The Chronicles of the 2010 EC Bash

N[]vA said:
needless to say I'd like to see him banned from both the forum and events, he is not a wilddog  :deal:

Kak man. It's just a bit of harmless fun. When someone gets gatvol, they can shout or bliksem him. I'm sad I missed the bash. If he didn't do it, someone else would have. Probably me  >:D What's a bike get together without a burnout at 2am or a rooster through the tents?  :mwink:

KTMjedi said:
Yip Thanks guys great to meet everyone....hope I didn't bore you to much about tyres  ::).

Dude - was great meeting a real life Jedi... Now if only the force can get the tyres to AlanLewis where the woookies can buy them...

SlowPoke said:
KTMjedi said:
Yip Thanks guys great to meet everyone....hope I didn't bore you to much about tyres  ::).

Dude - was great meeting a real life Jedi... Now if only the force can get the tyres to AlanLewis where the woookies can buy them...
Alan has Stock as of yesterday am  ;D.

Captain Slow said:
Some people here should book their places in the old age home it seems. ::)

Maybe some people should realize that it is a 4 star lodge that has made an exception and extended the privilege of letting the dogs camp on their pristine lawn and that by tearing up the place in the middle of the night while revving the tits off your bike isn't really what was deemed appropriate at the time.

J-dog said:
N[]vA said:
needless to say I'd like to see him banned from both the forum and events, he is not a wilddog  :deal:

Kak man. It's just a bit of harmless fun. When someone gets gatvol, they can shout or bliksem him. I'm sad I missed the bash. If he didn't do it, someone else would have. Probably me  >:D What's a bike get together without a burnout at 2am or a rooster through the tents?  :mwink:

I won't go as far as saying ban the guy, but it is a kinda 8 year old mentality to say that nothing has happened so it was harmless...

It is different to hear a bike being revved 2 meters outside of your tent with the front light pointing straight at you, realizing that the only thing that keeps the guy from parking on top of you is his alcohol deteriorated ability to hold onto the clutch and you hope to God that he doesn't get a nose itch that he feels he need to scratch with that clutch hand...

Apart from that there was the consideration issue with the group making a fire in a wheel barrow right next to their neighbours tents with sparks and smoke going onto/into the tents.

It doesn't take a genius to know that that wasn't the most considerate thing out there.

And lastly - there is a wilddog bash and then there are rallies.
Know the difference.

Do not confuse the two.

Having said all of that - I want to dwell on the positive side of things - Watty sure knows how to organise.

The venue and area was spectacular, the new friends I have made was really cool, I really enjoyed the game drive outride and the whole experience was just incredible - this was my 1st EC bash, but not the last.

;D ;D

Thanks again, Watty!

J-dog said:
.... What's a bike get together without a burnout at 2am or a rooster through the tents?  :mwink:

Allow me to quote a section of the very 1st post of the planning thread.  This was done in bold and very clear!

It is a request from the owner that persons attending the Bash must please respect the relevant rules regarding travelling within the game reserve and to endeavour not harm the environment in any way.

This was a non-negotiable condition that I undertook to uphold as organiser to get access to the venue and its facilities, and when someone do not abide by the rules, the owner looks at me for answers.  The image that we as Wild Dogs are not only mature and responsible dual-sport motorcycles, but also do not concur with activities as seen at events like the Buffalo Rally, was one of the major factors that enable us to stage the bash at Nduna Lodge.

Thus, I cannot agree with the view that all was just "harmless fun".  

All said, it is in the past now and notwithstanding the annoyance of inconsiderate individuals, the Bash was a success.  
So, lets remember the good times and start planning for the 2011 one!  :thumleft:

[qoute]

Maybe some people should realize that it is a 4 star lodge that has made an exception and extended the privilege of letting the dogs camp on their pristine lawn and that by tearing up the place in the middle of the night while revving the tits off your bike isn't really what was deemed appropriate at the time.

I won't go as far as saying ban the guy, but it is a kinda 8 year old mentality to say that nothing has happened so it was harmless...

It is different to hear a bike being revved 2 meters outside of your tent with the front light pointing straight at you, realizing that the only thing that keeps the guy from parking on top of you is his alcohol deteriorated ability to hold onto the clutch and you hope to God that he doesn't get a nose itch that he feels he need to scratch with that clutch hand...

Apart from that there was the consideration issue with the group making a fire in a wheel barrow right next to their neighbours tents with sparks and smoke going onto/into the tents.

It doesn't take a genius to know that that wasn't the most considerate thing out there.

And lastly - there is a wilddog bash and then there are rallies.
Know the difference.

Do not confuse the two.

+10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

I can only agree with Eishbeen here and well said.

It was clear that this (like all WD bashes) was not a rally and while most of us got revved up in the 'spirit' of the event this particular inapproriate action was just CLEARLY D**S THING TO DO and I can only presume committed by same! It has always baffled (excuse the pun) me why some a-holes at rallies must rev their bikes to the limiter and until the bike objects and eventually fooks out??!!!  ???  In my mind this is the same mentality that we witnessed on Saturday night and is in fact the same abusive mentality that potentially takes that frustration and weak ego home and commits domestic abuse on wife and kids! Disturbance of the peace aside why subject your beloved bike to this type of vandalism? The other thing I have noted at rallies is that it is also most often the guys who can least afford to pop engines and burnout tyres that indulge in these practices?  ??? - while I like a 'live and let live' approach when it affects other negatively as in this case the tolerance levels subside!  :laughing4:

Thanks Watty for organising the Bash  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

It was a great event , the venue was perfect and that game farm ride a definate high light  ;)

Was also good to meet all the EC Dogs, just a pity that I didn't get to chat with everyone, but I will be back.  :biggrin:

J-dog said:
Maybe I have just gotten to used to the level headed and considerate bunch I ride with in the Western Cape but to come across such stupidity and inconsiderate shite and a WD event was almost a shock.

Way I see it there are events that cater to that sort, goto them rather

N[]vA said:
J-dog said:
Maybe I have just gotten to used to the level headed and considerate bunch I ride with in the Western Cape but to come across such stupidity and inconsiderate shite and a WD event was almost a shock.

Agreed - horses for courses. I didn't mean to collapse this thread. Would have loved to have been there - glad you had a jol.

Signed respectfully
weak ego'd domestic abuser  :pot:

Agreed, BigDom. Totally. The worst bit really was that in the quiet times you could hear the night jars calling, the jackals baying close by and some other night sounds that were pure music. After the revving incident all the night sounds disapeared and were replaced by human calls to f#ck off and shut up etc. It was all so unneccessary, so uncalled for. I vote +1 for a ban on whatshisface at bashes.

On a happier note, let me share some of my ride pics. Feeling a little wobbly I opted out of the mud ride and feeling a little silly about it I joined up with Mr.T, NemoDakar and some others on a outride to the Woody cape area, breakfast at the Red Apple (wow, who would have thought?) and some general easy riding.
My steed
WilddogBashJune20101.jpg

WilddogBashJune20106.jpg

Some fellow companions passing by
WilddogBashJune201010.jpg

WilddogBashJune201011.jpg

WilddogBashJune20107.jpg

WilddogBashJune20108.jpg

WilddogBashJune20109.jpg

WilddogBashJune20105.jpg

Bushmans river mouth
WilddogBashJune201012.jpg

WilddogBashJune201013.jpg

Packing up is always the worst part of a bash
WilddogBashJune201014.jpg

WilddogBashJune201015.jpg

Positives: It was great meeting some new people and meeting some old friends again. Loved the company of the George blokes again. Great venue, great organising, great stuff!
Regrets: Wanted to speak with MetalJockey on how he prepares for a long trip and get some sage advice - never made it. Was as sick as a dog, preventing me from being a little more adventerous - next time I'll avoid sick people for weeks before a bash.
Negatives: yeah well, mostly the late night bike revving on a game farm... nuff said already though.

Thanks to all the dogs that made this one of those nice memories that will keep for a long time still.

J-dog said:
N[]vA said:
J-dog said:

Agreed - horses for courses. I didn't mean to collapse this thread. Would have loved to have been there - glad you had a jol.
;)  :thumleft:

Looked like a great event.

Wth regards to the party crasher. Why didnt some one just go and talk to the guy. ie His friends or the organisers. Better yet just take the keys out of his bike and walk away.
Give them back to him in the morning, problem solved.

Go Big said:

Wth regards to the party crasher. Why didnt some one just go and talk to the guy. ie His friends or the organisers. Better yet just take the keys out of his bike and walk away.

tried to.... ran out of my tent in the middle of a the night stripping my moer  :dousing:, got to the middle of the camp site shouting for him to show himself.... all dark and no one saying anything, was about that point I realized two things at once 1) it was farking cold 2) I was but naked aside from a vest (which I guess could explain the lack of response  :p :p

Go Big said:

I did albeit naked and from a distance with a few choice words  ;D. However it is a pitty this is more of a discussional point than the rest of the weekend. It pissed me off at the time but by the morning it was done and dusted and forgotten about...I just like to think that people sometime have that sudden rush of shit to the brain but are other wise good blokes.

KTMjedi said:
Go Big said:

I did albeit naked and from a distance with a few choice words  ;D. However it is a pitty this is more of a discussional point than the rest of the weekend. It pissed me off at the time but by the morning it was done and dusted and forgotten about...I just like to think that people sometime have that sudden rush of shit to the brain but are other wise good blokes.

yeah the burn-out kings are all dooses

J-dog said:
KTMjedi said:
Go Big said:

I did albeit naked and from a distance with a few choice words  ;D. However it is a pitty this is more of a discussional point than the rest of the weekend. It pissed me off at the time but by the morning it was done and dusted and forgotten about...I just like to think that people sometime have that sudden rush of shit to the brain but are other wise good blokes.

yeah the burn-out kings are all dooses
Again time and place..... in an area where its ok and not an issue and not while every one other than maybe 5% of the ppl are sleeping, sure why not

Watty said:
Jman said:
Looks like everyone behaved... ???

Unfortunately not! We did had two individuals that made things a bit unpleasant in going on an unauthorised ride with a loud plastic and spooking the game, and not knowing when not to rev a motorbike at high revs and when to stop.   :'(

It is always a pity that the inconsideration and disrespect of other's feeling and the environment must be present at an otherwise perfect event.
Sometimes these people forget that these are the type of actions that lead to a group such as we where last weekend not being allowed a second or return visit.It takes a minor irritation to bring out the "YIP bad mistake to have had the Bikers around"cross that one off our never to do list again.

On the positive Watty it was great.