To Koës or not to Koës

woody1

Yamaha Super Tenere
Since I missed the EC Bash I had to get my yearly winter ride in.
Since the Koës Rally is in July in school holidays I told mammie that this time it is the father and son thing.
So plans were made to go to Koës for a boys trip. I inherited another son called Frank ...yes the Bakpan hooligan that wrote my beloved Sneeuwitjie off and now rides a KTM.
Me and the Pensioneater (Pierre 16 years old) will be in and on the sidecar.
My eldest son Sweisie (Francois 28) will be on his slow blue Super Tenere and my new son Frank on his 950 SE KTM.

Frank will be writing some exams after the rally so we decided to make our trip a week earlier to do some sightseeing.

Plan was to leave on Saturday 1 July direction Vryburg and spend a night with my brother-in-law on the farm.
Then try and hit Verneukpan on the Sunday.
Next stop was to be Hondeklip bay.
Then to see my daughter in Springbok.
Cross the border to Namibia and sleep in Luderits before working our way to Koës.
After the weekend return to South Africa getting to Kuruman the Sunday and then Monday back home.

Sidecar was completed and 2 x 5liter petrol and 1 x 5 liter water cans attached
New car tyre on the back wheel thread was measured and off we went to Alberton to pick up my son Sweisie..
We were in no hurry and stopped in Potch for a snack.
The sidecar turned out be be a bit thirsty and just before Wolmerans stad I ran out of petrol......
Empty petrol cans did not help as I planned to fill them only before Verneukpan to save some weight.
But we had the can, the pipe and the Blue Super Tenere that could donate some fuel to get to town.
In Sweizer Reineke we were looking for Magriet but could not find her. :imaposer:
So we settled for a shebeen beer, and home made sandwiches
Enjoyed a nice braai on the farm with the family.
Later the evening we noticed Frank was missing.
Found him on his bed fully clothed sleeping like a baby.
Eish, now I will have to take him back again to go and apologise. . :laughing4:

We do not carry action cameras, drones or fancy cameras. I also stop only when needed therefor this will not be one of those R/Reports with lots of fancy pictures and info.
This is just a father enjoying the company of his sons.

• 002 8.5mm thread.jpg
    002 8.5mm thread.jpg
    31.7 KB
  • 001 Petrol en water.jpg
    001 Petrol en water.jpg
    57.3 KB
  • 007 Wolhuterskop anderkan Amalia.jpg
    007 Wolhuterskop anderkan Amalia.jpg
    50 KB
  • 006 Sweizer eet ietsie.jpg
    006 Sweizer eet ietsie.jpg
    71.7 KB
  • 004 Potch.jpg
    004 Potch.jpg
    72.3 KB
  • 003 Sweisie optel Alberton.jpg
    003 Sweisie optel Alberton.jpg
    75.9 KB
  • 005 Shweizer volmaak.jpg
    005 Shweizer volmaak.jpg
    65.7 KB
Lekker  ek sien uit na die res  :ricky:

Next morning we enjoyed a cup of coffee and some rusks and as soon as it got light we hit the road.
From the farm it is slow going as the rains washed most of the road away and the farmers had to do some repairs themselves.
Certain sections were completely washed away and they made new tracks on the side of the old road.

We came upon this gate and I saw this deep sand, but before I could stop and get traction control OFF I was in it.  Not enough speed and a bike that THINKS I am loosing it we got stuck in this Sahara.

Luckily Sweisie and Frank turned back and with a little help I got her going again.
Filled up at Pudimoe and then Sweisie said that he worked on some compressors at Ulco and he knows a nice dirt road in the area.
Got to Ulco and bought a frozen pie that they tried to kill in the microwave.

Set the GPS direction Danielskuil.
Frank took the lead. Suddenly he turns off to the right on a small dirt road. My internal compass told me we are going back to Vryburg and I tried to stop him, but he was off.
So I talked it over with Sweisie and we decided to carry on with the tar road to Danielskuil.
Before Danielskuil I saw the signs for Postmansburg our next waypoint.
We filled up in Danielskuil and met up with Frank.
So we set off again with Frank in the lead. His GPS taking us to the OTHER side of town and when he announced that Postmansburg is 40 km on this narrow dirt road I said NO-WAYS.
I came into town and Postmansburg is 180 degrees in the other direction.
We were still trying to make Verneukpan and time was running out.
Going on the narrow dirt road with a big sidecar will not make it.
So we klapped it back onto the tar to Postmansburg.
Later found out that a GPS unit on a KTM only looks for dirt roads. :imaposer:

• 008 Te min spoed en TC aan.jpg
    008 Te min spoed en TC aan.jpg
    50 KB
  • 009 Pierre DINK.jpg
    009 Pierre DINK.jpg
    58.4 KB
  • 010 Pudimoe.jpg
    010 Pudimoe.jpg
    76.5 KB
  • 011 Ulco.  Slegte Pie.jpg
    011 Ulco. Slegte Pie.jpg
    73.2 KB
From Postmansburg we got onto the WORST dirt road ever for a sidecar.
The KTM enjoyed it, but we took a hammering. Potholes, rocks and just plain shitty road.
Some time later we came upon Frank changing a flat front tyre... nice big snakebite where a rock chewed through his tube in 2 places.
As he is capable to help himself, we decided to carry on with the sidecar at our slower pace because daylight was running out and Verneukpan was still a long way off.

All when well until I hit another massive pothole.  The bolt on the top mounting broke off causing the stay arm to wrap itself under the sidecar breaking the front stabilising bar at the bottom end. It was a 8.8 high tensile bolt.  Gone weg moertoe.

We stopped and accessed the damage. I could ride it like this but was not comfortable with my son in the sidecar on this bad road with only the back stabilising bar keeping the bike and sidecar upright.

So we took Sweisies luggage of the back of his bike and put that in the sidecar.
Now Pierre was a pillion on his brothers bike and I could try and get somewhere with the broken sidecar.

When we reached the N8 we stopped and had a discussion.
Now way we would make Verneukpan tonight or this trip.
I gave Frank the option to go by himself, but he decided to stay with the group.
It was also a bit of bad news for Pierre as he was promised that he could ride the big bikes on the Pan.

We decided to go for Upington where we were sure to find and engineering shop to do the repairs.

When we got to Groblershoop Sweisie suggested we find someplace here to fix the sidecar, then we could still make Verneukpan.
So we inquired about the possibility of a workshop as the town looks big enough to find a place.

Found Kheis Riverside Lodge and they promised that on Monday morning we will be able to use the workshop to do the repairs.

Decided to take the chalet.  Had a great braai and early bed.

Next morning we went to the workshop to do the repairs... Sorry sir we do not have welding rods.
So while Sweisie charged the 20 km to town and back to buy welding rods,I managed to find a piece of pipe, prepared everything so that when he returns we can fix the bar.

The welding helmet was so dirty he could not see through it.
The welding handle lost its spring and he had to knyp the rod in the handle by putting pressure with his thumb on the handle.
The welding done I put the arm back between the sidecar and the bike and we went down to the chalet to go and pack up.

• 012 Broers op Groblershoop.jpg
    012 Broers op Groblershoop.jpg
    66.5 KB
  • 013 Groblershoop Lodge 1.jpg
    013 Groblershoop Lodge 1.jpg
    89.4 KB
  • 014  Groblershoop Lodge 2.jpg
    014 Groblershoop Lodge 2.jpg
    69.2 KB
  • 015  Groblershoop Lodge 3.jpg
    015 Groblershoop Lodge 3.jpg
    82.8 KB
  • 016 Sweisie sweis.jpg
    016 Sweisie sweis.jpg
    45.6 KB
From Groblerhoop I decided to hit tar again to Marydale to make up time.
We filled up in Marydale as this would be our last fuel and supplies before Verneukpan.
After fuel I popped into the shop and got some bread, tomato, onion and Simba chips for the evening on the pan.
Sweisie and Frank found the local bottle store / Shebeen and when Pierre and myself got there a BIG crowd were already there....Ag baas dit gaan maar moeilik hier op Marydale.... koop assebleif vir ons 'n kan wyn.

Shit I told them, I have already bought you all the booze that made you happy so early in the morning.... SASSA payed them already.

So after our beer we set off towards Verneukpan.
What a pleasure to ride these roads.
Currently the roads into and out of the pan is in excellent condition and we made good time.
The sidecar was fixed and we were going to the pan again with my children.  Did it a few years back and it was MAGICAL for us to be on the pan.

• 017 Marydale volmaak.jpg
    017 Marydale volmaak.jpg
    67.1 KB
  • 021 Ek en my koets.jpg
    021 Ek en my koets.jpg
    52.6 KB
  • 020 Oppad na Veneukpan.jpg
    020 Oppad na Veneukpan.jpg
    51.5 KB
  • 019 Anderkant Marydale.jpg
    019 Anderkant Marydale.jpg
    87.7 KB
  • 018 Marydale VRIENDE.jpg
    018 Marydale VRIENDE.jpg
    82.8 KB
Luckily I told Elize Losper the previous day that we had some problems and will arrive a day late.
She told us that they went to Keimoes and should be back in the afternoon.
When we got to the farmhouse we found nobody....so we waited and waited.

Eventually we send off Frankie on the KTM monster to go and check if the gate might be open.  Told him about the bit of sand on the way there.
He came back.. Sorry gate is locked...and sand ?  what sand.  The sand patch on the way to the pan.
Nothing he said only a lot of gates to open and close all by himself.
So we thought a KTM does not even notice sand...because we always got sand to the pan.

Eventually a Fortunner arrive around 16h00.

And kids and kids and kids and kids and adults get out of the car....Shit I think they were about 20 people in that car.  :imaposer:

So we settled our account, payed for the wood that we asked to be dropped off at the pan...but they did not do it, so we loaded it on the sidecar and Francois bike... KTM was already full. :laughing4:

She also told us that we will get the caravans for the evening for free as she did not inspect or clean them after the last people used it.

By the way the lady mentioned that the previous people sleeping on the pan left the key in the tyre at the gate...... Shit we could have been playing on the pan all afternoon, but nee this Brakpan Frankie is such a nice oke he does not look into a tyre for a key.

So we bought 12 beers from them at the house... Shit R 15.00 each...that makes it R 180.00 for the 12... She saw my poor face and told us we could take another 6 pack and the 18 beers will cost us R 200.00... Now that sounds better.

While we waited for them to arrive we had a look at Johan Jacobs Jet car wreck that killed him in 2006 when het was travelling at more than 500 km/h on the pan.

• 022 Johan Jacobs.jpg
    022 Johan Jacobs.jpg
    74.6 KB
  • 023 Castrol Edge Jet Car 1.jpg
    023 Castrol Edge Jet Car 1.jpg
    65.6 KB
  • 024 Castrol Edge Jet Car 2.jpg
    024 Castrol Edge Jet Car 2.jpg
    79.2 KB
  • 025 Castrol Edge Jet Car 3.jpg
    025 Castrol Edge Jet Car 3.jpg
    78.1 KB
We got onto the pan straight away right to the clock for the first pictures.
Then back to the camp to offload so that we could get onto the pan to start playing.

Frank was like a kid in a candy store, Sweisie was smiling... You people know that he does not smile often.  :pot: :peepwall: :imaposer:
And Pierre could not wait to take the bikes for a spin.

A great afternoon was had by all.

Some videos

Frank wheelie  https://youtu.be/mTX2Zwfdsdg
Pierre riding his big brothers Super Tenere  https://youtu.be/8HwfNRRLnps
Pierre riding Franks KTM... very slow because we told him not to break it... https://youtu.be/MLyKwrT4vRc
Frank ans Sweisie dice... weight makes a difference and Frank rode away from the 1200.  https://youtu.be/ZJdhnmTrbs8
Frank having a good time.  https://youtu.be/oRfP1QchPCk
Frank some more good times    https://youtu.be/GGxr5aNen4w
Pierre my 16 year old having a blast riding the sidecar.  https://youtu.be/cYQq_CNKo7Q
Frank tried the sidecar..... it's not bike riding he replied... https://youtu.be/YSdXutZhHH0

A magic time was had on the Pan.
Later the evening Frank and Sweisie went to the clock.
I switched the lapa light off.
When they rang the bell I switched the light back on and they returned.
Then Pierre and myself went out to the clock.
Rang the bell and they switched light off.
After a while I rang the bell... I was looking for the light in one direction.. Suddenly the light came on to the left of me.
Very easy to get rigting bedondered on the pan.

• 034 Son ondergang op die pan.jpg
    034 Son ondergang op die pan.jpg
    21.2 KB
  • 033 Pierre op KTM.jpg
    033 Pierre op KTM.jpg
    60.3 KB
  • 032 Sidecar op die pan.jpg
    032 Sidecar op die pan.jpg
    43 KB
  • 031 Pierre ry ouboet se S10.jpg
    031 Pierre ry ouboet se S10.jpg
    32.3 KB
  • 029 Pierre ry sidecar.jpg
    029 Pierre ry sidecar.jpg
    46.8 KB
  • 028 Ek Pierre en Frank.jpg
    028 Ek Pierre en Frank.jpg
    64.5 KB
  • 027 Pa en seuns.jpg
    027 Pa en seuns.jpg
    40.4 KB
  • 026 Frank Pierre en Francois.jpg
    026 Frank Pierre en Francois.jpg
    51.5 KB
  • 030 Na die DICE.jpg
    030 Na die DICE.jpg
    58.8 KB
Lekker ge braai.

• 035 Tyd vir eet op die pan.jpg
    035 Tyd vir eet op die pan.jpg
    61.2 KB
  • 036 Stapelvoedsel.jpg
    036 Stapelvoedsel.jpg
    83.1 KB
  • 037 Pierre aand op pad.jpg
    037 Pierre aand op pad.jpg
    41.7 KB
  • 038 Ek aand op pan.jpg
    038 Ek aand op pan.jpg
    35.1 KB
Next morning we made some coffee, had some rusks and waited for the son to arrive.
Again the KTM GPS was hard at work.... :peepwall:

He suddenly turned off the road and into a farm yard.  Through 2 closed gates... No this takes us to a bigger dirt road direction Kenhart.
I had my doubts but followed on this tweespoor with the big sidecar.

After about 20 km's he stopped... did we see a road to the left... No we did not.
He went on scouting a bit more..nothing.
We carried on for another few kilometers... no we were moving back towards the pan... not Kenhart.
So we backtracked all the way back to the farmhouse.
Eventually we got to Kenhart and again I must say the roads in and out of the pan is in excellent conditions.

• 040 Een van Frank se SHORTCUTS.jpg
    040 Een van Frank se SHORTCUTS.jpg
    55.6 KB
  • 041 Klaar met die pan.jpg
    041 Klaar met die pan.jpg
    60.6 KB
Filled up in Kenhart again and hit the road to Keimoes and on to Kakamas.
Frankie was weer honger en ons vat so 'n ietsie in Kakemas.
I am very health conscious.. I had a Belgain waffle, ice cream and FRUIT. :imaposer:

• 042 Kakemas volmaak.jpg
    042 Kakemas volmaak.jpg
    61.9 KB
  • 043 Ek eet gesond.jpg
    043 Ek eet gesond.jpg
    61.9 KB
  • 044 Pierre ook.jpg
    044 Pierre ook.jpg
    69.3 KB
From Kakemas to Pofader we decided to hit the tar again... Ek wil by my dogtertjie kom.
In Pofadder we fill up again and I buy a small knife for Pierre.
When I get to Springbok I stopped at the turn off point and waited and waited.
No Sweisie or Frank.
Eventually they arrived.  KTM front tyre going flat and had to be inflated every so often.

• 045 Pa en sy kinders.jpg
    045 Pa en sy kinders.jpg
    67.6 KB
  • 046 Sweisie kan glimlag.jpg
    046 Sweisie kan glimlag.jpg
    61.9 KB
ek ry lekker saam  :ricky:

baie dankie viri pics en storie, jammer om te hoor magriet was nie op shweizer nie!

Next day was the BIG day.
We are going into Namibia

Set of early to the border.
At the border...... Sorry sir where is all your paperwork to take your 16 year old son into a foreign country.

What is needed I ask.  Well a FULL Birth Certificate and a letter from the mother giving permission to take our son for a holiday.
One thing I cannot understand it this:
When we got his new passport a month earlier for this trip... myself and the mother had to go with him. All our details and fingerprints EVERYTHING was taken to be able to get his passport . Surely everything is on the system...maar nee fooork hulle soek 'n flippen geboorte sertifikaat.

Does not make sense.

We the guy was very helpful and told us to get somebody to fax the necessary document to them.
So mommy went home and could not find the FULL birth certificate.  Got the permission letter certified and faxed it.
Two hours later it eventually showed up on their FAX. From the time my wife faxed it until they received it took 2 hours...... Weet nie... seker staatsdiens.
So he tunes me that this is the wrong birth certificate.  I tell him mommy is in a flat spin and could not find the Full one.  Tried to explain the new passport story where we had to be present and all our detail was captured just a month previously.....

Sorry sir full birth certificate or no entry.

Shit we are not going in.

In the meantime Frank has crossed into Namibia and waited for us on the other side.
Phoned him and explained to him that he will have to carry on by himself.  We will not get in and it is getting late.

So he carried on to Koës and we turned back.

Pierre does not see his sister often and decided to stay with her for a few days and catch a bus back to JHB later.

Yes Sweisie and myself could have gone back and crossed the border, but I was gatvol of this shit and decided to go home.
So we dropped Pierre off at his sister in Springbok and we made our way South.. no way I am going back the same route as we came.

Down the West coast we had temperatures reaching 36 degrees.. Shit it was hot and with a tailwind the bikes were running quit hot.... but a Yamaha can take the punch.

We made it to Lamberts Bay and found a nice flat on the sea.
Went to get some meat and bread and an onion and tomato made ourselves a great meal.
The meat from Pietie se Slaghuis was excellent.

• 047 Wag op grens vir papiere.jpg
    047 Wag op grens vir papiere.jpg
    66.1 KB
  • 051 Lambertsbaai Albatros WS.jpg
    051 Lambertsbaai Albatros WS.jpg
    46.5 KB
  • 050 Lambertsbaai 2.jpg
    050 Lambertsbaai 2.jpg
    26.9 KB
  • 049 36 Grade op pad gewees.jpg
    049 36 Grade op pad gewees.jpg
    64.5 KB
  • 048 Terug in Springbok.jpg
    048 Terug in Springbok.jpg
    73 KB
Next morning we headed further South. Just outside Lamberts Bay past the Muisboskerm restaurant we rode on the new tar road to Elandsbay.
Suddenly I see the sign Elandsbay.  But the sidecar does not stop that quick.
So we were past the turnoff.
But we have dual sport bikes and we crossed country down this slope onto the Elandsbay road.
What a nice road I thought by myself...riding all along the Sishen Saldhana railway line.
When we got to Elandsbay there is a boom in the road... What is this.....?

Sorry sir this is a private road.  You need a permit... A What... yes sir a permit.  Shit I did not see that this is a private road when we got onto it at Lamberts Bay side.

Ok sir next time pleas look out for the signs.

Open up and off we go.

From there we worked our way to Veldrift where we had some lekker snoek and chips and then this oke walks up to the sidecar... check it out and come over to chat to us.

You are Woody1, that is Sweisie, but where is the Pensioneater ?  Turns out to be Mr Widswept a WD living in Veldrift.
From there we visited Petrenoster and Tietiesbaai.... since we could not find Magriet in Sweizer Reineke..... but Tietiesbaai also did not live up to its name. 

• 052 Veldrif.jpg
    052 Veldrif.jpg
    54 KB
  • 053 Veldrif Laaiplek.jpg
    053 Veldrif Laaiplek.jpg
    60.5 KB
  • 054 Snoek en tjips.jpg
    054 Snoek en tjips.jpg
    46 KB
  • 055 Paternoster.jpg
    055 Paternoster.jpg
    61.6 KB
  • 056 Paar nuwe stickers.jpg
    056 Paar nuwe stickers.jpg
    54.2 KB
  • 057 Cape Columbine.jpg
    057 Cape Columbine.jpg
    80 KB
  • 058 Lighthouse 1.jpg
    058 Lighthouse 1.jpg
    58.9 KB
  • 059 Lighthouse 2.jpg
    059 Lighthouse 2.jpg
    58.4 KB
  • 060 Lighthouse 3.jpg
    060 Lighthouse 3.jpg
    77.5 KB
  • 061 Tietiesbaai.jpg
    061 Tietiesbaai.jpg
    72.5 KB
So naby en tog so ver :eek7:
Jammer om te hoor dat julle dit nie kon maak nie, ons sal nooit die burokrasie kan verstaan nie, maar ek glo dit was darem op die einde 'n lekker trip gewees. Kan nie wag vir die res nie.

After Tietiesbaai we worked our way to Gouda where we will be sleeping at the Vleismeester and his wife.
When we got there some seedy character arrived with a bottle of Red Heart Rum... it was Worsbear.... he heard there is food and drink so he joins the party..........WHAT A MISTAKE... Vaalbaas let him tend the fire and the meat.......he made sure that we had supper at 01h30 the next morning...
Fok Worsbeer... breakfast was lekker....maar ons was MOEG.  :imaposer:

Thanks Vaalbaas and Vaalnooi... and Worsbeer it was some kuier.

• 063 Worsbeer by Vaalbaas hulle.jpg
    063 Worsbeer by Vaalbaas hulle.jpg
    55.1 KB