December 2013 Road Trippin'

jirrie maar julle lyk nog skoon daar op daai kiekies. Toe ek julle kry het julle maar arm gelyk, het amper 'n R5 vir jul elke gegee.

Here is a couple of memories of the 2nd day:

• WP_20131220_018.jpg
    WP_20131220_018.jpg
    317.1 KB
  • WP_20131220_022.jpg
    WP_20131220_022.jpg
    291.2 KB
  • WP_20131220_023.jpg
    WP_20131220_023.jpg
    92.7 KB
  • WP_20131220_030.jpg
    WP_20131220_030.jpg
    269.9 KB
  • WP_20131220_014.jpg
    WP_20131220_014.jpg
    93.3 KB
Being "allowed into" this merry little group of 4, only a week before the actual trip started, I had not laid eyes on, or heard a word about the actual route- all I knew was "back roads round Lesotho down to Cape Town, Cedar Mountains and back..."
The night before I packed my trusted Triumph 1200 Explorer with camping gear and biltong. It was already raining.....

Meeting up with a team of dedicated riders at 5 am, in the rain, checking kit and filling fuel- it brings memories of an era long gone when the kit was a little more "sharp-endish"- nostalgia to say the least.

Day 1 was around 460km. Nothing really much, rain oh rain..

A bit of an unfortunate tumble in the mud for Batch, the loss of a camera for Dwerg- that was the most excitement team-wise. The drive was scenic though and the company good. All the ingredients that is needed to whip up a good sort of days of riding together.

Day two : much less distance, but wow: Lundean's Neck below the Lesotho Mountains must be one of the must do cruises- not difficult, but so nice to settle into the feel of it!
The we hit the jackpot- a back road up the mountain to Tiffendale- the highest point in South Africa they say. 15km took us a grueling 7 hours with 4 falls and a lot of sweat and pumping adrenalin. But worth it!

And the day progressed:

• WP_20131220_036.jpg
    WP_20131220_036.jpg
    111.2 KB
  • WP_20131220_038.jpg
    WP_20131220_038.jpg
    88.4 KB
  • WP_20131220_043.jpg
    WP_20131220_043.jpg
    129.5 KB
  • WP_20131220_047.jpg
    WP_20131220_047.jpg
    106 KB
  • WP_20131220_052.jpg
    WP_20131220_052.jpg
    314.1 KB
Dwerg said:
Day 1 – PTA to Zastron - About 660km

We set off on the 19th of December, some time around 5:30 from PTA east. We had rain all the way from the start until just before Villiers where we turned off the highway. We slabbed it to somewhere around Wepener and then took a short section of gravel to get things started. Day 1 casualties: Bazinga fell in mud, I got stung by a bee plus my camera got flung from my tank bag and broke into pieces, GeVarlik misjudged the width of his new panniers and hit a bakkie at a petrol station.

We took the gravel road...well...because it was apparently better than the tar...until we hit the first mud... :pot:

• 20131219_131849.jpg
    20131219_131849.jpg
    90.3 KB
Serpie! Hoe is dit dat jy op die onderkant van die bike sit in stede van die bokant?

Day 2 – Zastron to Rhodes – 183km

Ok so the initial plan for the day was to go from Zastron - Elliot via Lundeans, Wartrail, Bidstone pass, Carlisles hoek, Naude's nek, Potrivier Pass, Bastervoetpad. Around 340km. Easy right? As CrazyHorse said, the 183kms to Rhodes took us around 10 hours of which 7 or so was just getting everyone up Bidstone pass. I would not recommend it for newbies and I am sure PietSkiet would agree

A78F310E-5B88-44BB-9AFB-31FA408A152A-185-00000016773178CB_zps93fb8678.jpg

2669C1C3-C9D4-4B13-98A1-7ACD5075B7B8-185-0000001670908F6A_zps8f2286b1.jpg

Some photo's

Lundeans
IMG_1098_zps52e0522f.jpg

Piet en Bazinga vang 'n goef
IMG_1104_zps92f83e0d.jpg

IMG_1108_zps333a8e33.jpg

IMG_1114_zpsce8a2d49.jpg

IMG_1116_zps5142c385.jpg

IMG_1117_zps21deb647.jpg

IMG_1119_zpseeee3cb6.jpg

Ek moet se Dwerg, daai makeshift baard van jou is baie becoming!

Lekker gelees sover!  :thumleft:

Lekker man, lekker!  Lat loop met die RR!  :ricky:

So....unaware of what was waiting for us, we were up early, packed, full of jokes, and ready to go.
We felt like "the business" as we were video taped while leaving Maluti Hotel

• 20131220_072703.jpg
    20131220_072703.jpg
    160.7 KB
Lundean's nek was certainly a pleasure to ride and definitely a confidence booster as we took our time taking in the scenery while heading to the top. But then...

• 20131220_105705_2.jpg
    20131220_105705_2.jpg
    140.2 KB
  • 20131220_105852.jpg
    20131220_105852.jpg
    165.3 KB
  • 20131220_105758_1.jpg
    20131220_105758_1.jpg
    181.8 KB
  • 20131220_092927.jpg
    20131220_092927.jpg
    196.9 KB
Picture of the mothership...has everything but a built in toilet...but she would not return to PTA in that form...I will elaborate on that later on in the RR.

• 20131220_095449_3.jpg
    20131220_095449_3.jpg
    227.5 KB
We hit some holiday traffic on the way to Wartrail in the form of some sheep, before we started with the first real (hard-core) adventure riding for the trip. As you can see from Dwerg's elevation plot it was a little steep...ok...maybe really steep. Through in some loose rocks, ruts and slippery gravel and you have the ideal recipe for disaster. This is the 15km or so up to Tiffendell ski resort. (Not their recommended access road)
Anyway we were not scared...so we slowly progressed upwards...as no one wanted to turn around. Thinking back this was probably the one day on the trip I thought I was going to die the most.

But hey...we eventually made it to the campsite in Rodes. All in one piece after a long hard day. Not Elliot...but we met some interesting characters...by the way this is where father Christmas hangs out.

• 20131220_112135.jpg
    20131220_112135.jpg
    156.5 KB
  • 20131220_114254.jpg
    20131220_114254.jpg
    171.8 KB
  • 20131220_114306.jpg
    20131220_114306.jpg
    174 KB
  • 20131220_114515.jpg
    20131220_114515.jpg
    280.9 KB
  • 20131220_114819.jpg
    20131220_114819.jpg
    190.7 KB
  • 20131220_151355_1.jpg
    20131220_151355_1.jpg
    185.5 KB
  • 20131220_153946.jpg
    20131220_153946.jpg
    239.1 KB
  • 20131220_161034.jpg
    20131220_161034.jpg
    206.6 KB
  • 20131220_174746.jpg
    20131220_174746.jpg
    115.8 KB
  • 20131221_061724.jpg
    20131221_061724.jpg
    152.5 KB
Did the wartrail two years ago I think. It is farking steep, with lots of loose boulders, with lots of dongas etc to catch you out. One of the routes I did which had the most "Oh Fark" moments per m