My impression of BMW Motorrad Days 2015

LuckyStriker

BMW G650 X-challenge
A bunch of journalists – including yours truly – were invited to the Motorrad Days event in Clarens.
I was very excited during the run-up. From what I understood it was going to be youthful reimagining of the brand.
I expected to see a horde of old school café racers, indie girls with Polaroid cameras, guys in plaid shirts and meticulously groomed beards, and loads of craft beer stands. I even spray-painted my helmet so that it would look a little more ‘ironic’ and ‘random’. I already have the beard and the Vans shoes and could probably pass as a hipster granddaddy.

BMW asked me if I would like the use of an R nineT during the event. “Absolutely!” I exclaimed. Perfect!
When I got to O.R. Tambo airport the PR people were equally excited. I noticed that I was the only journalist taking possession of a bike.
The other journos on my flight were squeezed into cars and driven down to the event. WTF guys?

When I got to Clarens I immediately noticed something was amiss. Where were the young people? Instead it was the usual suspects you find at these BMW events.
Don’t get me wrong – I’m not disrespecting the BMW owners who were there – I just expected the kids to come, not their parents.
Noticeable were the omies with their boeppies taking pictures with their iPads. Not cool, sir. Not cool.
To be fair, there were a couple of cool kids skulking about but they seemed a little bored.

So apparently the ticket prices were a bit steep and there were not enough activities to justify the cost. Fair enough, I guess cheap for one is expensive to some. As a result many festival goers hung out outside the square in the free zone, not spending money on the event.
Obviously I didn’t pay a cent either since my press pass got me wherever I wanted to go – even backstage.
I found it surprising that the VIP hospitality tent required cash. Not only did you pay to get in but a single glass of pinotage set you back R45. Fuck me! Way too expensive for a journalist, trust me.

The bands did their best but they were trying to entertain the wrong audience. I saw more foot-tapping during the breaks when classic rock recordings were piped through the PAs. I actually also enjoyed that.
The only band that had a respectable turnout was Die Heuwel Fantasties, but they dropped the F-bomb so often that even I cringed a little. The Afrikaans tannies with their tidy hairstyles visibly shrunk whenever lead singer Pierre Greeff shouted “Fokken awesome, my bra! Jissis, maar dis lekker hier
I had to laugh.
The cool kids I mentioned earlier clearly enjoyed the Friday evening but I didn’t see many of them return the following night to support Ard Matthews and Mean Mr Mustard. I don’t blame them, those acts are so 2010. Plus it rained a little, which was a bummer.

Sunday back in Jo’burg the Public Relations people looked a little worn out and far less excited than they were before the event. They asked me what I thought of the weekend and I skillfully volleyed the question back to them. They gave the same noncommittal meaningless answer I was prepared to give them. They did say that next year’s event was going to be lots better and that they were learning as they go. I believe them, I actually do.

My advice to them is to perhaps invite their traditional customers and host a festival that suits an older demographic. Either that or make a greater effort to get these elusive youngsters to attend. They can start by actually getting young people involved in the planning and having activities that younger people like at a location that younger people would want to go to.

As for the R nineT: What a great little bike. I’m already penning a favourable review in which I encourage young adults to go buy one, because this is what I truly believe.

I’ll try to paint the festival in a fair light. I also know that someone on this forum will copy this post and send it off to someone at BMW. And BMW will be disappointed that I’m not promoting the event more favourably.
Fortunately they are a reasonable people that actually care about feedback from their customers - which I actually am. They are not out to milk you dry as some KTM and Kawasaki owners would like us to believe ;D . They are a profitable corporate entity and I’m sure they’ll forgive me for criticizing them and invite me back next year…

I hope

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are mine alone and not a reflection on the publication I write for.

Now for some pics:

• Town.JPG
    Town.JPG
    224.3 KB
  • Beer tent.JPG
    Beer tent.JPG
    206.8 KB
  • Heuwels1.JPG
    Heuwels1.JPG
    190.9 KB
  • Heuwels2.JPG
    Heuwels2.JPG
    172.8 KB
  • Audience.JPG
    Audience.JPG
    146.6 KB
  • VIP tent.JPG
    VIP tent.JPG
    134.9 KB
  • Stage.JPG
    Stage.JPG
    177 KB
  • Cool ballie.JPG
    Cool ballie.JPG
    180.5 KB
  • RnineT.jpg
    RnineT.jpg
    171.4 KB
And what about the venue? Well obviously Golden Gate is amazeballs and Clarens is nice and friendly.
I really liked riding my R nineT around town and the countryside.

Would I fork over my own money to attend Motorrad Days? Sure, but I’d go with a group of friends. It was a bit lonely to go on my own and this may have tainted my experience a bit. I’m also hoping BMW fine tunes the formula to make it better next year, and I’m sure they will..

• R9T3.JPG
    R9T3.JPG
    185.2 KB
  • R9T1.JPG
    R9T1.JPG
    214.2 KB
  • Villain.jpg
    Villain.jpg
    244.6 KB
  • Mattie Griffin.JPG
    Mattie Griffin.JPG
    195.8 KB
  • Mattie Griffin2.JPG
    Mattie Griffin2.JPG
    179.7 KB
  • Mattie Griffin1.JPG
    Mattie Griffin1.JPG
    192.1 KB
  • Comfort.jpg
    Comfort.jpg
    157.9 KB
  • Custom.jpg
    Custom.jpg
    195.2 KB
  • Dakar.jpg
    Dakar.jpg
    212.6 KB
  • JoRust.JPG
    JoRust.JPG
    396.6 KB
Nice write up. :thumleft:

I think a lot of companies (...and government maar kom ek hou eerder my bek....) are underestimating under how much pressure normal okes are. Weekends away are expensive already and to have to pay top dollar on top of it to enter something makes it hard.

Saying that, I realize nothing is free and from the pictures it seems like a well organized event. The only thing I find strange is what you mention they wanted to attract the younger crowd and I can see that with their choice of some of the bands but it just strikes me a bit weird.... they know who their market is, it is the boepie brigade.

I guess they are trying to gain market share in a new demographic but then they were never going to pay that amount of money to see four bands and stand around and look at bikes, that is what we old toppies do.

But big up to BMW, I like to give people k@k about it but secretly I would have loved to have gone.

Make a note of the date. Grrrrr said something nice, rational, and I totally agree with him!
BMW has a loyal fanbase of older, wiser, larger riders, and is trying to really canvass the hipster market. This event looks great, but seems to be falling somewhat between these two stools.
Two points:
I rode the R1200RS the other day. Great bike, but also probably falling between these two. My heart would buy the R9T before my brain had time to suggest the former.
What is Jo doing in the photo of the GS? Settling the Standing/Sitting debate by introducing the No-footer?

monkeyboy said:
What is Jo doing in the photo of the GS? Settling the Standing/Sitting debate by introducing the No-footer?

monkeyboy said:

She's having a moment.
Country Trax offered test rides on an enduro track. A rider ahead of her on a 800GS spun up the trail and she lost her line a bit.

Accepted. We all have moments, officer. Luckily mine aren't usually documented.

Nice writeup, thanks. I'm sure it'll only get better and I would consider going in future. That said, it needs to be cheaper – the price is the reason I did not got this year. I'm a (relatively young, but with developing boep and all) GS rider, but also an aspirant hipster and I will certainly not be able to afford that R9T (suitably customised, naturally) if I have to pay thousands to attend what is essentially a well organised and marketed club braai.

Nice write-up, thanks LS  :thumleft:

LuckyStriker said:
A bunch of journalists – including yours truly – were invited to the Motorrad Days event in Clarens.
I was very excited during the run-up. From what I understood it was going to be youthful reimagining of the brand.
I expected to see a horde of old school café racers, indie girls with Polaroid cameras, guys in plaid shirts and meticulously groomed beards, and loads of craft beer stands. I even spray-painted my helmet so that it would look a little more ‘ironic’ and ‘random’. I already have the beard and the Vans shoes and could probably pass as a hipster granddaddy.

BMW asked me if I would like the use of an R nineT during the event. “Absolutely!” I exclaimed. Perfect!
When I got to O.R. Tambo airport the PR people were equally excited. I noticed that I was the only journalist taking possession of a bike.
The other journos on my flight were squeezed into cars and driven down to the event. WTF guys?

When I got to Clarens I immediately noticed something was amiss. Where were the young people? Instead it was the usual suspects you find at these BMW events.
Don’t get me wrong – I’m not disrespecting the BMW owners who were there – I just expected the kids to come, not their parents.
Noticeable were the omies with their boeppies taking pictures with their iPads. Not cool, sir. Not cool.
To be fair, there were a couple of cool kids skulking about but they seemed a little bored.

So apparently the ticket prices were a bit steep and there were not enough activities to justify the cost. Fair enough, I guess cheap for one is expensive to some. As a result many festival goers hung out outside the square in the free zone, not spending money on the event.
Obviously I didn’t pay a cent either since my press pass got me wherever I wanted to go – even backstage.
I found it surprising that the VIP hospitality tent required cash. Not only did you pay to get in but a single glass of pinotage set you back R45. Fuck me! Way too expensive for a journalist, trust me.

The bands did their best but they were trying to entertain the wrong audience. I saw more foot-tapping during the breaks when classic rock recordings were piped through the PAs. I actually also enjoyed that.
The only band that had a respectable turnout was Die Heuwel Fantasties, but they dropped the F-bomb so often that even I cringed a little. The Afrikaans tannies with their tidy hairstyles visibly shrunk whenever lead singer Pierre Greeff shouted “Fokken awesome, my bra! Jissis, maar dis lekker hier
I had to laugh.
The cool kids I mentioned earlier clearly enjoyed the Friday evening but I didn’t see many of them return the following night to support Ard Matthews and Mean Mr Mustard. I don’t blame them, those acts are so 2010. Plus it rained a little, which was a bummer.

Sunday back in Jo’burg the Public Relations people looked a little worn out and far less excited than they were before the event. They asked me what I thought of the weekend and I skillfully volleyed the question back to them. They gave the same noncommittal meaningless answer I was prepared to give them. They did say that next year’s event was going to be lots better and that they were learning as they go. I believe them, I actually do.

My advice to them is to perhaps invite their traditional customers and host a festival that suits an older demographic. Either that or make a greater effort to get these elusive youngsters to attend. They can start by actually getting young people involved in the planning and having activities that younger people like at a location that younger people would want to go to.

As for the R nineT: What a great little bike. I’m already penning a favourable review in which I encourage young adults to go buy one, because this is what I truly believe.

I’ll try to paint the festival in a fair light. I also know that someone on this forum will copy this post and send it off to someone at BMW. And BMW will be disappointed that I’m not promoting the event more favourably.
Fortunately they are a reasonable people that actually care about feedback from their customers - which I actually am. They are not out to milk you dry as some KTM and Kawasaki owners would like us to believe ;D . They are a profitable corporate entity and I’m sure they’ll forgive me for criticizing them and invite me back next year…

I hope

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are mine alone and not a reflection on the publication I write for.

Now for some pics:
Fokkit Bly ek was nie daar nie lyk asof ek Dalk te oud sou gewees het al het ek nie n boepens nie ,Miskien moet die skrywer reel dat hulle in die toekoms ouderdom beperkings inbring

Nice write up. I was dead keen to go but the prices were a bit angry for me. Mind you, woulda been a nice trip with the china's.....Next year!

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

I was there; rode up with offroad group from the bmw club cape town; epic journey via lesotho
Motorrad days was a disappointment for me as I am of the "younger" crowd and a beer tent;a band and few stalls is not a festival for which you can charge R800?
The clearly should have done their homework and looked at the one they host at Garmish in Germany
Hope they improve
and my NineT is on order :ricky:

I enjoyed the bands on Friday night but I agree it was lost on most people there. I don't think
their target market of 20-something hipsters have the cash for something like a R160k R9T.

I'm a bit disappointed in the quality of the t-shirt and also the pin I received reads "Pure and Crafted Festival 28-29 August"?
Mattie Griffin was great.

Herewith my thoughts.....
I went down with some mates and wives on their Gs's. I was one of the very few Ktm's there :ricky:

In general we were disappointed in the value for money aspect of the ticket prices, not a lot on site for your R850 ea and for most of us it was times 2......All the Swambos were too happy to go shopping in Clarens at our expense :peepwall:

The lack of shaded seating was a problem, other than one or two cheapie pallet style couches the only place with shade was the Beer tent or Food area !!

Bands were good but the sound was a bit iffy (Muffled Vocals) maybe because we watched from the Beer tent

All the wives were really keen on the Mattie Griffin stunt show for whatever reason............... :drif:

Our general consensus was that if we took all the money we had paid as a group we could have had one helluva long weekend of riding at any destination of our choice

Its doubtful if we will go back next year until there is a better value for money aspect.

Ek sal nooit in my lewe so iets vir enige rede of ten bate van enige brand bywoon nie  :thumleft:

Die beste deel van jou report is waar jy bietjie Golden Gate gaan verken op die R9T

Lem said:
Ek sal nooit in my lewe so iets vir enige rede of ten bate van enige brand bywoon nie  :thumleft:

Die beste deel van jou report is waar jy bietjie Golden Gate gaan verken op die R9T

Went up with a group of mates,had a blast however,I share the similar sentiments as the fellow riders.The square was highly over rated,as was the town a rip off with service and prices ! My 2c say !

Ek dink jou verslag is goed geskryf Cyril. :thumleft:
Niks minder verwag nie... ;)

Ek het net al die pressers gekry, fokol invite nie.  :imaposer:

Die fees het my nogal laat dink aan my besoek aan Donford Motorrad in die Stad die ander dag. Die ouens probeer regtig hard.
Ek was opsoek na iets en hulle het nie voorraad gehad nie, die sales rep gee toe vir my sy kaartjie en sy titel lees: lifestyle consultant FAAAAAK me. Duidelik is die koop van 'n paar gloves of baadjie of boots nou lifestyle en nie meer net riding gear nie...  :ricky:

Ek gaan sit toe in die koffiewinkel en bestel iets. Ek het heeltemal uit gevoel. Die koffiewinkel was gepak met non-bikers. Tipiese Cape Town crowd,  hippies, trimmed beards, opgerolde denimkortbroeke, wit enkelhoogte AllStar sneakers, v-neck hempies, pompous hairstyles...weird.

Net my 2c.