Incomplete Namibia Trip for Bring It On (April 2013):

Joyride said:
To get back to the sand pit on Verneukpan, it is like fighting the devil in the dark, you just don't know where he is. :thumleft:

After we left the farm it was kind of like "death in the family". We only recovered after seeing you in Keimoes and realised that you were, well kind of sorted and on your way to Upington.

A big thumbs up to Oom Giel for assisting you in the way he did. Sout van die aarde mense daai. Keimoes is hoeka my hometown.

Geen ons ten minste 'n verskoning om weer NAM te doen. :ricky:

Buurman......nou praat jy mos net die waarheid!!!! Stem 100% met daardie woorde ;D ;D

To get back to the really Gr8 way I was treated (during my unexpected stay) out in Upington.....

To Oom Giel:

I wish to first & foremost yet once again, like to thank Oom Giel & his family for opening up their hearts & home to me. From when we arrived late on Thursday afternoon, Oom Giel assured me that I need not worry about having a place to "store all my gear & a place to rest my head @ night, as he kindly offered this to me by letting me stay @ his place for a Minimal Fee, including the transport of my bike to the BMW Dealership. There was just NO way I was able to accept this......as my morals just instinctively took over & after a bit of explaining from my side.....Oom Giel finally agreed to accept more money from me....because after all.....it’s only just fair & right!! Another very kind thing that Oom Giel did, for which I am most grateful….was to drive me back & forth to the Dealership & the house quite a few times.

I truly wish the world had more Good people like Oom Giel. He is just the nicest, friendly & kind person. He is just so very happy with the simple things in life & has a natural “heart for doing well to others”. Oom Giel, to both you & your family, thank you from the bottom of my heart for everything you did for me & assisted me with. You will forever have a special place in my heart & I will always feel indebted to you. I truly look forward to the day that I once again will be able to pop in @ your farm, on my travels up north. You are truly special people & I :salut: :salut: you.

Warmest Regards,
Shaun

Oom Giel het nog 'n plaas in die Kalahari.  Hy het ons genooi om daar te kom kuier.  Miskien moet ons 'n groep bymekaar maak en gaan kuier.  :ricky:  :3some:

Jammer om hier te hi-jack, maar vir die van julle wat nie my RR gelees het nie, wil ek graag die volgende storie mee deel. 
Die oggend wat ons die pan verlaat het, het ons eers 'n draai gemaak by oom Giel om totsiens te se.  Ons praat lekker en uit die bloute vra oom Giel of hy my ‘n persoonlike vraag kan vra.  Ek se toe oom kan ma voortgaan. 
Vraag die ou man, “Is dit jou wetiglike getroude vrou saam wie jy rondry, julle bikers is mos stout mense”. 
Seg ek vir die ou kêrel, “Moet asb nie vir my vrou vertel ons was hier nie”.

Soos iemand vroer genoem het, sout van die aarde se mense daai.  :thumleft:

Then there were the guys @ the “Auto Luxus BMW Dealership” under the leadership of the Istvan Meyer (Dealer Principal). There is just NO way that you could fault these guys in any way!!! They all truly went way & above the call for duty to assist me from their side in getting my “misfortune” turned around in assisting me to finally get back on the road again a few days later, to start making my Solo Trip back to Cape Town.

In spite of my whole recent unpleasant misfortune, from the moment I arrived @ the Dealership, Istvan & his team immediately made me feel like part of their family. I truly regard it as both an “honour & a privilege” to belong to the BMW Brand, partly due to this “quality & highest level” of true “Professional Service before Self Attitude”.

From the simple things like assisting me with all sorts of correspondence (making a hell of a lot of phone calls, sending & receiving of both faxes & e-mails), to making me coffee & simply just being there for me to chat to…… all the way to the things that I truly feel that you guys went “Way & Beyond” the Call of Duty,….things like the loan of a car for a few days in order for me to get around, to the fact that you allowed me to do all the various prep work to my bike @ your dealership (both after-hours & on a Public Holiday), to entrusted me to make use of your workshop & some of your tools, etc, etc, etc….. These things, IMHO speaks volumes of your true kindness & your genuine concern for/towards me.

Istvan, to both you & your entire staff, I truly feel so much richer having met you guys & being on the receiving end from the Awesome service you provided during my brief stay in Upington. Thank you once again for everything & I :salut: :salut: you guys to.

Kindest Regards,
Shaun

• DSCN9812.jpg
    DSCN9812.jpg
    137 KB
  • DSCN9811.jpg
    DSCN9811.jpg
    138.9 KB
I almost feel like I am standing here on a stage in front of everyone giving out all the thanks speeches…but I truly was humbled by the “overwhelming flood” of concern, e-mails, phone calls, PM's, messages & for offers of assistance in many ways…..from my Wife, my Parents, various Friends, a hell of a lot of Members on this Truly Awesome Forum, Colleagues from work, etc, etc…..

I have already personally thanked a lot of people for various things that everyone had done for me & assisted me with…..but I would just not feel right if by some way, I have missed out on thanking anyone for their kindness. So to everyone included in this…. I thank you too & :salut: :salut: you guys to. :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Just to keep you guys in the picture as to the outcome of my damaged bike that I offloaded @ the Dealership late on Thursday afternoon.

As soon I informed the guys @ the dealership of what had happened, they briefly assessed the damage to the bike & informed that it was not looking too good for me being able to have it repaired in a hurry & being able to be back out on the road to continue with my Dream Trip. I also got onto the phone, to make the dreaded call to the insurance company (who I truly have to admit, did indeed provide me with Gr8 service, throughout the entire process)......to inform them of what had happened & to start the process rolling in getting everything sorted out.

to make a pretty Long Story short......,between the insurance company, assessment of "damages & repair" from dealership......late on Friday afternoon the insurance company confirmed that it was not financially viable for the bike to be repaired & that they were going to "Write It Off".

3 of the major components (cracked/damaged rear swing arm, damaged rear shock & cracked/bent/damaged rear sub frame) had sustained serious damage, as well as many other minor components (damaged/broken wiring, various aluminium/plastic/steel brackets/covers that were also either damaged/broken/cracked) + labour......totalled to just over 81% of the value of the bike.....EISH :eek7: :eek7: :eek7:

Few photos of some of the damage (& just keep in mind that the Topbox was EMPTY!!):

• DSCN9774.jpg
    DSCN9774.jpg
    130.1 KB
  • DSCN9789.jpg
    DSCN9789.jpg
    120.3 KB
  • DSCN9777.jpg
    DSCN9777.jpg
    142.5 KB
  • DSCN9779.jpg
    DSCN9779.jpg
    120.8 KB
  • DSCN9783.jpg
    DSCN9783.jpg
    149.2 KB
  • DSCN9785.jpg
    DSCN9785.jpg
    158.4 KB
  • DSCN9786.jpg
    DSCN9786.jpg
    116 KB
  • DSCN9787.jpg
    DSCN9787.jpg
    130.6 KB
  • DSCN9788.jpg
    DSCN9788.jpg
    136.2 KB
Hel! Dit moes n groot knock gewees het. Verbaas jy het nie geval nie  :eek7:

subie said:
Hel! Dit moes n groot knock gewees het. Verbaas jy het nie geval nie  :eek7:

One of the things that really saved me from loosing total control of the bike on the other side of that Washout....was the fact that there was not much loose "silt/sand" as I landed & the surface was pretty hard. I can assure you......that if there was sand on the other side.....I would NOT have been so lucky. Also, I really believe that the Excellent Boots I had on most definitely saved my left ankle (which is very weak from previous injuries) from giving way from that impact. BTW....Thanks Hando for persuading me a while back to get these specific boots. ;) :thumleft:

While I was standing in front of the Dealership on Friday, nearing the end of a phone call, .....I heard the Awesome sound of the Zorst, from a 990 rumbling down the road in the direction of the BMW Dealership & accompanied by a GSA.

Both bikes stopped right in front of the Dealership (looking to buy a spare visor for one of their helmets) & I just knew that these 2 bikes had to on their way to the Namibia Bash.  :patch: :drif: :drif: ;D As I proceeded to walk up to both bikes, I noticed the all too familiar & proudly displayed WD Paw that was stuck on the Katoom's front screen. Even though I didn't recognise them or had ever personally met these 2 riders....just having seen that PAW & knowing that they were fellow WD's.....immediately made me feel like running over to them & give them a Gr8 big Hug :3some: ;D ;D ;D There just is something truly special about the "Sincere BOND that is very evident among our PACK" here on this Forum. Something you just cannot describe......its a Feeling & a Lifestyle!!!

On closer inspection, I noticed the words "Adventurer" printed on the nicely domed WD sticker & immediately said to myself....."This just must be Kurt" ;) .....then proceeded to say....."hi there, you aren't Kurt by any chance??" To which he instantly replied with a slight hesitant voice to this stranger that has just walked up to him....."yes I am". :lol8: :lol8:

I then properly intruded myself with a saddened look on my face saying, "I'm Shaun.....Bring It On from the WD Forum & I unfortunately wont be able to make the Namibia Bash this time round" :(

After explaining to him what had happened, I took both him & "eSKaPe" around the back of the dealership to show them my broken bike. We briefly chatted for a while, I asked them to please say Hi to the guys out @ the Bash for me & then wished them well for the rest of their journey.

Few photos I took of them in front of the Dealership.

• DSCN9792.jpg
    DSCN9792.jpg
    191.6 KB
  • DSCN9796.jpg
    DSCN9796.jpg
    201.2 KB
  • DSCN9795.jpg
    DSCN9795.jpg
    201.8 KB
  • DSCN9791.jpg
    DSCN9791.jpg
    215 KB
  • DSCN9790.jpg
    DSCN9790.jpg
    184.5 KB
To also cut another Long Story Short.....w.r.t. me getting a replacement bike now that my Faithful GS was now written off..... & after some "thinking things through, working thing out, various  financing options & insurance Red-Tape".... things finally panned out to me making the purchase of this 2008 1200GS that Istvan had, from a customer that was wanting to purchase the new LC GS.

• DSCN9799.jpg
    DSCN9799.jpg
    190.7 KB
As mentioned earlier in the thread, Istvan kindly opened the workshop especially for me on Saturday (even though it was a Public Holiday & the Dealership was actually closed) & allowed me to use his workshop & some of his tools to get my now "Replacement Bike" prepped & ready for me to make my "Solo Journey" back to Cape Town.

There was quite a lot of "personal stuff & gadgets" I had to first remove from my old bike (which was not covered by insurance), a well as do my best to "Panel-beat, MOER, Bend & Weld" my very severely rear luggage rack & topbox.....in order for me to make it "sort of serviceable enough" for it to make the trip back home.

"Old Faithful" but broken on the left...... & the almost prepped "Replacement".

• DSCN9801.jpg
    DSCN9801.jpg
    166.2 KB
Eish, such a lekker RR, even if it came to an abrupt halt.....on the + side though, you now have a newer bike, and Namibia is still there ready and waiting for you.....Next year, same date, Nam Bash is happening again.....
Although it won't benefit you right now, you will be pleased to know that the entire swingarm on the 1200 GS LC has been revised, not just from right to left, but the shock angle has been changed, the way I understand mechanics, there will be less stress on the lower shock pivot point, and the swingarm has been beefed up....while very few swingarms have broken, it has indeed happened, and mostly in SA from what I understand, Eskape broke his too a while back, seems the Tjermans took note of the way we stuff things up in SA, and made a plan......

See you at the 2014 Nam Bash hopefully...... :ricky: :thumleft:

Finally late on Monday afternoon, after all the last bit of "Insurance Red-Tape, Financing issues & various other Paperwork" was finally sorted out.....I now had the Green light to get everything packed.....& I was now able to make my departure early Tuesday morning, after spending 5 Long & Frustrating Days in Upington.

My plan was to now take 2 days to get back to CT. Day1: Upington - Kenhardt - Branvlei - Calvinai - R355(to Cederberg Oasis via Katbakkies Pass) where I would sleep over & then for Day2: Cederberg Oasis - Ceres(via Algeria, Citrusdal & Middelberg Pass) - Wellington - CT.

A really nice surprise was to hear that "JacoSwart", would meet me out @ the Cederberg Oasis, then the next morning we would do the last leg of the trip through to Ceres, where my "dpr" (my Dad) & a friend from work (Wessie) would be waiting to ride the last section back to CT.

Here are some random shots of my trip back Home:

• 308.jpg
    308.jpg
    87.4 KB
  • 309.jpg
    309.jpg
    82.2 KB
  • 310.jpg
    310.jpg
    84.8 KB
  • 311.jpg
    311.jpg
    77.6 KB
  • 312.jpg
    312.jpg
    93.1 KB
  • 313.jpg
    313.jpg
    106.8 KB
Adventurer said:
Eish, such a lekker RR, even if it came to an abrupt halt.....on the + side though, you now have a newer bike, and Namibia is still there ready and waiting for you.....Next year, same date, Nam Bash is happening again.....
Although it won't benefit you right now, you will be pleased to know that the entire swingarm on the 1200 GS LC has been revised, not just from right to left, but the shock angle has been changed, the way I understand mechanics, there will be less stress on the lower shock pivot point, and the swingarm has been beefed up....while very few swingarms have broken, it has indeed happened, and mostly in SA from what I understand, Eskape broke his too a while back, seems the Tjermans took note of the way we stuff things up in SA, and made a plan......

See you at the 2014 Nam Bash hopefully...... :ricky: :thumleft:

Kurt, it really was nice to have been able to meet you guys that day & I really do look forward to the next Namibia Bash I can make (I just don't think that it will be next year though, as this whole episode has cost plenty Moola & have to now first concentrate on other financial priorities)....But like I said before.....I WILL Be Back & WILL make the next Bash (as soon as time & finances allow) ;) :thumleft: :thumleft:

I came across this Frikking Awesome Gravel section by accident on route to Kenhardt......What a truly wonderful ride.....just what the Dr ordered... :thumleft: :thumleft:

• 323.jpg
    323.jpg
    126.3 KB
  • 322.jpg
    322.jpg
    139.1 KB
  • 321.jpg
    321.jpg
    110.6 KB
  • 315.jpg
    315.jpg
    141.6 KB
  • 319.jpg
    319.jpg
    146.5 KB
  • 314.jpg
    314.jpg
    170.8 KB
Quick stop @ quite a few of these intersections along the way, to consult with the good old fashion "Map" as I never had my GPS (which got damaged from the incident)....& then carried on along this really Gr8 road, crossing over a rail-line & going past quite a few houses along the way.

• 326.jpg
    326.jpg
    178.8 KB
  • 327.jpg
    327.jpg
    145 KB
  • 328.jpg
    328.jpg
    151.7 KB
  • 329.jpg
    329.jpg
    132 KB
  • 330.jpg
    330.jpg
    135.2 KB
  • 332.jpg
    332.jpg
    170.6 KB
  • 333.jpg
    333.jpg
    113.2 KB
  • 334.jpg
    334.jpg
    154.1 KB
  • 336.jpg
    336.jpg
    125 KB
  • 337.jpg
    337.jpg
    116.7 KB
While traveling along this one section of road, that just seemed to go on forever, as far as I could see....I decided to stop for a while & just "take in & enjoy" the wide open space of "nothing", laid out for mile & miles all around me, as far as the human eye could see.

This.....was truly Food for my Soul @ that point :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: Finally after everthing bad that had happened over the past week....things were looking better & I felt that the "Bring It On Salute" was once again in order. :thumleft: :cheers:

• DSCN9820_stitch.jpg
    DSCN9820_stitch.jpg
    101.7 KB
  • 344.jpg
    344.jpg
    130.9 KB
  • 341.jpg
    341.jpg
    126 KB
  • 340.jpg
    340.jpg
    107.7 KB
  • DSCN9816.jpg
    DSCN9816.jpg
    166.5 KB
  • DSCN9815.jpg
    DSCN9815.jpg
    145.7 KB
  • DSCN9814_stitch.jpg
    DSCN9814_stitch.jpg
    67.2 KB
Few more photos before reaching Kenhardt.

• 346.jpg
    346.jpg
    110 KB
  • 347.jpg
    347.jpg
    130.3 KB
  • 348.jpg
    348.jpg
    117.4 KB
  • 351.jpg
    351.jpg
    118.5 KB
  • DSCN9830.jpg
    DSCN9830.jpg
    160.8 KB
  • DSCN9831.jpg
    DSCN9831.jpg
    170.4 KB
Came across quite a few of these "Stop/Go" road works along the way through to Branvlei & Calvinia.

• 355.jpg
    355.jpg
    114.5 KB
  • DSCN9833_stitch.jpg
    DSCN9833_stitch.jpg
    73.9 KB
  • DSCN9834.jpg
    DSCN9834.jpg
    228.9 KB
  • DSCN9846a_stitch.jpg
    DSCN9846a_stitch.jpg
    59.3 KB
Even came across these Camels doing their thing in the field, next to the road. Sure something you don't see everyday.

• DSCN9839.jpg
    DSCN9839.jpg
    207.2 KB
  • DSCN9840.jpg
    DSCN9840.jpg
    193 KB