Cape Town to Brandvlei and back - solo, DIY

Marco I don't want to sound like a prick, but since the ice has already been broken in that regard, may I reply to your statements.

1. The BMW jacket is very nice, even if a lot of Lifestylers wear them. Fortunately they're all migrating to the New! Santiago kit. Or the Rallye II. Like the old toppie I did the Intermediate course with some years ago. Whole BMW kit, Ralley II jacket & pants, Savannah boots, flip up helmet. On a F650. Then the Saturday afternoon he bails out 'cos he's "too tired." F***n bwhaaa.

2. Yes, I have also read the BMW article on the BMW WEBSITE, written by BMW PEOPLE. I have also ridden a 1200 ADV (with Jan staal, amongst others) in Namibian sand. I have actually written tho odd article about these things in a professional manner. As a 1200 GS owner I can unequivocally state that what these guys claim is at best misleading, or at worst, pure, unadulterated horseshit.

They, amongst other things wrote:
"But all agree it's more stable than the 1200GS. The bulk makes it steadier, pushing through dirt and on corrugated road it's not so shaky. "

Like the one guy who's a big cog in the BMW Lifestyle world (as in for a career) once told me over a coffee (he too doesn't drink...): "You can do things with the 1150 GS off road that you can't with a F650 - because of it's stability & weight...". Yes, because the F650 isn't that hardcore. The F650 XChallenge will rock. Obviously.

Then, when the lighter 1200Adv and HP2 came out he gushed about their lighter weight and how they'll handle better because of it. F*** huh?

Let's analyse another statement in this article: "The R1200GS is the all-purpose bike, tackling anything from commuting to tracking. The overall feeling was that the front steering and handle bars get unstable."
This is true of the Adventure too. Unless the 14 or so ones at the media launch were different to the ones you guys have bought.

Further: " They all regarded the 1200GS as the 'softie' of the pack. It is difficult to handle in thick sandy conditions but is a good comfortable touring bike on long tarmac distances."

How on earth can something with EXACTLY the same wheels, suspension geometry - but with 20 - 40 kgs less weight, depending on fuel load, be more difficult to handle in the sand?

I'm excitedly waiting for your input in this regard.

There's a very simple correlation between off-road motorcycles and weight, all things being equal: Less = better

The only mechanical differences between the Adv and the normal 1200 GS are:
* Bigger tank
* Higher output alternator (to run more electrical thingys)
* Different looks
* Better crash protection
* Better wind protection
* 10 mm more suspension travel - to compensate for heavier probable loads.
* Higher porkiness factor on the scale.
* More advanced trip computer

How this can make it "better" off-road is beyond me.

You wrote:

[/quote]GPSs are great, but I believe that navigation is way older that this new born electronic tool.
You're trolling, aren't you? Please say you're pulling my leg? Please?

Jacko said:
The only mechanical differences between the Adv and the normal 1200 GS are:
* Bigger tank
* Higher output alternator (to run more electrical thingys)
* Different looks
* Better crash protection
* Better wind protection
* 10 mm more suspension travel - to compensate for heavier probable loads.
* Higher porkiness factor on the scale.
* More advanced trip computer

How this can make it "better" off-road is beyond me.
I'm not sure if Marco Polo disagreed with you about the GS being better and I certainly won't reply on his behalf but please allow me to share my own thoughts on the subject.

*The bigger tank on the GSA is not a plus point unless you plan to tavel beyond our borders. That is true. If you ride with other bikes you will have to make the same stops as they do anyway.
*The higher output alternator is a godsend. I run my GPS off it while charging my iPod and sometimesmy cellphone ass well. If I had to stall the bike frequently (falling in sand and such), it will be nice to know that the alternator can charge the battery up pronto.
*Different looks. The question of looks is moot. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
*Better crash protection - this is a good thing offroad
*Better wind protection - this is also a good thing on tar
*10mm extra travel - it does help with loads. I owned a 1200GS previously. That bike bottomed out much easier than the GSA
*Extra weight - very unfortunate.
*More advanced trip computer - only of interest if you get bored on long, straight, tarred roads

You mention that the lower seat makes it better in the technical stuff.
I put it to you sir: It is only better if you are a short arse :lol:
besides, you are not supposed to do the doggy paddle but to roar through every obstacle like there was no tomorrow :D

I don't understand why people are giving you so much grief - it must be something you said :wink:

Hei LuckyStriker, before your - as is the norm - erudite contribution, I felt like asking the bridge at the USS Enterprise to beam me up :lol:

I think it is the Lifestyle mafia banding together and casting wicked spells!

The last time I elicited such confusing responses was when I criticised silly Harley "lifestylers" club in a column. The Cape chapter wanted to gang-powder puff me.

We eventuall got together for a dop (actuall a lot more) at Howie Zowie's insistence and became friends.

But you know what? The ringleader (scuse the gay pun) mailed me the other day to tell my he's sold the Harley and has put down a deposit for a 1200 GSA.

Like I said before... is Motorrad becoming the new Harley culture? :(

I almost long for the days we lived in Durbanville (VERY close to Kraaifontein...) and I rode a 1200 Bandit. Does the Full Bonty pub at the P 'n P in Kraaifontein still exist. What a lekker zef (but in a good way) pozzie :lol:

I don't have anything useful to contribute to this debate. I'm totally out of my depth on the heavy bikes. But I would like to say this: Jacko, I like your houding. :D None of this Hanna Hanna Poser Poser shite that (these days) are the norm with Lifestyle riders. By this I am not implying that Marco Polo or LS or any other party in this debate are posers. I have not met a Wild Dog poser yet, although a certain BMW rider wanting to buy a R1400 duffel bag is dangerously close, but we'll convert him soon enough :D

Rock on man!

Don't "Faaarkup" his riding report :!: :evil: :evil:

Easy, I don't mean to mess up Jacko's report which I enjoyed reading.
I just want to say few things, you may skip my reply if you don't want to read it...

Now and then comes a person who against the odds and the norms of his time and place, rightfully points out our excess of materialism and our selfish pursuit of one's image.
Like Diogenes and the first Cynics, he aggressively fouts all the conventions, and deliberately shocks people. But his message is somehow an interesting picture of our stupid social conventions.
So let's be glad to have Jacko as our eloquent Diogenes of the Wild Dog Forum.

Ok, I'm going to stop talking crap just after that.
Jacko, I'm sure you'll find a happy crowd who'll appreciate your style and your judgement. You can surely count me in.
But you can criticize those BMW Lifestyler as much as you want, you'll still find a frail flashy Rally 2 rider at the corner of the street, who just bought himself a R 150 000 Enduro wanabee image.

Remember though that BMW has, as its main and most important raison d'etre, to insure a positive and attractive return on its shareholders' investment. So BMW decided to change its reputation for building boring bikes for old men. And they did it by attracting the younger crowd (among other) into a 'Lifestyle' and selling Dakar Rallye style outfit. I believe that it works bloody well! And yes, they follow a strategy that is quite similar to Harley Davidson and Ducati.
I personally don't give a dawn about the guy all suited up with BMW colours. He does whatever he wants.

Now for the GPS, I love the little device. It makes me smile to see a guy driving with a GPS glued on to the windscreen just to do his routine commuting from home to work.
Or to find coordinates instead of the address of the guy you suppose to visit. Should one of these satellites ever fall, I wonder if we could still find our way home.
As for me, I can find my way without one; and I enjoy getting lost sometimes. If everything goes according to plan everytime, you won't enjoy a memorable trip. You'll rather have a very boring story to tell which you'll wrongfully call an adventure.

Nice pictures you've got here Jacko. Would you call yourself a poser if 16 out of 20 pictures are proudly showing off your mighty stead? -Just joking there-

Ride safe!

Different strokes for different folks :)

Nice report :lol:

Marco Polo wrote:
So let's be glad to have Jacko as our eloquent Diogenes of the Wild Dog Forum.

Jeez, I can't stop gushing. :oops:

Okay, I must admit, you do sound like you have a couple of more synapses and brain cells than the bare miniumum needed to sustain mammal life. :lol:

Your points are mostly valid and as far as the rest are concerned a couple of beers will probably enlighten me. In fact, you even sound like a nice fella. Well, what a pleasant surprise then :p

I agree about the silly GPS nuts - but the point I made was covering long distances in unfamiliar territory on your own is tailormade for GPSs.

The Jacko Rule of Navigation goes something like this:
The further you are from (so-called, admittedly) civilisation, the bigger the chances for problems that cannot be resolved quickly. One problem leads to another. The domino effect could rear it's ugly head. People could get hurt. Then a GPS is indispensable.

To paraphrase Sartre: "Hell is Lifestyle people..." :lol:

Just want to sez a small bit of crap....

GPS and unfamilar tracks....
On our Badplaas weekend, Leo was steeking it and leeding the pack with me second. On the straights and not so hidden twisties I could catch up but everythime the twisties become hidden he would pull away. I could not understand how the hell he "knew" what the road would do. Then he told me his "secret" he zoom in on his GPS and so could see what the track is up to. GPS 1 topo map 0 :D

Jacko....what a lekker report. Nice scoot too! Love my yellow GS, cos they are faster!!!!

Keep em comming! :wink:

Ooh, yeah. The awesome R355 - 252 uninterrupted kms of which 200 is gravel.

https://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w317/jkirsten_2007/MGL056.jpg

150 - 160 km/h no problems. SITTING DOWN you Lifestyle morons!

https://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w317/jkirsten_2007/MGL057.jpg

Those are dusty tar roads not dirt roads. :lol: You guy's in WC and NC have beautiful dirt roads, any speeds of 120km/h can be maintained. in the EC 60-80km/h is the norm.

Thnxs I enjoyed your report. I think this thing on lifestyle is getting out of hand. To accuse a guy of a lifestyle poser the moment he owns certain bike or just buy himself a jacket with a BMW or KTM badge is stupid, drop it, let it go.

Jacko I really understand your frustration and feel on this, this week we encountered moegoes on BMW and as much as I love and enjoy my bike, I feel sad that people will categorize me like those oke's.

Thanks for the report Jacko
Your pictures are stunning - I like your scoot as well

Comments:

1. I own a KTM - I love the KTM kit and bling. My wife will soon be purchasing her 650GS - and damn - even I will buy that Rallye II jacket. It really oozes appeal

2. Riding this weekend without the GPS as main guide was entertaining but frustrating - Had to stop at every 2nd or third turn to check the route

It is actually good fun without a GPS, yes you have to stop every second turn but it's still good fun.

The smaller SA maps details are very good, and at R23-00 versus R6000 for a GPs. :? :lol:

michnus said:
The smaller SA maps details are very good, and at R23-00 versus R6000 for a GPs. :? :lol:

Thats my problem, I've got R23 to spare but not the R6000 plus. :wink:

Thanks for the ride report and pics, just another route to add to the map.

it really is no big deal in the greater scheme of things

Yes I agree, but in the smaller scheme of things.....? :D

You only get 2 types of BM riders - those that long for a KLR (simplicity and reliability) and those that don't :twisted:

Is it possible to be a Diogenes on a BMW - I would say you need at the very least a Norton or a Royal Endfield :D (else the best that you can hope for is to be a Richard Branson without the money) - but if you drink Makador, you may convince me :D (I still carry scars on my foot after some Coco Rico, an Alfa Romeo and later an XR500 - at least its not as lasting as the smell of coco :D )

Well written Hunter S T - and thanx for getting responses from this old age kennel :D The sad state of this genre is that some actually believes a BM, the kit, riding standing and doing a course with Staal Jan makes them absolutely superior to any other rider on any other brand of bike, fortunately its not true for most of the BM riders on this site. They tend to stick to BM only sites :D

Hein

Hein is quite right there. Trip reports on this board aren't of the "13km round trip to my local Wimpy on a Sunday" variety. You'd have to look hard to find posers here.

As for me, I don't give a fuck either way. Posers have no import in my life.

I got a 1200 because of various reasons (ABS, shaft, tubeless etc.) but mainly because the bike was designed and built for ME. It suits me like a soft hand cupped around the nether regions at night. I sometimes still get a little pissed when I see someone else on one.

But this is MY bike, the badge is unimportant. I have always felt that those who confine themselves to one manufacturer because of whatever nonsensical reason are doing themselves short. And that is where you will find the highest concentration of posers, because you only need to comply in form, function being irrelevant.

Metaljockey said:
Hein is quite right there. Trip reports on this board aren't of the "13km round trip to my local Wimpy on a Sunday" variety. You'd have to look hard to find posers here.

As for me, I don't give a fuck either way. Posers have no import in my life.

I got a 1200 because of various reasons (ABS, shaft, tubeless etc.) but mainly because the bike was designed and built for ME. It suits me like a soft hand cupped around the nether regions at night. I sometimes still get a little pissed when I see someone else on one.

But this is MY bike, the badge is unimportant. I have always felt that those who confine themselves to one manufacturer because of whatever nonsensical reason are doing themselves short. And that is where you will find the highest concentration of posers, because you only need to comply in form, function being irrelevant.

Could not get more clear than this :thumbright:

Howzit Gents,
This issue goes nowhere, there a tossers in every area, BMW are taking a hiding because they are selling the idea, just like Harley just in a different market segment, take a hiding for exactly the same reasons, or has nobody noticed.

I do not think I fall into that category, many American Harley riders do not either, most Harley riders in RSA unfortunately seem to.

I don,t have an issue with the gear thing, if you can afford good gear buy it, the fact that the vast majority of Dakar Privateers used the Rallye II gear was nor by accident or discounts.

We must understand that the massive grinding beaurocracy of a company like BMW takes time. They are addressing the issues, hence the new 650,s the 800,s the 450. I think the GS1200 will in the long term be shown not to be one of there greats.

But they are rightly concerned at KTM,s inroads on there markets, KTM have a better feel for what a big portion of the market wants, BMW may slide back into the sidestream.

Me just an old grumpy 8) , who likes the 1150 / 1150 ADV and does not care if I have the latest bling etc etc.

Welsh 8)