Slightly technical ride - sand, mud and rocks galore

Plothond said:
I know that hill

Is that not NOOB hill - been up there a few times with the katoom - a spot of hard work involved  ;D
Noob Hill is on the otherside of the railway tracks.

Ryperd said:
Kykdaar, hoe's die nuwe bike? Lyk of jy dit geniet het!!

Really enjoying the DR Ryperd  :thumleft: I can honestly say that the reason why I did not take a dive a couple of times today have more to do with the forgiving nature of that bike than with my riding skill ;D 

hondsekierie said:
Did you go all the way up or just played downstairs? 

Respect for the oke on that road going bike :thumleft:

We went all the way up on the one side and then back down again.

Having had a Transalp myself until recntly I could not believe those guys taking those bikes up that hill - and not slowly I may add. Also, the TA 650 were on road tyres - quite badly worn road tyres  :eek: Huge respect to everyone on the big bikes :thumleft:

Aangesien Kykdaar nie 'n Honda ry nie kan ek hom nie spot nie.... :peepwall:

Lyk na 'n lekker rit, maar ongelukkig nie die tipe terrein wat ek ry nie... ;D

The Group.

The Destination.

Will do the rest Tomorrow. Image Shack has gone to sleep.

Some more---The ride to our destination.

Nomad decided to take a bath and some WD's showing him how he needs to do it.

Nomad after his Mud Bath trying to wash himself off.

JacquesM's son who did Mamelodi mountain from both sides :thumleft:

Jacques M following closely behind---well not quite ::)

Kykdaar on his new Steed :mwink:

Will do some more later this afternoon

Cracker said:
Double thumbs up to the yougster who rode his DRZ400 up the front of the hill.

I got about half way up before running out of puff. Started having flashbacks to baboons and thought, 'fark this shit', and went back down the hill.
Yes i agree JacquesM 's son is a natural. even saw him taking on the guys on the plastic bikes with his DRZ. :thumleft:

Still to come--TransAlps and Slick Tyres :peepwall:

JacquesM said:
At the top. No Gunda, no tea.

Gunda was playing in the mud on the railway road between van Reenen and Besters - but that seems like a far safer place to have been.

Sheeet - that looks a little above my capabilities - well done people

"Jacques M following closely behind---well not quite"

Hey Blazes, Jy moenie spot nie ,swaer.

I lack in all the "Cee'Z":

Courage

Capability

Cee-Cee'Z

Thanks guys for a totally awsome ride, It was nice to put faces to the names ..Ive saved the ride on my GPS will be back. thanks Blazers for the route and Kykdaar for organising... although the transalps handled it suprisingly well I dont really think they were intended for this sort of ride ie bash plate came in handy.. :mwink:
Barry was on the road tyres dont know how he got up there on those tyres I just made it up ok w nobblies... :eek:
Took me an hour to clean and loob this thing this morning!

XR650R is calling :laughing4:

080709.jpg

blazes - now you know why I think twice when I see the word technical - hehe and this one was just "slightly:eek: - awesome stuff though guys  :ricky:

ja nee,,,lotsa mixed feelings....

sorrie i wasnt there,,,,,but also happy i wasnt,,,,

nice bunch of wd's and their bikes and liked the pics of the watery and muddy parts,,,,

but there's nothing i hate more than having to ride uphill on  a one spoor road covered with cocunut sized boulders,,

i hate it,,,hate it,,,hate it,,,

so lotsa respect to those who did do it and nogal with ease

nice rr and pics,,,thanx for sharing

Misty said:
blazes - now you know why I think twice when I see the word technical - hehe and this one was just "slightly:eek: - awesome stuff though guys  :ricky:
Hi Misty ;) Found some nice SAND roads after the ride----great for Training---

The Way to the TOP.

Dean M---a Very capable rider on his HP2. You see Hondsekierie it can be done :peepwall:

Kykdaar wondering Why he posted this ride?

On TOP :thumleft:

Bath time ----The way WD's do it DIRTY ::)

Robin trying to wash that Fugly colour off his bike ::)

Nomad.

Cracker.

Deane on the HP2

Lunch.

After Lunch Kykdaar Deane and myself went for a chill--ride.

Deane--

Deane--Smoking--Hot :peepwall:

Deane---Smoking--Hot :peepwall:

blazes said:

hehe - just as long as we call it Training Sand and not Technical Sand I should be ok  :thumleft:

Misty said:
blazes said:

hehe - just as long as we call it Training Sand and not Technical Sand I should be ok  :thumleft:
We need to make a morning of it------When are you ladies up to it ?

Thank's Kykdaar for a great day of riding and Entertainment :mwink: And thank's for letting me show the group some of my backyard. Glad that some of the group enjoyed it :thumleft:

Maybe next time we can do a technical ride.?????

To all  who came with :thumleft: Nice to have seen some new faces as well as some old one's. I think you all did very well and i would Gladly ride with you guy's again :thumleft:

A ride is only as good as the route :thumleft:

The fact that the guys enjoyed it so much is a compliment to your
route-planning skills ;D

My job was easy - everybody was keen to ride after two weeks
of near continous rain :ricky:

Thanks man - it's always great riding with you :3some: