda is immaculate. Hardly ridden.

And Aldo hasnt climbed off it since.

Most expensive bike trip ever? Definitely.
You left out "Most awesome bike trip ever!"  :biggrin:

Lekker ride and a cool story with a great ending  :thumleft:

Dankie manne.

Dorsland - ons Kapenaars bestaan uit lojaliste en rebelle. Die lojaliste woon in Kampsbaai en drink skinny lattes.
Die rebelle woon anderkant die boereworsgordyn en polish af en toe hul gewere terwyl hul noord kyk.  Goeie mense.  :biggrin:

John - you read my plan. Cant let the little man ride alone.  ;)

Eerste RR van die jaar en sommer n gawe ene!!! :thumleft: :thumleft:

Kaboef said:
Dankie manne.

Dorsland - ons Kapenaars bestaan uit lojaliste en rebelle. Die lojaliste woon in Kampsbaai en drink skinny lattes.
Die rebelle woon anderkant die boereworsgordyn en polish af en toe hul gewere terwyl hul noord kyk.  Goeie mense.  :biggrin:

John - you read my plan. Cant let me man ride alone.

Ek het nie geweet mens kan maer jong outjies drink nie maar in Kampsbaai is enigiets seker moontlik glo ek.  :biggrin:

Jy moet nou 'n fred beginne van hoe daai seun van joune met se nuwe fiets leer en vorder. Kan my net indink hoe opgewonde die lat moet wees.