THE UNPLANNED PLANNED NC TRIP - 62 + 1

DAY 3 Orania to Kakamas

The normal routine took place.  The morning started of with a minus 2. 

A quick refuel at the local petrol station and me inflating the flat front, we were on the road.

The route was from Orania to Hopetown (tar), then gravel to just before Prieska.  Another bit of tar to Marydale, then gravel to Put sonder Water, Kenhardt and our destination, Kakamas. 

The gravel from Hopetown started with rutted vehicle tracks but in no time changed to a gravel highway.  We were sending it until we got attached, on two occasions, by a swarm of locusts.  That was quite an experience.  When we eventually stopped you could smell them, burnt on the engine and exhaust. 

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    195.1 KB
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    191 KB
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    203.3 KB
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    126.7 KB
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    166.9 KB
We arrived in Prieska. 

As we entered, we were stopped by a local guy in a bakkie.  He informed us that we cannot enter the town as there is riots on the go, they are burning tires and al sorts.  He however said that he would show us a road out of town to get onto the main road to Marydale, he was just not sure if they are also blocking that road.  In the meantime, a lady also stopped there and told us more and less the same story.

I was low on fuel, but decided to proceed to Marydale, if I run out of fuel, the other guys will have to help me out.  So, I asked the guy to show us the way out to the N10.  We followed him to the N10 and we passed him on our way to Marydale.  I however saw a cloud of smoke in the distance.  At 1st I thought it was the smoke from the crowd blocking the entrance into Prieska.  As we got closer, I saw it was their blockade on the N10 itself.  We road towards them, hoping they would let us through, I mean we had nothing to do with their strike or business.  They might be lenient towards us. 

As we stopped, I was already looking for a gap in the blockade, but could see nothing, maybe a bike could get through, but the karretjie was a no go.  At 1st they were not too aggressive and later asked R100 per bike and they will let us through.  I agreed on a R100 but said they must let us through, I will give them the money on the other side.  They were not happy with that arrangement and then they became aggressive.  I could see their mood changed and saw this is not going to end well.  I said they must give me space so that I can turn around to get the money.  I did not want to take my wallet out in front of them.  I turned around and, while turning around, I took my wallet out from the tank bag, gave it to my wife and told her to get R100 out and to sit on the wallet.  With the R100 in my hand I completed the turn, idled towards them with the R100 in my hand.  They guy, which seemed to be the main chap, ran towards me, and grabbed the R100.  He then shouted to the others to open the blockade.  With some of the debris removed I took the gap and saw in my mirror the rest of the group followed.  We were through with only paying R100. 
Highly da moer in but happy all went relatively well, we stopped at the 1st rest stop and had a nice worsbraai.

• 12.jpg
    12.jpg
    124.5 KB
  • 13.jpg
    13.jpg
    132.7 KB
  • 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    124.2 KB
  • 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    155.6 KB
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    166.8 KB
  • 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    149.9 KB
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    113.2 KB
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    177.7 KB
More of this sheet.  :eek7:

Video also attached

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YRFAu4Q45k

• 14.jpg
    14.jpg
    133.6 KB
  • 15.jpg
    15.jpg
    148.4 KB
  • 16.jpg
    16.jpg
    156.2 KB
  • 17.jpg
    17.jpg
    140.1 KB
  • 18.jpg
    18.jpg
    155.4 KB
  • 19.jpg
    19.jpg
    199.4 KB
Some action phodies of the worsbraai.  :lol8:

• 21.jpg
    21.jpg
    121.6 KB
  • 25.jpg
    25.jpg
    105.2 KB
  • 24.jpg
    24.jpg
    282.1 KB
  • 24 (2).jpg
    24 (2).jpg
    144.6 KB
  • 22.jpg
    22.jpg
    279.8 KB
  • 20 (2).jpg
    20 (2).jpg
    209.4 KB
  • 20.jpg
    20.jpg
    331.2 KB
  • 23.jpg
    23.jpg
    109 KB
Some more chewing.  :biggrin:

• 26.jpg
    26.jpg
    111.4 KB
  • 27.jpg
    27.jpg
    102.2 KB
  • 29.jpg
    29.jpg
    69.8 KB
  • 30.jpg
    30.jpg
    92.5 KB
  • 31.jpg
    31.jpg
    187.8 KB
I made it to Marydale with the fuel I had, refuelled there and we were on our way to Put sonder Water. 

These roads were in a horrible state, corrugated, huge middelmannetjies and here and there sand patches.  I had it easy with the karretjie, but the guys on the bikes had a battle in hand. 

We stopped in Kenhardt, the guys on the bikes had to refuel their bodies.  Then it was on to Kakemas and another battle lay ahead, this road had a good load of sand as top surface and most of the driffies were washed away.  Vink’s pillion, Annemarie, were not a happy girl on the back of the bike and ask if she could ride with us in the karretjie.  That seemed to help and a short while later we arrived in Kakamas. 

We quickly booked in at our accommodation and headed back into town to get some needed supplies for the night’s braai.  The shops were closing at 6 and we were running late after the mornings hold-up. 

Over and above the sheet we had at Prieska, we had a good day and enjoyed the roads we travelled.  We ended the day with a lovely braai, salads and some cold ones. 

Live is good. 

• 32.jpg
    32.jpg
    246.9 KB
  • 38.jpg
    38.jpg
    68.8 KB
  • 37.jpg
    37.jpg
    161.2 KB
  • 36.jpg
    36.jpg
    253.8 KB
  • 35.jpg
    35.jpg
    172.9 KB
  • 34.jpg
    34.jpg
    173.4 KB
  • 33.jpg
    33.jpg
    149.2 KB
Ek was baie bly toe ons die teer in Kakamas kry.

Sommer die teer gesoen. So boeretannie stop langs my en vra of ek OK is.

Nannie verduidelik haar toe hoekom ek dit gedoen het.

Sy het maar net kopskuttend daar weggery [emoji1]

Sent from my SM-A505F using Tapatalk

Jinne maar daai Karretjie kan sy bene optel..............!!!! :biggrin:

petri oosthuizen said:
Jinne maar daai Karretjie kan sy bene optel..............!!!! [emoji3]
Vra bietjie vir Vink hoe was sy trip in Kakamas toe ons voorraad gaan koop het.

[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Ek het sommer lekker gelag in my helmet.

JACOVV said:
petri oosthuizen said:

:lol8: :lol8:  Sal graag sy vertelling hier wil hoor.  Arme man het homself beskuie.  En ek het dan so versigtig en stadig gery soontoe.  :patch: :biggrin: 

DAY 4 Kakamas to Kammieskroon

The normal morning routine took place.  This morning it was however nice and warm, a sign that it would get hotter during the day. 

The plan was that Jaco, David and the Vinke would leave for Augrabies as this would be the 1st time for them to visit the falls.  The wife and I visited the falls several times before.  So, we would get some wors and buns and head towards Pofadder and stop somewhere along the road for a worsbraai.  We will regroup at the worsbraai spot after their visit to the falls. 

They left and we went to the local Spar and got the supplies.  Then I received a message from Jaco.  The rear wheel valve on David’s bike had a problem and needed to be replaced.  They were at that stage at the local tyre shop getting the valve repaired.  I met them there and it was decided that Jaco and the Vinke would proceed to the falls.  We would wait with David, as the repair would take an hour and a half.  Jaco and the Vinke left and we stayed behind.

A group photo before we depart. 

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    147.9 KB
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    186.3 KB
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    204.9 KB
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    146.6 KB
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    136.9 KB
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    147.3 KB
After the valve was replaced, we left to start the worsbraai.  We stopped about 30km from Kakamas towards Springbok, braaied the wors and soon after that, Jaco and the Vinke arrived. 

• 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    131.6 KB
  • 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    192.5 KB
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    328.2 KB
  • 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    226.2 KB
  • 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    320.4 KB
  • 12.jpg
    12.jpg
    152 KB
  • 13.jpg
    13.jpg
    132.4 KB
After the meal we left to Springbok, we needed to get supplies for Kammieskroon, as I doubt if we would get anything decent at Kammieskroon. 

We arrived in Pofadder between 1 and 2.  All the shops and butcheries were closed except for one little shop that had nothing that we needed.  Vink ask around and found the butcher who was on lunch.  He politely agreed to sell us some meat. 

With our food sorted we would have taken some gravel roads to Kammieskroon. 
The locals however said that those roads were in a horrible state and they advised us not to ride them.  The group agreed that we would take the tar road to Springbok and then on the N7 down to Kammieskroon.  The tar road was in any case sorter, and we were running behind time as is. 

So, it was the boring tar to Springbok and then Kammieskroon.  I was not too unhappy, as this was my 1st time on this piece of road from Pofadder to Springbok.  Although boring, it was non the less scenic. 

We arrived safely in Kammieskroon, booked in and I made us a meal. 

Another good day was had with great friends. 

• 14.jpg
    14.jpg
    228.9 KB
  • 15.jpg
    15.jpg
    153.9 KB
  • 16.jpg
    16.jpg
    121.4 KB
  • 17.jpg
    17.jpg
    186.6 KB
  • 18.jpg
    18.jpg
    139.6 KB
  • 19.jpg
    19.jpg
    177.1 KB
JACOVV said:
petri oosthuizen said:

Nou net besluit ek moan NOOIT weer as Ma bestuur nie. Kon VEEL VEEL erger gewees het >:D

DAY 5  Kammieskroon to Loeriesfontein

The normal morning stuff were done and we were ready for an exciting day. 

The first stretch to Garies is tar, the reast of the route is gravel.  From Garies the route is over Struders Pass, down Langkloof pass, nice twisty’s tweespoor farm roads to the R358 and then onto the R355 to Loeriesfontein.   

No need for any supplies today, I brought a leg of lam with for tonight’s meal.  It was in the microwave, defrosting.
See the last fhoto, the leg of lamb is safely tucked away.  :biggrin:

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    177.6 KB
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    147.4 KB
Then it was up Struders Pass

• 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    148.9 KB
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    158.6 KB
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    142.3 KB
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    241.7 KB
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    245.7 KB
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    173.5 KB
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    173.4 KB
On the other side going down towards Langkloof Pass

On our way Vink as well as Jaco took a tumble in the sand.  Annemarie took a heavy knock on her chest/rib area and she jumped onto our rig for the remainder of the route.

• 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    159.5 KB
  • 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    227 KB
  • 12.jpg
    12.jpg
    165 KB
  • 13.jpg
    13.jpg