My WARR2022/23 - Richtersveld trips, prep and execution.

So... I have been thinking... adding some range to the 21L tank may be required... and voila... Pioneer 5L tank, could buy direct R390 but they charge R522 delivery! This is a Rotopax clone as far as I could see, very sturdy...
So local is lekker, once again Safari 4X4 were my go to for R491.
Plywood will be the backing plate for the project. From what I figured out I could mount another on the RH side as well... but we will first do some prototyping...
The extra 5L is around 200k minimum extra range on my existing 400k.
I will post as it progresses... has to be finished for next weekend's dry run to Sneeuberge hunt.:coffee:
View attachment 786233
Surely not 40 km to a litre?
you mean extra 100?

Tank is fitted, pics of assembly, touch up and mounting on the bike.
fitted-ready to roll.jpg
centre support and bolt.jpg
touched up and mounted.jpg
assembly-rear before touch up.jpg
assembly-front before touch up.jpg

Looks good Rob, now please just check the oil in that KLR:p;):ROFLMAO:
I did... Trip went well and showed up some added tools I will be needing... getting to old to lift the pig... Some pics to follow soon. Moet eers daai 27 bokke se boude gaan uitmekaarhaal vir biltong maak. (y)

So after looking around on the web and comparing prices I decided to go and make my own pooratech foldable bike hoist using rachet straps.
Here is the "parts" from my collection of "scrap" as MD calls it... I call it the "Goldmine". This was Ver: 1.1.0

• pooratech rachet1.jpg
    pooratech rachet1.jpg
    90.9 KB
  • pooratech rachet2.jpg
    pooratech rachet2.jpg
    192.8 KB
  • pooratech rachet3.jpg
    pooratech rachet3.jpg
    210.1 KB
  • pooratech rachet4.jpg
    pooratech rachet4.jpg
    193.4 KB
And so some more pics of aforesaid lifting device... 2.1 Kg so far. Should max out at around 3 Kg when bagged. Full practice runs will be done with a less full tank soon.

pooratech rachet-final centre inner tubes.jpg
pooratech rachet-final disassembled.jpg
pooratech rachet-final footplate and bottom tubes.jpg
pooratech rachet-final footplate.jpg
pooratech rachet-final interlinked tubes tubes with bungee retainer and clips.jpg
pooratech rachet-final interlinked tubes tubes.jpg
pooratech rachet-final rachet head and top tubes.jpg
pooratech rachet-final ratchet and webbing.jpg
pooratech rachet-final ratchet installed.jpg
pooratech rachet-final roller installed.jpg
pooratech rachet-final showing how rachet works.jpg
pooratech rachet-final showing how webbing works.jpg
pooratech rachet-final showing it looks folded ready for bagging.jpg

OK, now I am just plain windgat... Decided to fit my tool tube's twin... ergo the TubeTube... and while I was about it I used up the rest of the yellow rattle can on my tyre levers and mounted them on the pannier rack as well... close ups of the mounting method for the TT, tyre levers were marked and drilled according to the pannier rack holes.

tubetube mounting 1.jpg
tubetube mounting 2.jpg
tubetube tyre lever.jpg