Quarry ride that turned into a Whoops ride

Rynet

WD Vendor
Our plan , hatched at Firemans on friday was to do a gentle paddle into the Quarry and then to do a few gently up and down hills but a something happened to turn our plans ( and our bikes ) upside down and that was Rough Rider on his mad Italian Stallion Husky  >:D >:D

So we were a large group , only 7 ,but with large bikes :

Superten on his SuperTen 750
Monkey Boy on almost the smallers bike of the day a GS800  :biggrin:
Dirty Harry on his GS1150 Pig
Me on my Gs1200 Tractor
and last the man himself on his Husky , Rough Rider

China Pete on his HP 2 and his son ( KTM 690 ) also joined but couldn't stay long.

We met in front of Zone 7 and took a gentle sandy ride to the entrance past the shacks and lo and behold a sand dune had grown there . We had some fun and hardship crossin that but managed with a lil help from our friends , thanks guys :biggrin:

• Quarry March 2012 002 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 002 [640x480].JPG
    124.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 001 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 001 [640x480].JPG
    114.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 010 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 010 [640x480].JPG
    76.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 009 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 009 [640x480].JPG
    95.6 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 008 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 008 [640x480].JPG
    90 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 007 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 007 [640x480].JPG
    97.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 006 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 006 [640x480].JPG
    76.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 005 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 005 [640x480].JPG
    101.3 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 004 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 004 [640x480].JPG
    93.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 003 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 003 [640x480].JPG
    110.3 KB
We met at 1pm and it was hot as hell . 

• Quarry March 2012 011 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 011 [640x480].JPG
    112.6 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 013 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 013 [640x480].JPG
    113.2 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 014 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 014 [640x480].JPG
    96.3 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 015 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 015 [640x480].JPG
    86 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 016 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 016 [640x480].JPG
    77.3 KB
I had a lil oopsie when I tried to cross a gap , thanks guys for helping me up

• Quarry March 2012 022 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 022 [640x480].JPG
    102.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 027 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 027 [640x480].JPG
    109.3 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 026 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 026 [640x480].JPG
    107.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 025 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 025 [640x480].JPG
    106.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 023 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 023 [640x480].JPG
    113.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 021 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 021 [640x480].JPG
    89.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 020 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 020 [640x480].JPG
    71.3 KB
the Quarry was huge fun I (sorry if I said that already )  :ricky: :ricky:

• Quarry March 2012 036 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 036 [640x480].JPG
    86 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 039 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 039 [640x480].JPG
    57.6 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 038 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 038 [640x480].JPG
    56 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 037 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 037 [640x480].JPG
    77.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 035 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 035 [640x480].JPG
    76.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 034 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 034 [640x480].JPG
    98.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 033 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 033 [640x480].JPG
    96.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 032 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 032 [640x480].JPG
    74.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 031 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 031 [640x480].JPG
    66 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 030 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 030 [640x480].JPG
    79.2 KB
More quarry shots  :ricky:

• Quarry March 2012 051 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 051 [640x480].JPG
    69.9 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 050 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 050 [640x480].JPG
    73.3 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 047 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 047 [640x480].JPG
    107.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 046 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 046 [640x480].JPG
    69.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 045 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 045 [640x480].JPG
    67.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 043 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 043 [640x480].JPG
    92.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 042 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 042 [640x480].JPG
    87.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 041 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 041 [640x480].JPG
    89.2 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 040 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 040 [640x480].JPG
    80.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 044 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 044 [640x480].JPG
    90.4 KB
More Quarry pics  :ricky:

• Quarry March 2012 059 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 059 [640x480].JPG
    53.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 062 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 062 [640x480].JPG
    83.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 053 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 053 [640x480].JPG
    67.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 051 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 051 [640x480].JPG
    69.9 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 028 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 028 [640x480].JPG
    98.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 058 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 058 [640x480].JPG
    53.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 056 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 056 [640x480].JPG
    68.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 055 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 055 [640x480].JPG
    68.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 054 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 054 [640x480].JPG
    57.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 052 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 052 [640x480].JPG
    54.3 KB
So as we were all pretty pooped Rough Rider said to me hey I will show you a lil loop . Of course I assume he knows how knackered we are , he knows that we ride these huge bikes and that we all want to go to the nearest beer shop and catch our breaths so I assume the lil loop is say 500 meters long . Well we entered a almost tunnel with foilage right around us and almost above us ......and the lil loop turned out to be almost 10 km ( or more ? ) of soft , deep , rutted sand and including some whoops.  :imaposer: :imaposer:

Man we struggled , Dirty Harry did quite well and of course Rough Rider just glided over the sand.

I cannot wait to go again to I can ride more of the Whoops as paddling through them does not work , one has to just open up and ride . But all in all I think we did pretty good . :biggrin: :biggrin: Thanks RR  :3some:

Nice one Rynet.  I however dont like the pic of the tractor on it's side... it upset my stomach!

I got none of inside the green tunnels with evil sand at the bottom but at one stage Rough Rider says hey guys OOps I forgot that there is this really hard section of whoops probably the most difficult in the whole area  :-\ But SuperTen and I bravely said we would go for it  :imaposer:  :imaposer: well it was really tough really really really tough but we enjoyed it  :biggrin:

• Quarry March 2012 069 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 069 [640x480].JPG
    121.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 071 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 071 [640x480].JPG
    122.3 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 070 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 070 [640x480].JPG
    125.2 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 068 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 068 [640x480].JPG
    122.2 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 067 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 067 [640x480].JPG
    140 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 065 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 065 [640x480].JPG
    150 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 063 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 063 [640x480].JPG
    75.9 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 061 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 061 [640x480].JPG
    87 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 060 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 060 [640x480].JPG
    76 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 066 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 066 [640x480].JPG
    139.4 KB
:imaposer: :imaposer:
Thanks Rough Rider and Dirty Harry for picking me up more times than I can count.  :ricky: But mind you I only fell over when I paddled that whoops section  , not once when I was riding the sand , shows you it helps to open up . :deal: :biggrin:

We did however get stuck a lot , well almost every time we stopped , but we even got better at pulling away.  :ricky:

• Quarry March 2012 080 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 080 [640x480].JPG
    120.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 087 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 087 [640x480].JPG
    71.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 081 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 081 [640x480].JPG
    128 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 079 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 079 [640x480].JPG
    105.4 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 077 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 077 [640x480].JPG
    119.2 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 076 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 076 [640x480].JPG
    103.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 075 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 075 [640x480].JPG
    109.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 074 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 074 [640x480].JPG
    113.5 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 073 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 073 [640x480].JPG
    104.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 072 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 072 [640x480].JPG
    114.1 KB
Nearly done  :ricky:

SuperTen was so glad when we got to a short bit of gravel that he sommer fell over . :ricky:

Then we rode through some really thick sand and eventually arrived in Parklands . :thumleft: SuperTen promtly fell down and kissed the tar  :imaposer: :imaposer:

• Quarry March 2012 088 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 088 [640x480].JPG
    113 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 089 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 089 [640x480].JPG
    110.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 090 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 090 [640x480].JPG
    73.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 092 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 092 [640x480].JPG
    78.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 093 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 093 [640x480].JPG
    105.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 095 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 095 [640x480].JPG
    81.8 KB
Finished the ride off with a beer at Doodles  , thanks guys that was a lot of fun  :ricky: :ricky:, can't wait to go again .  :thumleft: :thumleft:

• Quarry March 2012 098 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 098 [640x480].JPG
    80.7 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 099 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 099 [640x480].JPG
    64.1 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 100 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 100 [640x480].JPG
    61.8 KB
  • Quarry March 2012 101 [640x480].JPG
    Quarry March 2012 101 [640x480].JPG
    52 KB

Lyk na vet pret en harde werk in daai sand!

Wow you took lots of pics, there must have been lots of breaks :biggrin:

I used to ride that stuff with my 950, don't do that no more!!!

The photos don't show the depth of the whoops, when you ride them it feels like they are 1m deep, its hard work even on a plastic and the sand is bone dry and soft!!

Well done! :thumleft: :thumleft:

I&horse said:
Wow you took lots of pics, there must have been lots of breaks :biggrin:

I used to ride that stuff with my 950, don't do that no more!!!

The photos don't show the depth of the whoops, when you ride them it feels like they are 1m deep, its hard work even on a plastic and the sand is bone dry and soft!!

Well done! :thumleft: :thumleft:

Thanks I & Horse , and Haha yes I took lots of quicky breaks , and also when one of us fell, I took a quicky foto  :biggrin:

Yes it was one tough ride for those of us on big bikes , but it was exhilirating and one feels quite a sense of satisfaction for managing to get most of it right  :thumleft: and to see how much better one is than just a few months ago . And the guys were fantastic ,we all helped each other . We all thouroughly enjoyed ourselves actually  :ricky:

Rynette, thanks for the effort of posting the ride report and all the photographs. All I can say you guys all did an excellent job, I would not have even attempted it on the bikes you guys ride.

Some of those whooped out sections are quite tough, and when we got to the one leading to old MX track I felt quite guilty, and as you pointed out, I tried to turn you all around but you were having none of it.

I did manage to get a bit of video footage and when I get some time I will download a couple of minutes of it.

Rough Rider said:
Rynette, thanks for the effort of posting the ride report and all the photographs. All I can say you guys all did an excellent job, I would not have even attempted it on the bikes you guys ride.

Some of those whooped out sections are quite tough, and when we got to the one leading to old MX track I felt quite guilty, and as you pointed out, I tried to turn you all around but you were having none of it.

I did manage to get a bit of video footage and when I get some time I will download a couple of minutes of it.

:imaposer: :imaposer:
Yes you did warn us RR , but we didn't listen  :biggrin: :biggrin:, but it was such a great experience, thank you, and thank you for your patience with us . :thumleft: :thumleft:

You're nuts to do that section!  Well done.  Nice lot of pics.  Lekker report.

I would urge everyone to avoid entry past the shacks.  They've been known to come at riders with shovels.  At least you guys were on the other side of the Eskom servitude, against the brick factory fence.