National Bash ride Report

I can’t exactly remember how it came to be that ChrisL and I made arrangements to meet in Laingburg.  Must have been fate… ::)

All I do remember is getting updates, every so often on where we were going to have breakfast, camping he booked etc.  I must admit I was looking forward to traveling with him as he is known for his knowledge about places and some history behind them.  After having read some of the ride reports he had posted, I was sure it was going to be a nice and scenic trip at a leisurely pace through the unknown.  Also I was sure that I would not get lost along the way.
He mentioned that had gotten a small group together, and that we would all be meeting at the Wimpy in Laingsburg on Thursday before the BASH.  Laingsburg was 500km south from me, despite this it would give me the opportunity to see a part of the country I have not seen before – Sutherland etc. :thumleft:

As with most of us, time / work / family  is always a issue, and I decided to leave late Wednesday afternoon and overnight in Beaufort West.

13102011357.jpg

13102011359.jpg

I could then leave early Thursday morning to be in Laingsburg on time.  Due to the HEAVY road works on the N1 I was afraid I might be late – this was the most boring part of the trip, but I was sure the leisurely ride through to Calvinia would make up for it.  After all ChrisL always posts the most beautiful pictures of flowers and animal life. :mwink:

I was the first to get to Laingsburg and it did not take long before the others started arriving.  The group was myself, Fenderbender, Mapsource, Louwtjie, Frannarossi, ChrisL & Bermrooster all guys I have never met before.  We had a quick bite to eat and as we were getting ready to leave Bermrooster saw his brand new tyre had collapsed – that after having fitted it just the day before.  (In retrospect this should have been my first clue – but we will get to that a bit later :mwink:)

13102011365.jpg

13102011366.jpg

The road out of Laingsburg was in good condition and the water as Chris mentioned had subsided quite a bit.  It did make for some interesting riding though.  The scenery was great.  The moordenaars karoo.

When they eventually stopped I noticed Fenderbender had already finished his cigarette  :eek7:– that was how far behind I was.  Seems like HP2’s only travel at warp speed…  (Chris’s comment rang through – he is now much more “rustig” after his off” - I was almost glad I only now got to meet him… :pot:)

13102011367.jpg

After realizing that Chris and the guys were not as much set on a scenic photo shoot as I was, I had to stop and quickly take a few photos every now and then.  They have traveled this road before and must have already taken some pictures…

Steadily it struck me FrannaROSSI, 2 HP2’s, Chris with the new 1200, and Bermrooster that fried a tyre just from home (that does not happen at slow speed)  – this was going to be a speed trip and I was going to have to keep up, not as easy if you usually ride alone.

13102011369.jpg

13102011370.jpg

13102011371.jpg

13102011373.jpg

13102011374.jpg

13102011376.jpg

It  was here that I noticed my rim had a bend in it, and that despite having done the progressives on the 800, the rim had now gone the way most other 800 rims had - &$#@*^.  I was not happy with this, Bermrooster said it was nothing to be worried about, and I took him on his word.  Although walking away one of the others commented he would ride it even if the tube showed…  :pot:

We got to Sutherland and filled up ready to head towards Calvinia, as we were about ready to go a Gov health vehicle came riding in with the most terrible sound, the bakkie had a flat.  The girl got out and started walking towards the store – with pure intentions Mapsource and Louwtjie pointed out the tyre was flat and immediately the girl was on the phone to get the HIGH command to rescue her.  Still with the most noble of intentions Mapsource and Louwtjie show WD chivalry and offered to change the tyre….  I wonder if the top had anything to do with it… :pot:

Frannarossi also discovered that Sutherland stocked his favorite cigar at less than half price and promptly bought what he could carry…

13102011377.jpg

13102011378.jpg

We left a happy lady and off we went to Middelpos, this was the first time I had traveled this way.

13102011380.jpg

13102011382.jpg

For someone that doesn’t drink I sure look happy to be here in one piece, especially after Bermie went sideways through the driffie and managed to warn us before we had the same experience as Jupiter. :ricky:

https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=81038.160
https://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/832/1001423dn.jpg/

Chris took us to a spot he mentioned something about die preekstoel

13102011384.jpg

13102011386.jpg

Onwards to Calvinia

13102011383.jpg

As we drove in we met Tankwa, we that ride at the back needed to get our visors cleaned…

13102011389.jpg

13102011391.jpg

Note the BA Barakkus helmet hair O0

13102011393.jpg

We had a nice braai and the guys enjoyed the refreshments.  It was the first time someone actually snored me awake – still do not know who it was.  We were off the following morning to Loeriesfontein for a nice breakfast Chris had arranged.  It was well worth it, thanks again Chris. :thumleft:

14102011402.jpg

From there we headed towards Garies  (Chris help bietjie met die name)

14102011404.jpg

Just before Garies I met up with some local wildlife – not very friendly though - all I got was “Het jy nie ‘n f@kken haas gesien verbygaan nie” I left him and headed to meet the others at the N7.

14102011405.jpg

14102011406.jpg

Garies was a nice clean place but I think it gets VERY hot up against those mountains.

14102011408.jpg

We filled up and head south back towards CT to get a turnoff to what Chris later explained was close to where (EDIT) Dolfie and he camped along the river after they were at Mof's party.
In Leliefontein the guys enjoyed some cold ones – on the other side of the road.  :deal:

The guys – Frannarossi
14102011415.jpg

Louwtjie
14102011414.jpg

ChrisL
14102011416.jpg

Fenderbender, Mapsource, Bermrooster
14102011417.jpg

We headed back to the N7 and did the last bit on tar, in Springbok we had a quick lunch (at 16H00).

14102011420.jpg

We arrived at Bushwacked at 17H30 give or take.  The camera was put away as what happens the first night stays at Bushwacked.  But I can tell you this – this bitch did not only sleep in Chris’s tent.

15102011421.jpg

Some terrain photos:

15102011424.jpg

15102011423.jpg

15102011422.jpg

After having had some “debatable” pork that travelled with the previous night I nearly wet myself  when Louwtjie started telling his story of having to duck to get out of the tent but realizing he could not afford to duck to get out of the tent.  Ducking would put him in a vulnerable position…    and the ablutions were still far off.  Louwtjie a guy that offers coffee to everyone and then there is nothing left for himself – Great guy with a unique way of words.

15102011426.jpg

15102011428.jpg

15102011436.jpg

Journey man – note the sandals…..  Hence the name?

15102011438.jpg

Apparently not…  BUT some sure tried to make up for his mistake.

15102011440.jpg

15102011451.jpg

Just after I took this photo I learned the meaning of life and death of ants  –  Thanks Roelof  the ants will now go down like flies so to speak – that piece of advice was worth the entire trip alone……

That said the bugs were not as bad as thought and I did not even use the liter of bug spray I took with to defend my life.

16102011461.jpg

I rode back to Springbok and had breakfast with the guys there, then we split up and I took the Upington road home with the idea of staying over at ETS.  When I got to Prieska I decided to shoot for home rather and surprise the kids. 
The dark caught me and I did the last 30min in the dark.  Got home at 19H00 – 1138km later (sorry Roelof I was wrong, not 1400km)

Thanks to the organizers – the venue, food and planning was spot on.

Thanks to a great bunch of guys that waited for me and made me feel welcome, and for Chris for making all the arrangements.  A wise man once said “Respect is earned and not given” – well you have earned mine. :thumleft:

Was great to have you with us Nimmo.
One correction though.
I mentioned in Doringkraal that it is where Dolfie and I camped along the river after we were at Mof's party.
Mof's farm is actually 40kms from Middelpos.
Im sorry if we were rideing a wee bit too fast. Everything takes longer in big groups so one has to step up the pace.
Next time I will pair you with BermBooster!!! :imaposer: :peepwall: :deal:

Lekker man Nimmo!Jyt 'n paar nice pics daar.Ek en Chris kan nie wag vir daai video nie :mwink:

Thanks Nimmo lekker gelees en...

right click save..... dam een foto van my en my vrou normaaaaal  :mwink:

Dnkie Nimmo vir die foto's, was nice om jou te ontmoet en saam te ry!
(ns. Hoop jy tem jou miere!!)

Louwtjie

dit was 'n ..bef@kte venue,goed georganiseer,lekker mense,lekker gekuier

dankie aan die pelle wat saam gery het, Kokkie,Koplamp en Tankwa :thumleft:

Louwtjie said:
Dnkie Nimmo vir die foto's, was nice om jou te ontmoet en saam te ry!
(ns. Hoop jy tem jou miere!!)

Louwtjie

Het vandag bestel - FYI - R2000/L.  :eek7:
Ek glo steeds dit gaan die moeite werd wees. :drif:

chrisL said:
Was great to have you with us Nimmo.
One correction though.
I mentioned in Doringkraal that it is where Dolfie and I camped along the river after we were at Mof's party.
Mof's farm is actually 40kms from Middelpos.
Im sorry if we were rideing a wee bit too fast. Everything takes longer in big groups so one has to step up the pace.
Next time I will pair you with BermBooster!!! :imaposer: :peepwall: :deal:

I enjoyed it - and learned some as well. 
Hey I still managed to stay together and FB had a chance to take a smoke  :mwink:

Whoa a lot of FUN good routes and lekka riding .. :thumleft:- definitely missed out on this one... :(

tau said:
Misty said:
Day 5 – Vioolsdrift, Fish River Canyon, Ariamsvlei, Upington

Ice cream was the best idea!

035.jpg

035a.jpg

035b.jpg

035c.jpg

Misty the Spar in Karasburg is my Mother inlaws, hope you had good service. The paintings on the toilet entrance is my late father inlaws humour.

We had great service there on the way to the bash. Bought some meat and beers there for a braai and they suggested we stay over at a place 40km's from there called Vastrap.

WOW  dis mos n bash, pity I missed it, should fire up DR BIG this weekend ready for Noord Wes, shit Cocky, Swifty , Carrots did you forget to stop when you got to the Orange river , great pics I bet even a better jol by the way did you drink a beer ;D

DR BIG 750 said:
WOW  dis mos n bash, pity I missed it, should fire up DR BIG this weekend ready for Noord Wes, shit Cocky, Swifty , Carrots did you forget to stop when you got to the Orange river , great pics I bet even a better jol by the way did you drink a beer ;D
Several.................and lots of burns as well
:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

My 1st bash and definitely not my last, great to put faces to forum names. My son found a s/s hop flask at on the counter at the spot where we shared a site with Weskus and the boys. Let me know who it belongs to and I'll send it on.

This pic is off Stoetbul when he and Weskus sprayed themselves with doom to ward off the flies, before the Doc told them of the dangers of spraying poison all over your body. Stoetbul covered his nipple with doom  :biggrin:

• IMG_0352 (2).jpg
    IMG_0352 (2).jpg
    292.9 KB
He was born Doomed....

Lekker to eventually meet you Pete.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay with the youngster before you go back to the land of short shits who eat even funnier shit. :thumleft:

A coleague of mine's Ex husband got home "wobbly" late one night/ early one morning from playing hockey, decided bacon and eggs would be good, spray and cook fry up of bacon eggs etc etc , she got up for work, found him on the living room floor on all fours green and hurling, he had picked up the "Doom" not the Spray and Cook".  ::)

Ball and Chain said:
Who's the arsehole that removed my avatar stickers from my bike? :patch:

Eish, that's lame.  :mad:

But do you think that person is going to confess here  :patch: