National Bash ride Report

Great bash and lots of laughs. The ride back was something else. Thank you CU for an amazing route. If it was the last ride I ever did I could have not asked for better.

Crossed-up said:
A WD left his neck brace/cushion at the Nieuwoudtville Hotel.  I brought it to Cape Town, as apparently its owner hails from here.  PM me if you'd like it back, otherwise I rather fancy it!
[/quote
Its Lurkers brace I smsd him to contact you thx

Fantie11 - rustig op pad na sy maters... :)

image024.jpg

Tentjie en bure. Ons het die Duitse kuiergaste ge-erf - ek's seker dis hulle wat daardie aand so gesnork het!!  :mwink:

image027.jpg

Another fantastic bash at a great venue, which took us city bikers to another far flung, interesting place.

This year, due to the distance to the venue, I decided it was crazy to slab it all the way on knobbies from JHB to Upington then start dirt, I decided to trailer to Olifantshoek, where fellow wild dog, Stoffel  lives in a construction camp. We would leave the bakkie & trailer at the camp, and continue on the bikes from there to the bash. I mentioned this to Laurika, and she opted to join me immediately. This decided, I contacted Stoffel, and it was decided to leave the bakkie and trailer at a resort outside Upington where we would sleep the Wednesday night. This arranged, I picked up Laurika’s Plaasmiesie late Tuesday afternoon. My choice for this bash run, was my trusty old 1150GS. (Its far better in the sand than the 1200GS)

Early Wednesday morning I picked Laurika up and set course for Olifantshoek, to meet Stoffel. Stopped in Vryburg to buy a couple of things, then pushed on to Shishen where we stopped at the Shell and took this pic of their old  “tools”
DSCF36871024x768.jpg

Did the toilet thing and pushed on to meet Stoffel next to the road, 10km before Olifantshoek. Having “haaked” Stoffel with his 1200GSA, we stopped in Olifantshoek for a quick bite then pushed on to Upington.

Arriving in Upington, we met other dogs (Rickus, Fanta) , and a crowd at the first garage where they invited us to join them down the road for drinks, which were readily welcomed,  given the heat in the late afternoon. After drinks we headed for Oranjerus, on the southern banks of the mighty Orange River, about 15km downstream of Upington.

Arriving at Oranjerus, we booked in, found our chalet. Once our sleeping arrangements were sorted we went about offloading the bikes and oiling Plaasmiesies chain.
This done we rush along to the local restaurant / pub which had a magic river bank deck, where we relaxed and enjoyed the magnificent sunset, which this part of the world can present.

Here we also had a delicious light meal, then later retired in anticipation of Thursdays riding. It was decided to have breakfast in Kakamas,  I wanted to visit the Pink Padstall, then Riemvasmaak, and Augrabies, before continuing to Klien Pella , other side Pofadder, where we had reserved rooms for the night.  Early morning saw us all pack our bikes, kit up and mount our steeds. Here is Laurika and Stoffel waiting to leave.
DSCF36881024x768.jpg

I had to take the bakkie and trailer to its parking spot for the next few days, until our return after the bash.

We left Oranjerus, continuing on the road running along the southern banks of the river to Kakamas, which became dirt, and really an enjoyable ride all the way to Kakamas.
DSCF36921024x768.jpg

DSCF36911024x768.jpg

DSCF36971024x768.jpg

Here I noticed these “tit” koppjies, so stopped and took this pic.
DSCF3694a1024x768.jpg

Quite remarkable how nature has formed these places.

Arriving in Kakamas we found out Stoffel had lost his one “BMW GS” glove. Stoffel wanted to continue the trip without his glove. I suggested he go buy a pair of cheap leather gloves at the local Landmark, over the road from the restaurant.  I then realised he could only have lost it where he had stopped to take pic’s of us passing him, some 10 to 15km before Kakamas, so I said I would backtrack the route and hopefully find the glove. He decided to accompany me. We got Laurika sorted at a local small restaurant as one leaves the town toward Poffadder, where she would wait for us in the cool environment of the building.

So off we went back the route we had just come. Sure as expected, I was leading, and found the glove exactly where I suspected it to be, at a certain bend. Stoffel was obviously very relieved to be reunited with his glove.
Stoffel in a hurry
DSCF37001024x768.jpg

We sped back to Kakamas, and upon arrival at the restaurant, we found another dog, YoYo, sniffing Laurika’s butt. After sniffing him out we found out, we found out he was from PE, and also on his way to the bash. We told him we were first going to see Riemvasmaak and Augrabies before proceeding to Klien Pella for the overnight stop.  He decided to go directly to Klein Pella, and join us there. We had a very enjoyable breakie , then decided to fill up at the local petrol station. Here it was decided to conduct “on road” repairs to Plaasmiesie’s rear brake lever, which was set too high and hindering Laurika’s comfortable foot position. Here Yo Yo, help immensely and got the lever sorted quickly.  There after we visited the Pink Padstal. This is a must on you “to see list”, if in the area.     
Here is their Kuir Corner.   
DSCF37071024x768.jpg

Other interesting pics
DSCF37061024x768.jpg

Another kuir plekkie with more shade.
DSCF37061024x768.jpg

Myself leaving my mark.
DSCF3704a1024x768.jpg

My trusty steed, lined up with the “donkies”.
DSCF37011024x768.jpg

Mens Toilet
DSCF3712a1024x768.jpg

More pics
DSCF37091024x768.jpg

With time waiting for no man, we proceeded to Riemvasmaak, where we were interested in visiting the hot springs pools.
Stoffel and Laurika on the way to Riemvasmaak.
DSCF37151024x768.jpg

The roads start getting long and straight.
DSCF37161024x768.jpg

Here is the last “reasonable” sign to this place.
DSCF37201024x768.jpg

Interesting . Here it was extremely hot. Normally when it gets hot I open my visor slightly to allow wind in to cool off slightly. This did not work in this heat. I was opening a hatch of a coal boiler, and the searing heat just bangs you. Better to ride with every thing closed. Even our thick BMW jackets.

Riemvasmaak Hot Springs Reception. 30 Rond each person and 15 Rond per bike. Fark Me. Oh,  its in a nature reserve – NO WELL FINE – OK and pay up.
DSCF37221024x768.jpg

DSCF37211024x768.jpg

Path leading down to the pools among these giant rocks
DSCF37231024x768.jpg

The pool’s water is 26 DEGREES-C !!  But the air temp in the shade is 41 degrees. So this water was really lekker.
DSCF37241024x768.jpg

Myself and  Stoffel.
DSCF37251024x768.jpg

Laurika catching a dip too.
DSCF37261024x768.jpg

I later jumped in again, once fully dressed, (Except my jacket). This later proved to be very nice once riding again.

We left Riemvasmaak, and proceeded to Blouputs, through this rocky , dry strange, rocky dry /  landscape,
DSCF37301024x768.jpg
  Visors CLOSED
DSCF37291024x768.jpg

DSCF37281024x768.jpg

DSCF37311024x768.jpg

Here at Blouputs we again crossed the river to the southern banks of the Orange.
Upstream View of the Orange River
DSCF37321024x768.jpg

Down stream view of the Orange River.
DSCF37331024x768.jpg

On the way “back” towards Augrabies, we stopped and had refreshments. Shit, its moer hot out here! 41Deg-C, and 15km to Augrabies. Stoffel decided on “War Paint”.
DSCF37361024x768.jpg

DSCF37351024x768.jpg

DSCF37341024x768.jpg

DSCF37371024x768.jpg

Augrabies, saw us dash into the restaurant, and its air-con interior. BLISS, I say!
Here  we relaxed, and downed a couple. Then realising we were hungry, we ordered 2 x “Subs” and chips for us three. Just as well, we only ordered 2, because 3 would have been too much. They were massive things. Once refreshed with shadows starting to stretch, we did the “falls” pic thing.
Stoffel and Myself
DSCF37401024x768.jpg

The devastation of the floods earlier this year re still everdint.
Laurika and Myself
DSCF37391024x768.jpg

Stoffel and Laurika
DSCF37381024x768.jpg

After we filled up with juice, at the camps’s own pumps, wed sped off, slabbing it to Poffadder. Here we stopped to “top-off” with juice, before proceeding to Klien Pella.  Here we also met a few other dogs, as well as Super Dave XLV
DSCF37431024x768.jpg

He had had made no plans as to where he was going to cabin the evening, so tagged along with us to Klien Pella.
Here we stopped and took a pic of local church.
DSCF3745a1024x768.jpg

DSCF3746a1024x768.jpg

Laurika and Super Dave.
DSCF37471024x768.jpg

We left town for Klein Pella as the light was failing, so we had a bit of dirt to do in the dark (Result of enjoying the air-con interior of Augrabies restaurant, in the heat of the day, too long !)

Arriving at Klein Pella, we found lotsa dogs had the same intentions as us. About 20 or so other dogs had booked into the establishment, with some taking rooms, and others “slumming” it in tents.  Looking at this lot, it looked like a “mini”- Rally Raid with all the orange around.
What an interesting place. My reason for stopping over here, was to learn more about their 14 000 date trees. We booked in and before I knew it, Stoffel had accompanied Laurika for a dip in
the pool. We then had a wonderful dinner, prepared by the local “kitchen” staff, here on the “edges of the desert.
Other guys leaving. They say they are going to do the 4 x 4 Route. (Best of  luck) We hear its BAD, big time!
DSCF37541024x768.jpg

DSCF37531024x768.jpg

DSCF37521024x768.jpg

DSCF37511024x768.jpg

DSCF37501024x768.jpg

DSCF37491024x768.jpg
AS you can see on the pics. Due to the intense heat in this part of the world. They build a second roof over the first to have an Air-Cap, to help keep life cool a bit. Moer hot here, is an under-statement

Next morning I arranged for a visit to the Date Palm groves. The lady at reception, explains how to get to the “pakhuis” where we were to meet Jors, who would show us around.  We rode, and rode, for 20km to their “pakhuis”
DSCF37551024x768.jpg

Down theeerrrreee, they say. Grapes to our right
DSCF37561024x768.jpg

DSCF37571024x768.jpg

DSCF37581024x768.jpg

Here we meet Jors.
DSCF37591024x768.jpg

We follow him on his scoot, another 6km down to the large groves / plantations of palms.
DSCF37601024x768.jpg

Some palms to our left.
DSCF37621024x768.jpg

Check these rock formations
DSCF37661024x768.jpg

Laurika
DSCF37671024x768.jpg

Super Dave, taking up the rear guard.
DSCF37681024x768.jpg

Here is of the first real plantations
DSCF37691024x768.jpg

We enter an electrified fenced plantation area
DSCF37701024x768.jpg

DSCF37721024x768.jpg

The river is now behind the mountains in front of us, in the distance.

Here are the Date Palm Groves. Very interesting farming business set-up they have here.
DSCF37741024x768.jpg

Very labour intensive story this.
DSCF37731024x768.jpg

We bid Klein Pella Farewell, and get up, onto the main road,  proceeding to Good House, then down to Okiep.
DSCF3775a1024x768.jpg

DSCF37761024x768.jpg

More west we go the more desert it becomes.
DSCF37771024x768.jpg

DSCF37781024x768.jpg

DSCF37791024x768.jpg

DSCF37801024x768.jpg

These owes don’t have Camel Packs, so we stop regularly for them to “top-up” Super Dave and Stoffel
DSCF37821024x768.jpg

Super Dave XLV tearing up the km’s
DSCF37831024x768.jpg

DSCF37841024x768.jpg

Stoffel, on his mother ship.
DSCF37851024x768.jpg

DSCF37861024x768.jpg

DSCF37871024x768.jpg

DSCF37881024x768.jpg

DSCF37891024x768.jpg

T-Juntion.  I left my “mark”
DSCF3791a1024x768.jpg

From L>R, Stoffel, Myself, SuperDave XLV
DSCF37921024x768.jpg

Laurika doing what she loves.
DSCF37941024x768.jpg

More dogs arrive. In the middle of no where, going somewhere.
DSCF37951024x768.jpg

They are going to the bash via Henkries, but we going all the way down to Concordia and on to  Okiep,  to uplift fuel etc. (There is none at the bash venue)
DSCF37961024x768.jpg

We proceed, and the landscape becomes more desert-ish. Here we are doing through a few koppjies, and have to cross this “plain” ahead of us, to cross the mountains in the disctance.
DSCF37971024x768.jpg

DSCF37981024x768.jpg

DSCF37991024x768.jpg

This is a mooi road. Mooi van ver, maar ver van mooi, with its sand on top of the harder lower road surface. Must be 20-30km to cross this “plain”.
DSCF38011024x768.jpg

Panoramic perspective.
DSCF38031024x768.jpg

DSCF38041024x768.jpg

Here we get a bit of scrub.  Another round perspective. This is sure, wide open country, and far from no-where.
DSCF38091024x768.jpg

DSCF38081024x768.jpg

DSCF38071024x768.jpg

DSCF38061024x768.jpg

Arriving on the other side of the plain, we find Stoffel, waiting for us. Looking Moederloos.
DSCF38141024x768.jpg

Laurika , giving him TLC
DSCF38131024x768.jpg

Super Dave XLV arriving too.
DSCF38101024x768.jpg

All of us resting up.
DSCF38161024x768.jpg

DSCF38121024x768.jpg

Plaasmiesie, contently waiting for her missus. 
DSCF38151024x768.jpg

Further down the road we find this landscape.
DSCF38171024x768.jpg

Laurika and Plaasmiese going great gums.
DSCF38181024x768.jpg

Super Dave XLV, on the trot
DSCF38191024x768.jpg

Stoffel flying along. (Shutter speed too slow for him)
DSCF38201024x768.jpg

We find this church in Concordia. (Just a small dustbowl, village) with tar roads again.
DSCF3822a1024x768.jpg

DSCF38211024x768.jpg

Filling up at Okiep. Laurika and Stoffel in action.
DSCF38231024x768.jpg

We realise Springbok is only 7 km away. NO BRAINER, we pull out and head for the Wimpy in Springbok. HeaHaa.
SuperDave presenting Laurika with an EGG.

DSCF3824a1024x768.jpg

DSCF3825a1024x768.jpg

DSCF3826a1024x768.jpg

Bumped into many other dogs, from Cape Town, and met Ooooooom Fourie.  Kyk, hierdie is n interrante oomie, en hy “lê” hoog met daai “prosperous” pens. Lekker lewe. Lekker om “retired “to wees, nê oom ?

Had another great meal, and we leave for the bash site.

Another panoramic round view, of the country side (Specially for those who did not undertake this crusade.)
DSCF38311024x768.jpg

DSCF38301024x768.jpg

DSCF38291024x768.jpg

DSCF38281024x768.jpg

DSCF38271024x768.jpg

DSCF38321024x768.jpg

Here, these koppjies, look like GOD took a hand full of marbles, and just poured them into heaps on the landscape. AMAZING.
DSCF38361024x768.jpg

DSCF38371024x768.jpg

DSCF38381024x768.jpg

North of Stienkorf, and about 15km before Vioolsdrift. Just ahead we drop down through beautiful windy roads to the border.
DSCF38351024x768.jpg

Arriving at the bash , there are already lots of dogs, and camping sites are starting to get scares. We squeeze in to the same area as the famous Kilroy.
DSCF38391024x768.jpg

DSCF38401024x768.jpg

DSCF38411024x768.jpg

DSCF38421024x768.jpg

Looks like Stoffel is so tire of the days riding, he is already sleep walking after pitching his tent.
DSCF38431024x768.jpg

DSCF38441024x768.jpg

DSCF38451024x768.jpg

DSCF38461024x768.jpg

The evening was spent at the bar area, meeting old buddies and new ones. Stoffel and myself decided the next day (Saturday) we are crossing the border and going to do the round I planned westward on the northern , Namibian side of the river, toward Rosh Pina minig area, then cross back into RSA at Sendelingsfontein.

Stoffel and myself retire to our tents early.  At about 23H00, I realise we made a bad camp position decision. In pulls Kilroy with half the bash on tow, to continue parting next to my tent. SHIET. I am in any case so “bushed” I faded sometime to dream land.

Saturday sees us awaken and take a shower, before crossing the border.
The border
DSCF38471024x768.jpg

DSCF38481024x768.jpg

Here in Noordoewer (Namibia) we refuel and enjoy breakfast at their Wimpy. Stoffel rearing to head west.
DSCF38491024x768.jpg

Just outside Noordoewer, looking south toward RSA I notice this weird rock formation mountain in the distance. Stoffel scratching around in his top box.
DSCF38501024x768.jpg

Panoramic of southern Namibia. One can see a huge grape farm in the desert.

DSCF38551024x768.jpg

DSCF38561024x768.jpg

DSCF38571024x768.jpg

DSCF38581024x768.jpg

As you can see, this is moon country, BIG TIME.

Here is the village of Aussenkehr. All the local inhabitants shelters / houses are made of reeds, sourced from the river. They even have a SPAR here.
DSCF38641024x768-1.jpg

DSCF38651024x768-1.jpg

Local veld blommetjies, in this desert area.
DSCF38771024x768.jpg

DSCF38801024x768.jpg

DSCF38811024x768.jpg

DSCF38821024x768.jpg

DSCF38851024x768.jpg

RSA on the other side.
DSCF38861024x768.jpg

DSCF38871024x768.jpg

More of road to Rosh Pina
DSCF38881024x768.jpg

DSCF38891024x768.jpg

DSCF38671024x768.jpg

DSCF38681024x768.jpg

DSCF38761024x768.jpg

DSCF38741024x768.jpg

DSCF38731024x768.jpg

Here the Namibians have built a “coffer dam” and are busy constructing a new weir, in the river, which will eventually span the entire river.
DSCF38911024x768.jpg

DSCF38901024x768.jpg

DSCF38921024x768.jpg

Namibian border post at Sendelingsdrift

Stoffel and his steed.
DSCF38941024x768.jpg

DSCF3895a1024x768.jpg

My steed. She is going so well.
DSCF38961024x768.jpg

After the border documentation, and Stoffel having had to explain his way out of his bikes dyslexic number plate, we wait at the river for the pont, to come from the SA side.
DSCF38971024x768.jpg

Stoffel doing his RSA paperwork on the pont.
DSCF38991024x768.jpg

DSCF39001024x768.jpg

Myself on the pont. We had to wear this “floating” devices.
DSCF39011024x768.jpg

Had to pay, “Day Visitor Fees”, at this Nature Reserve office, on the SA side of the border.
DSCF39021024x768.jpg

Here the Nature Reserve owes operate the pont, (Axi Axi - Transfrontier Park thing)  Stoffel sorting out customs issues with the friendly SAPS guys at this moerova remote part of our country.+
DSCF39031024x768.jpg

DSCF39061024x768.jpg

We decide, that due to the time marching on, and it getting late, we would give Eksteenfontein a miss, and go to Alexander Bay, then down to Port Nolloth for a meal, then Steinkorpf to fill up with juice again, return to the Bash site at Vioolsdrift.
These are pics of the area, between Sendlingsdrift and Alexander Bay. 
DSCF39071024x768.jpg

DSCF39081024x768.jpg

DSCF39091024x768.jpg

DSCF39101024x768.jpg

DSCF39111024x768.jpg

DSCF39121024x768.jpg

DSCF39131024x768.jpg

Stoffel
DSCF39171024x768.jpg

Alexander Bay, for a quick pic. We do not enter the town, which requires lotsa paperwork again. (Diamond Dorp kak)
DSCF39181024x768.jpg

DSCF39191024x768.jpg

At the T-Junction outside Alex Bay, I leave my mark, and we head for Port Nolloth.
DSCF39211024x768.jpg

The sea, and mining activity south of Alexander Bay, going toward Port Nolloth.
DSCF39221024x768.jpg

We rolled into Port Nolloth, and were eagerly welcomed  into this small restaurant, where we enjoyed lekker “fish and chips”, and a dop.
DSCF39231024x768.jpg

Hereafter we made a bee-line for Steinforf, with the shadows really stretching now. A quick refuel in Steinkorf and a 70km dash back to Vioolsdrift and the bash site. Stoffel and myself had a good , interesting long day in the seat. This is what we came here to do. Ride our bikes
Here is Veldbrand chatting with Stoffel about our run we did that day.
DSCF39241024x768.jpg

At the evening’s prize giving, I won a knife. 
Camp drag, from our pozzie.
DSCF39251024x768.jpg

Early Sunday, we leave for Steinkorf, with Laurika worrying about Plaasmeisie’s remaining fuel. She ends up riding 40 odd km, on reserve, but makes Steinkorf on fumes. We fill up.
Laurika watches an attendant pump Plaasmiesie’s tyres UP.
DSCF39291024x768.jpg

DSCF39281024x768.jpg

Stoffel in action
DSCF3930a1024x768.jpg

My steed, patiently waiting to eat up the km’s. These old 115’s are “Yster”
DSCF39261024x768.jpg

A panoramic view of the area, between Springbok, and Poffadder.

DSCF39331024x768.jpg

DSCF39321024x768.jpg

DSCF39311024x768.jpg

Refueling in Poffadder, Laurika meets this tall dog, that makes his 1200GS look like he is riding a 125cc
DSCF39351024x768.jpg

DSCF3934a1024x768.jpg

DSCF39361024x768.jpg

We slab it to Kaakamas, then take the Good Stuff again to Oranjerus, where the trailer and bakkie are.

Outside  Kaakams a found this nice “kokerboom” right next to the road and stopped for this pic.
DSCF39371024x768.jpg

We got to the bakkie and trailer at 14H30. Loaded up the bikes, and changed into comfy gear. Here we bid Stoffel farewell, so he could ride on quickly this place outside Olifantshoek. We then made a bee-line for Vryburg, where we arrived at 20H00 booked into the International Hotel, and had a wonderful dinner with Jules, Li, Kurt, Tonteldoos and others, reminiscing over the bash.

Then,  after a good rest, we left at 07:15 for Delaryeville where we again met Kurt and Tonteldoos, for breakie, at the Wimpy. This done we parted ways, with Kurt and Tonteldoos, disappearing into the distance on their bikes, while Laurika and myself jugged along at 115 – 120 to Joburg, arriving at her place at 13:30

Another wonderful Wild dog bash, and trip , consigned to memory.
Thanks to Laurika and Stoffel for accompanying me on this trip. It was really great enjoying this trip with you guys.

Very nice to see all my WD Buddies again.

Thanks to the organisers for this wonderful event, at another remote , interesting part of RSA. This was truly a wonderful bash. See you all next year again. Have a wonderful, safe Christmas and New year.  

Stoetbul said:
All I see is 2 KTM's Sprocket! :biggrin: But NOTHING wrong with that either. :thumleft:

There certainly aiant nothing wwrong with them katooms they are at home .... :thumleft: :thumleft: I so need to travel there again its probably one of the nicest terrains ...... ;) 

Whew i am desperate for a good ride.... ;D

GO GIRL said:
Stoetbul said:
All I see is 2 KTM's Sprocket! :biggrin: But NOTHING wrong with that either. :thumleft:

There certainly aiant nothing wwrong with them katooms they are at home .... :thumleft: :thumleft: I so need to travel there again its probably one of the nicest terrains ...... ;) 

You and me both....... :biggrin: And you were severely missed at the Bash.....I think Kaokoland has our name on for next year....... :pot: 8)

What a lekka ride and pics aand jsut everything its just amazn to get out there and feel that freedom

Cool one all you guys n gals!! :biggrin:

Adventurer said:
GO GIRL said:
Stoetbul said:

You and me both....... :biggrin: And you were severely missed at the Bash.....I think Kaokoland has our name on for next year....... :pot: 8)

Then I must make sure that my name is right up there next  to yours
I MISSED OUT ON SOOOO MUCH FUN..... :ricky:

Great RR and picks Tweets :thumleft: I am sooooo envious of you guys that made it to the bash. :biggrin: