Brandon Bosch Memorial Ride - Africa 2021

Then all hell broke loose, as two elephants decided to have a bit of a battle. Unfortunately, it happened behind the bush, but one unfortunate baboon was caught up in the tree which they were constantly bumping during their tussle.

For the rest of the baboons, it was business as usual.

Eventually, peace settled over the river bank as it was nearing sunset.

I had an inquisitive visitor as I was having my beer.

• IMG_3206.JPG
    IMG_3206.JPG
    279.9 KB
  • IMG_3205.JPG
    IMG_3205.JPG
    362.1 KB
  • IMG_3207.JPG
    IMG_3207.JPG
    257.8 KB
  • IMG_3208.JPG
    IMG_3208.JPG
    229.6 KB
  • IMG_3210.JPG
    IMG_3210.JPG
    207.3 KB
  • IMG_3211.JPG
    IMG_3211.JPG
    185.8 KB
  • IMG_3214.JPG
    IMG_3214.JPG
    246.4 KB
  • IMG_3216.JPG
    IMG_3216.JPG
    198.6 KB
Sunset at Maramba.

My accommodation for the night.

I treated myself to a decent meal, which I did not have to prepare.

• IMG_3217.JPG
    IMG_3217.JPG
    294.8 KB
  • IMG_3219.JPG
    IMG_3219.JPG
    323 KB
  • IMG_3221.JPG
    IMG_3221.JPG
    244.4 KB
  • IMG_3223.JPG
    IMG_3223.JPG
    187.9 KB
  • IMG_3226.JPG
    IMG_3226.JPG
    214.5 KB
  • IMG_3228.JPG
    IMG_3228.JPG
    152.5 KB
09 July 2021

I had my Covid results, so it was off to Botswana.

I stopped at Loose Goose to put up sticker no 23 for Brandon.

On this road, heading out of Livingstone, I got stopped for speeding, 70 in a 40 zone, but the traffic officer was kind enough to let me off with a warning. Another blessing, because I know that I was in the wrong.

Over the Kazangula bridge into Botswana.

• IMG_3230.JPG
    IMG_3230.JPG
    304 KB
  • IMG_3231.JPG
    IMG_3231.JPG
    307.1 KB
  • IMG_3232.JPG
    IMG_3232.JPG
    240 KB
  • IMG_3233.JPG
    IMG_3233.JPG
    136.4 KB
  • IMG_3235.JPG
    IMG_3235.JPG
    224.1 KB
  • IMG_3236.JPG
    IMG_3236.JPG
    180.6 KB
  • IMG_3237.JPG
    IMG_3237.JPG
    195.9 KB
  • IMG_3239.JPG
    IMG_3239.JPG
    158.7 KB
  • IMG_3240.JPG
    IMG_3240.JPG
    146.9 KB
I stopped at Rex Kelly's place, Chobe Safaris, a friend from 2014, but he was in the Savuti, so after some searching, I found accommodation at The Old House.

Heavy restrictions in place, no beer with my meal tonight. Vehicles passing with messages blaring over mounted speakers.

Apart from that, I had this ominous feeling, something I cannot describe and have never felt before on any of my travels. I felt like I was not supposed to be in Botswana, and that I needed to leave the country ASAP. Never happened to me before.

At least Matilda was safe, security guard in place, so I enjoyed the sunset, had a meal and went to bed. We will see what tomorrow brings.

BWP 1044,00, it was not cheap.

• IMG_3241.JPG
    IMG_3241.JPG
    190.1 KB
  • IMG_3244.JPG
    IMG_3244.JPG
    127.3 KB
  • IMG_3245.JPG
    IMG_3245.JPG
    86.7 KB
  • IMG_3247.JPG
    IMG_3247.JPG
    82 KB
  • IMG_3250.JPG
    IMG_3250.JPG
    113.4 KB
  • IMG_3251.JPG
    IMG_3251.JPG
    221.1 KB
  • IMG_3252.JPG
    IMG_3252.JPG
    115 KB
  • IMG_3253.JPG
    IMG_3253.JPG
    128.3 KB
10 July 2021

The feeling was still there.

I stopped at Tienie and Karen Riekert's computer shop and had coffee with them. Then it was through the Chobe National Park to the Ngoma Border Post to cross into Namibia again.

• IMG_3254.JPG
    IMG_3254.JPG
    256.1 KB
  • IMG_3256.JPG
    IMG_3256.JPG
    239.5 KB
  • IMG_3257.JPG
    IMG_3257.JPG
    182.9 KB
  • IMG_3258.JPG
    IMG_3258.JPG
    178.9 KB
  • IMG_3259.JPG
    IMG_3259.JPG
    194.1 KB
Ngoma Border Post.

It all went quick and smooth, it felt good to be back in Namibia, and the ominous feeling was gone.

And 120 km/h plus, it was.

• IMG_3261.JPG
    IMG_3261.JPG
    225.2 KB
  • IMG_3262.JPG
    IMG_3262.JPG
    210.6 KB
  • IMG_3263.JPG
    IMG_3263.JPG
    277.2 KB
  • IMG_3264.JPG
    IMG_3264.JPG
    244.9 KB
  • IMG_3265.JPG
    IMG_3265.JPG
    222 KB
  • IMG_3267.JPG
    IMG_3267.JPG
    269.7 KB
  • IMG_3269 (2).JPG
    IMG_3269 (2).JPG
    152 KB
  • IMG_3270.JPG
    IMG_3270.JPG
    191.1 KB
Katima Mulilo, Zambezi River Lodge, cold beer on the deck.

• 20210710_155223.jpg
    20210710_155223.jpg
    320.2 KB
I set up camp and went around collecting firewood for my braai.

The sun was setting and it was time to get the fire going.

• IMG_3272.JPG
    IMG_3272.JPG
    360.2 KB
  • IMG_3273.JPG
    IMG_3273.JPG
    322.2 KB
  • IMG_3274.JPG
    IMG_3274.JPG
    207.9 KB
  • IMG_3275.JPG
    IMG_3275.JPG
    269.9 KB
  • IMG_3276.JPG
    IMG_3276.JPG
    247.1 KB
  • IMG_3277.JPG
    IMG_3277.JPG
    144.3 KB
  • IMG_3280 (2).JPG
    IMG_3280 (2).JPG
    111.2 KB
  • IMG_3281 (2).JPG
    IMG_3281 (2).JPG
    190 KB
What happens to firelighters on the back of an Adventure Bike? It turns to liquid.

• IMG_3282.JPG
    IMG_3282.JPG
    116.2 KB
But, it still works.

The staff gave me a few beers, ice and an ice bucket.

I had all the ingredients for an amazing braai. Which it was.

• IMG_3283.JPG
    IMG_3283.JPG
    163.4 KB
  • 20210710_184910.jpg
    20210710_184910.jpg
    236.9 KB
  • IMG_3284.JPG
    IMG_3284.JPG
    141.9 KB
  • IMG_3286.JPG
    IMG_3286.JPG
    271.7 KB
  • IMG_3287.JPG
    IMG_3287.JPG
    232.4 KB
  • IMG_3289.JPG
    IMG_3289.JPG
    134.3 KB
  • IMG_3290.JPG
    IMG_3290.JPG
    252.1 KB
  • IMG_3291.JPG
    IMG_3291.JPG
    195 KB
  • IMG_3293.JPG
    IMG_3293.JPG
    150.3 KB
Matilda really is a faithful companion and a hard worker! :ricky:

RobD said:
Matilda really is a faithful companion and a hard worker! :ricky:

That she is my boet, which is why I will never, as long as I am able to, ever part from her. she has served me so well. She has seen me laugh, and she has seen me cry and she is a therapist of note.

It was time for bed.

I was, as far as I could see, the only inhabitant at the lodge. It was very close to the main road and no security, so I attached Matilda to the roof post with a bike lock.

Little did I know how cold it was going to be that night.

• IMG_3285.JPG
    IMG_3285.JPG
    155.8 KB
  • IMG_3292.JPG
    IMG_3292.JPG
    126.3 KB
11 July 2021

It really was extremely cold the previous night.

I decided to have a chill day and did some laundry, then asked the staff for some blankets, which they gave me.

I collected some more firewood and anything else which would burn. It was only when the fire was going that I thought it a good idea to put the tent undercover and move Matilda under the tree.

• IMG_3295.JPG
    IMG_3295.JPG
    294.2 KB
  • IMG_3296.JPG
    IMG_3296.JPG
    290.4 KB
  • IMG_3297.JPG
    IMG_3297.JPG
    204.7 KB
  • IMG_3298.JPG
    IMG_3298.JPG
    396.6 KB
  • IMG_3299.JPG
    IMG_3299.JPG
    285.6 KB
  • IMG_3305.JPG
    IMG_3305.JPG
    231.4 KB
  • IMG_3307.JPG
    IMG_3307.JPG
    299.1 KB
  • IMG_3302.JPG
    IMG_3302.JPG
    161 KB
So, as the sun was setting, and the fire was going, I did the swop, had my braai and it was bed time, with some blankets. They definitely helped.

• IMG_3300.JPG
    IMG_3300.JPG
    115.7 KB
  • IMG_3303.JPG
    IMG_3303.JPG
    172.8 KB
  • IMG_3306.JPG
    IMG_3306.JPG
    126 KB
  • IMG_3308.JPG
    IMG_3308.JPG
    198.7 KB
  • IMG_3309.JPG
    IMG_3309.JPG
    237.2 KB
  • IMG_3310.JPG
    IMG_3310.JPG
    213.7 KB
  • IMG_3313.JPG
    IMG_3313.JPG
    105.3 KB
  • IMG_3314.JPG
    IMG_3314.JPG
    101.2 KB
  • IMG_3315.JPG
    IMG_3315.JPG
    214.7 KB
  • IMG_3316.JPG
    IMG_3316.JPG
    133.7 KB
12 July 2021

Time to head out. Not quite sure where to, but firstly I must return the blankets to reception.

• IMG_3317.JPG
    IMG_3317.JPG
    297.8 KB
I did not want to do the B8 from Katima along the Caprivi. I checked the accommodation possibilities on my GPS and Camp Livingstone came up. I asked the lodge receptionist if she would mind phoning them to check the road conditions, which she duly did. I was assured that the road is great and they have self-catering campsites availability.

Off to the local Spar to stock up. Oh, and I bought a blanket. As I am packing everything on Matilda, a German comes up and greets me. And I am off to the village of Sangwali.

It is tar all the way, then the turn off to Sangwali. There are no signs, so I stop at the local police station to make sure I am on the right road. The cop looks at me, then asks me, you sure you want to go in there, there are lions, buffalo and all kinds of animals which could kill you.

• IMG_3318.JPG
    IMG_3318.JPG
    330.5 KB
  • IMG_3319.JPG
    IMG_3319.JPG
    320.2 KB
  • IMG_3320.JPG
    IMG_3320.JPG
    236.1 KB
  • IMG_3321.JPG
    IMG_3321.JPG
    188.3 KB
  • IMG_3322.JPG
    IMG_3322.JPG
    181.2 KB
Remember the phone call, nothing was said about sand.

This was merely a section of the sand road, then the GPS did not know where I was going, so I just followed the road most traveled, had to pass by flames which were literally on the road when I passed by and had to stop to let Matilda cool down. Apart from the conditions forcing me to travel slowly, it was also an extremely hot day and Matilda was feeling the effects. Temperature was rising.

The last section was fine. Weight restriction? I will never call my lady fat, just well proportioned.

• IMG_3323.JPG
    IMG_3323.JPG
    134.4 KB
  • IMG_3324.JPG
    IMG_3324.JPG
    247.2 KB
  • IMG_3325.JPG
    IMG_3325.JPG
    321.3 KB
  • IMG_3326.JPG
    IMG_3326.JPG
    322.8 KB
  • IMG_3327.JPG
    IMG_3327.JPG
    266.6 KB
  • IMG_3328.JPG
    IMG_3328.JPG
    237.6 KB
  • IMG_3329.JPG
    IMG_3329.JPG
    305.7 KB
  • IMG_3330.JPG
    IMG_3330.JPG
    269.4 KB
My accommodation for the night.

While I was setting up camp, a bakkie roared up, it was driven by the same German I had met at the Spar in Katima. He invited me to supper.

• IMG_3331.JPG
    IMG_3331.JPG
    332.7 KB
  • IMG_3332.JPG
    IMG_3332.JPG
    338.2 KB
  • IMG_3333.JPG
    IMG_3333.JPG
    158.4 KB
  • IMG_3334.JPG
    IMG_3334.JPG
    183.2 KB
  • IMG_3335.JPG
    IMG_3335.JPG
    157.4 KB
  • IMG_3336.JPG
    IMG_3336.JPG
    184.7 KB
Sunset at Camp Livingstone and supper with my host Jorg Seufert, also known as Mr Moringa.

Home made German dumplings with meat and veg.

• IMG_3337.JPG
    IMG_3337.JPG
    108.8 KB
  • IMG_3338.JPG
    IMG_3338.JPG
    172.1 KB
  • IMG_3339.JPG
    IMG_3339.JPG
    255.2 KB
  • IMG_3340.JPG
    IMG_3340.JPG