My WARR2022/23 - Richtersveld trips, prep and execution.

Friday 28/10 and I decided to be a wuss and do the Tar scenic route to Port Nolloth aka "Port" as the locals and those in the know call it.
5 Myl Poort was fun with no luggage this time. Then Shrek had a Birthday! 85000 Kilometers done so far.
The road to "Port" is very good tar road and an unexpected Anenous Pass later it was obvious that it was getting nippier as I got closer to "Port", then I saw the fog rolling in across the coast!
As I came into town I saw the sign for McDougalls bay so turned south... A pretty place and lots of fog. Took some pics then headed back to "Port" to find something for brunch.
Stoping outside Sunsets at Fredricks I found @Excalibur arriving and shortly afterward the rest of @Leo's troop... as they wanted something with a bit of kick with brunch they headed off to the Scotia Inn... I settled for good old fish and chips and it was delicious.
After brunch it was a fuel top up with a bit of excitement as one of the town mutts took a dislike to the kriek op die briek Shrek was busy developing, the dog chased after for almost 800m.
Then it was back to Growcery, with a few stops for pics and to admire the magnificent vistas and look down to see the amazing plant life that grows in this very arid part of the country. Of course the photos do not do justice to what the eye sees.
Two passes later I was back at Growcery and spent the rest of the day lounging with the rest of the lazy dogs before we had supper, a very filling chicken pot and sides. Then off to bed...
By the way the moths are big here... and the mineral Mica is to be found all over the show.

85000km_20221028_105356_579.jpg
Anenouspass_20221028_144048_941.jpg
B2 moth_20221029_084031_182.jpg
beachfog_20221028_114420_786.jpg
fishandchips_20221028_123837_470.jpg
Fyf myl poort_20221028_154253_961.jpg
fyfmylpoort the other end 2022-10-28 at 18.28.30.jpeg
kampkommondant_20221028_075327_451.jpg
lidbos_20221028_140850_797.jpg
locals on the beach_20221028_114507_123.jpg
malvacia_20221028_154225_070.jpg
mica_20221028_090530_417.jpg
no25 and the sand_20221028_095956_271.jpg
noggaPstop_20221028_140751_407.jpg
port nolloth beach 2022-10-28 at 11.49.02.jpeg
port nolloth fog_20221028_114430_588.jpg
Richtersveld glory_20221028_140730_562.jpg
rocks and a bike_20221028_114804_529.jpg
selfie silloutte_20221028_114520_525.jpg
T'Noutsiama or Cheiridopsis denticulata_20221028_144155_304.jpg
unknown vygie20221028_144126_140.jpg
Vygie_20221028_140823_471.jpg

Saturday 29/10, woke up and it was already hot... decided to take a ride up the eastern side of Vioolsdrif along the Orange... after a few kilos it became obvious that uninvited tourists were not very welcome, so I turned back and did 5 Mylpoort again and then returned to Growcery for a Boerie lunch and a lazy afternoon in the shade. Took some pics of the road that had become a daily commute.
Supper was once again a delicious spread, spit lamb and sides and many chats till around 10 pm... Tomorrow would be up early to get as much daylight as possible. My aim was to reach Loeriesfontein and camp for the night.
along the orange to Growcery_20221029_100159_276.jpg
clifside_20221029_100209_650.jpg
GrowceryLambSpit 2022-10-29 at 18.38.57.jpeg
looking east along the orange_20221029_100246_258.jpg
siesta_20221029_163948_155.jpg
too hot to ride_20221029_163832_624.jpg
toward Noordoewer Namibia_20221029_100253_411.jpg

Sunday 30/10 dawned and everyone was tearing down camp and packing for the trip home, for some it was a long day but I still had a few days to spare.
After packing it was back down the commute, right hand on the N7 and south to Springbok.
In Springbok it seemed that the whole Bash was there for breakfast and after final farewells it was southward as far as I could go as the weather forecasts were starting to look a tad ominous with rain expected on my route by Wednesday.
Decided to turn off to Kamieskroon and possible refuel when alas the place was closed for Sunday, my spare 5l petrol now came in handy as I would not have reached Gharies without it. Next stop would be Van Rhynsdorp where I turned up the R27 heading for Loeriesfontein, as I had made up some time not doing dirt I hoped to reach Calvinia before sunset.
Vanryhnspas was awesome, with the scenery changing from dry Karoo to the Highland Karoo where a lot of grain fields were along the road to Neuwodville, here I turned up toward the town of Loeriesfontein.
Loeriesfontein did not seem to be camper friendly so after visiting the Fred Turner Meuseum and it's collection of windmills, which had been a bucket list item for me I headed back to Calvina.
Arriving in Calvinia I headed for Klipwerf guest house and campsite. As sole guest I could pick my campsite and set up for the night, had a fun eating out of cans army style then had a wonderful shower and was in dreamland very soon... Tomorrow would be it's own adventure.
another P stop with a view 2022-10-30 at 08.38.25.jpeg
blunt tools are useless_20221030_194004_360.jpg
Boormasjien Loeriesfontein_20221030_154230_082.jpg
boormasjien side view_20221030_154144_198.jpg
Camp set up in Calvinia 2022-10-30 at 18.47.19.jpeg
circular markings-pokkeveld2022-10-30 at 12.49.10.jpeg
essential tool_20221030_191233_655.jpg
Fred Turner boormasjien_20221030_154113_335.jpg
Fred Turner loeriesfontein se putsonderwater_20221030_153757_849.jpg
Fred Turner Loeriesfontein windpompmeuseum 2022-10-30 at 15.48.55.jpeg
Fred Turner meuseum Loeriesfontein 2022-10-30 at 15.34.27.jpeg
Fred Turner more windmills20221030_153821_866.jpg
Fred Turner pump collection_20221030_153748_336.jpg
Fred Turner se ander put_20221030_153807_730.jpg
Fred Turner short ones too_20221030_153707_809.jpg
Fred Turner stopover_20221030_153550_011.jpg
Fred Turner this one worked 2022-10-30 at 15.47.44.jpeg
Fred Turner windmill collection_20221030_154039_915.jpg
Fred Turner windmills 2022-10-30 at 15.43.34.jpeg
Fred Turner windmills_20221030_153711_246.jpg
Gharies refuel 2022-10-30 at 12.10.04.jpeg
kamies kroon se kroon 2022-10-30 at 19.49.51.jpeg
kamieskroon top up_20221030_111835_929.jpg
Klipwerf Calvinia 2022-10-30 at 17.36.28.jpeg
kokerboom loeriesfontein_20221030_154936_944.jpg
lekker campsite 2022-10-30 at 17.48.34.jpeg
muscle memory_20221030_192944_389.jpg
packed ready to roll_20221030_074824_464.jpg
pokkeveld 2022-10-30 at 12.49.47.jpeg
pokkeveld circles 2022-10-30 at 12.49.19.jpeg
Springbok WD breakfast stop_20221030_093351_041.jpg
springbok wimpy WD blurry_20221030_093347_503.jpg
that was good_20221030_191008_269.jpg
the hitchiker kokerboom_20221030_084111_550.jpg
upington se manne_20221030_074830_479.jpg
Van Rhynspas 2_20221030_143147_803.jpg
Van Rhynspas ahead 2022-10-30 at 14.32.42.jpeg
Van Rhynspas sign 20221030_143931_484.jpg
WD at Wimpy Springbok 2022-10-30 at 09.39.58.jpeg

Monday 30/10 and the Church bell and birds chirping woke me up early, time to break camp, load up and go and see an old on line buddy before I head out on the dog leg route I had planned for the day, Williston, Fraserburg, Loxton and hopefully Carnavon. 373 kilometers for the day so the pace would be much slower than my dash from Growcery to Calvinia, was hoping to take more pictures along the way.
So after loading up I headed out to find Manny and Theresa's little clinic they run in Calvinia. Both have a long military and medic background and the visit was very interesting and I will be back with MD as time permits for a proper visit, after 2 cuops of coffee it was time for the selfies and goodbye before I topped up Shrek's tank for the first leg to Williston.
Getting to Williston I found a wonderful place to have brunch. Manna restaurant is the place to stop, they even have Karoo Lamb and other goodies should you wish to braai along the road.
Then it was a right turn and some dirt to Fraserburg, two stop and go's where the dirt road is being tarred, although typical Africa there will still be a dirt section as the project had not taken into account all the storm water drainage required. Fraserburg Co-op was where I bought another set of bungees as two were starting to fray... also topped up the tank and then it was onward to Loxton, with some trepidation as one local had said "Nee daai pad is te sanderig..." but I think the manager of the Co-op was correct, she and her hubby rode it of ten on his GS1250. Turned out the sand was a stretch of around 1.5 k. Fully loaded Shrek was able to get through with no serious wobbles... the rest was typical Karoo Dirt Highway.
Calvinia selfie_20221031_084932_465.jpg
eastward ho_20221031_153607_768.jpg
Fraserburg church2022-10-31 at 14.41.04.jpeg
Frserburg karoo highland routemarker 2022-10-31 at 14.40.41.jpeg
Hero or traitor Calvinia_20221031_113132_434.jpg
karoo highland mountains calvinia eastward_20221031_112416_870.jpg
karoo highland mountains calvinia_20221031_112401_548.jpg
Karoo Highway_20221031_153649_318.jpg
le menu de la cuisine du Seigneur_20221031_182754_815.jpg
Les maîtres au travail 2022-10-31 at 18.23.23.jpeg
Lord Carnavon  springbok pie_20221031_191416_379.jpg
Lord Carnavon bedroom furniture 2022-10-31 at 18.12.24.jpeg
Lord Carnavon Carnavon_20221031_183102_603.jpg
Lord Carnavon cat_20221031_192845_541.jpg
Lord Carnavon dressing table 2022-10-31 at 18.12.36.jpeg
Lord Carnavon kitchen furniture2022-10-31 at 18.13.17.jpeg
Lord Carnavon library full view 2022-10-31 at 18.21.19.jpeg
Lord Carnavon Library room 2022-10-31 at 18.04.11.jpeg
Lord Carnavon luxury 2022-10-31 at 18.12.06.jpeg
Lord Carnavon parking for Shrek 2022-10-31 at 18.03.44.jpeg
Lord Carnavon room 7 and 8 bathroom 2022-10-31 at 18.13.41.jpeg
Lord Carnavon room 7 and 8 kitchen 2022-10-31 at 18.13.00.jpeg
Lords kitchen al fresco 2022-10-31 at 18.24.19.jpeg
Lords kitchen Carnavon_20221031_183108_820.jpg
Lords kitchen Springbok Carpacio al fresco_20221031_183907_121.jpg
Lords kitchen springbok pie 2022-10-31 at 19.14.36.jpeg
Loxton carrot kake and coffee 2022-10-31 at 16.34.52.jpeg
Loxton church 2022-10-31 at 16.24.39.jpeg
Loxton church and Shrek 2022-10-31 at 16.28.04.jpeg
Loxton field of vygies_20221031_165730_968.jpg
Loxton Lekker coffeeshop2022-10-31 at 16.28.13.jpeg
Loxton town centre 2022-10-31 at 16.25.16.jpeg
Loxtons kelpie called Kelpie 2022-10-31 at 16.28.45.jpeg
Manna burger and coffee_20221031_125059_885.jpg
Manna caters for tourist tastes_20221031_131714_387.jpg
Manna in Williston_20221031_131812_156.jpg
Manny visit.jpg
Old school Loxton_20221031_165207_260.jpg
Oooo another selfie_20221031_084937_894.jpg
Shrek parked in luxury and safety_20221031_180041_348.jpg
shy no more Carnavon 2022-10-31 at 19.29.17.jpeg
shycat Carnavon_20221031_192852_717.jpg
Williston lamb to braai along the road._20221031_131707_793.jpg
Williston map at Manna_20221031_132026_834.jpg
Then the trees of Loxton appeared.
Another bucket list item to tick off as I rode into Loxton church square and found Loxton Lekker for an afternoon carrot cake and coffee. The place has a very special charm as it abounds with tree lined streets and is an oasis compared to the Karoo veld I had come through. Then the last stretch for the day was the last 60k to Carnavon...
Arriving in Carnavon I found the place Manny had mentioned during our conversations... the magnificent Lord Carnavon small hotel and the Lords Kitchen where fine dining would be done after unpacking what was needed. Shrek had comparative luxurious parking compared to what we had experienced so far.
The hotel is quite a historical place and worth the stay over, way better than camping!
Supper was a two course meal of Springbok Carpacio and then Springbok pie... then load shedding started at 8 pm... so an early night and hopefully early start for the final leg the next day. Plan was Vosburg, Britstown, Strydenburg then Orania via Kraankuil.

So the final day broke 01/11 and looking at the weather it seemed I may have to cancel my planned visit to @Dorsland, after packing I filled up once more and headed north east to Vosburg where I stopped to take pictures of the church and where the Co-op once again come to the rescue with 15w40 for an oil top up.
Then it was onward to Brtitstown where I found the Old Mill to have breakfast, in the company of two other GS riders on their way back from the Buff to Nelspruit. Fortified with breakfast but eyeing the weather I let Dors know that I would be heading home via tar from Orania to try and avoid the pending thunderstorms that had started brewing over the Karoo west of Orania.
After a pitstop for P&P I reached the Kraankuil turn off and headed to Orania, this road is part dirt from the N12 then tar form Kraankuil, reached Orania in time for a lunch break and the first thunderstorm, after lunch I headed out to pop in at another mate of mine Dr Louis Bothma aka Botties, ex 32 Battalion, historian and writer. As he had a D day to get some books to Hopetown it was a quick visit but another friend we will be seeing again for a proper kuier and braai.
Just after Luckhoff the clouds gathered again and some fierce lightning was ahead of my route... I decided to avoid this by taking a break under a shed roof on a farm on the way... after about 45 minutes the weather made a gap and I headed to Koffiefontein where I did another P&P to kill some more time as I was now basically stormchasing the one storm that was heading east.
Arriving at Petrusburg it had become very chilly so once again I stopped to put on a warm top for the final 82k to home.
Got in at around 7:45 pm after getting a bit damp on the last 20k but fortunately by then the lightning had abated.
And that was my RR for the WARR2022 Bash.
One last thought about my trip summed up thus in my adopted mother tongue...

VOOR DIE BOME VAL - Robert LeNoury

Jy word wakker een oggend, jy hoor iets wat soos byle op hout klink
Dit is die bome wat afgekap word in die woud
Die uurglas loop uit
Die emmerskop lys moet gedoen word
Voordat dit my beurt is.
Daai vriend wat jy nog net per e-pos ken
Daai een wat so mooi stories vertel
Daai een met die intresante Avatar
Daai een wat jy jare laas gesien het
Dit was tyd om die bome te sien voor hulle ook val
Daai plek in die verte wat jou so lank bekoor
Daai plek waar dinge nog werk
Daai plek wat jou uithouvermoe toets
Daai plek wat dinge uit die verlede laat herrys
Dit is plekke waar jou siel vrede vind.
Doen wat jy moet voor die bome in die woud val...

So I am blessed to have taken this trip, met so many people and experienced so much in the short space of a week, once again @JustBendIt and @Kamanya and everyone else involved I thank you for a wonderful opportunity to attend what to me was a Bash of note!

Britstown  The Old Mill Coffeeshop_20221101_105733_289.jpg
Britstown Good company at  The Old Mill coffee shop 2022-11-01 at 10.31.01.jpeg
Britstown The Old Mill coffee shop garden_20221101_105655_886.jpg
Die Oewer a river runs through_20221101_133754_412.jpg
Die Oewers One Eyed Jack_20221101_133821_689.jpg
One Eyed Jack and the finches_20221101_132502_168.jpg
stormshelter 2022-11-01 at 16.03.05.jpeg
Visit to Botties Orania.jpg
Vosburg church A2022-11-01 at 09.40.48.jpeg
Vosburg CoOp top up oil_20221101_093049_590.jpg
Vosburg curchB_20221101_094014_214.jpg
waiting for the storm to abate_20221101_162435_975.jpg

and I will be back with MD as time permits for a proper visit,

Die MD waarvan jy so gereeld skrywe is sy jou managing director?!! ;)
:p
Lekker RR Rob kon sien dit het jou goed gedoen.(y)

and I will be back with MD as time permits for a proper visit,

Die MD waarvan jy so gereeld skrywe is sy jou managing director?!! ;)
:p
Lekker RR Rob kon sien dit het jou goed gedoen.(y)
Umm ja nou dat jy dit so stell... ek is haar butler...:cool:

Rob, ek is baie beindruk met hoe jy jou KLR ingerig het. Is daar iets wat jy anders sal doen na jou toer ?
Goeie verslag; ek het lekker saam gery 👍 🙂